Ek Theos

image

Gods Thought’s to Me

Create in me a pure heart, o God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me (Psalm 51:10, NIV).

A Man after God’s own Heart

Psalm 51 is a beautiful prayer of a man who loved his Heavenly Father passionately. Even though King David was overwhelmed by his own sin, he never ran away from his Pappa. He knew the only thing he could do was to return with a broken, contrite spirit . He was convinced that he would not be despised by his Pappa. ET 1 He was far from perfect and he knew it. And God knew too! Yet, He was called a man after God’s own Heart! He even had the honor of having his name recorded in the “Hall of Faith” (Hebrews 11).

A while ago I read of this “hall” being called,”The Hall of Rogues”. Quite descriptive! Part of the reason, I believe, for this honor of being called a man after God’s own heart, was his genuine, passionate love for his Pappa.

After he was confronted by Nathan for his adultery with Bathsheba and consequent murder of Uriah, David was in a bad place … a haunted, dark, forsaken place … a place where no human has been designed and created to live. ET 2 We were created first and foremost to love and enjoy our Creator. Yet, amidst all his sin and even spiritual adultery, King David never for a moment doubted God’s love for him. He didn’t just believe mentally … he knew, literally KNEW, that he was loved unconditionally.

His sin could never cause Pappa to stop loving him, for God is love and He never changes. He loves us, Ek Theos, out of Himself … out of His character of love!

ET 3 For a long time I used to read the MRST, Mia’s Religious Striving Translation. According to this translation, Psalm 51:10 read something along these lines,”Lord, since you have forgiven my sins, please supply ME with unlimited supplies of Your power to create in me a clean heart. Please, make it sort of a double portion of power, for I also need to strive endlessly to achieve a steadfast, quiet spirit”. What a delicious recipe for a disastrous, spiritual catastrophe. ET 4 Unlike King David, I was unable to believe that my Pappa loved me unconditionally even though I tried my utmost. And I told Him so! He had to take control of that “believing” side of my life too and create in me a clean heart infused with faith upon faith upon faith as a free gift.

No amount of trying on my part could produce even an ounce of faith. One thing that I had the common sense to do though, was to be honest with my Pappa and today I realized that honesty was the first few kernels of mustard seed faith.

I cried out to Him, humbly beseeching Him to help my unbelief, for I truly believed. It sounds like a contradiction of terms and in many ways it is. But in Pappa’s economy this is the kind of faith that earns you place in the Hall of Faithless Rogues, the Hebrews’ “Hall of Faith”. ET 6 Yes, His economy is truly different than the world’s and on His stock exchange we can only trade with our brokenness, sin, unbelief and all the rags of our efforts. This is truly a sign of blessedness! Much love xx Mia

Today I have the honor of linking-up with the ladies at Emily Wierenga’s Imperfect Prose. You can join us at http://www.emilywierenga.com/ image

I am joyfully linking-up with Laura and the Ladies at  Faith Filled Friday. Come for a visit at http://www.missionalwomen.com/faith-filled-fridays.html.
image
Linking-up with Charlotte and the girls at Spiritual Sundays at http://bloggerspirit.blogspot.com/.
Also with dear Barbie and the Weekend Brew at http://myfreshlybrewedlife.com/ .
image
And Rich Faith Rising
image

Posted via DraftCraft app

24 thoughts on “Ek Theos

  1. “No amount of striving can produce an ounce of faith”. Good word, my friend. So true! I love your writing & got so caught up in the heart of your post! Thank you for sharing & for revealing what I have never seen….God’s heart in a simple leaf! Bless you! ~ Jen @ richfaithrising

    • Dear Jen
      Thank you so much for your visit and your kind words! Yes, our Pappa’s creation constantly sings a beautiful song of praise to His honor. If we just become still and quiet enough, we can hear their beautiful music!
      Much love to you
      Mia

  2. How much I long to be a daughter after God’s own heart. David’s story has always given me courage. and peace–knowing that God forgives and still loves.

    • Hi Pamela
      Thank you for your visit. Dear one, when you love your Pappa with all your heart, you are a daughter after His own heart. It is all a love thing!
      Blessings to you
      Mia

    • Hi Esther Joy
      Yes,dear one! If it wasn’t so, I am afraid I would not have made the list!!! He knows us and never leave us the way we were.
      Much love to you
      Mia

  3. Your words and pictures are a beautiful reminder of God’s amazing love– and our need to rely on him.
    Thank-you for visiting my site. I wish you could visit Hobby Lobby and then stop by my house for a cup of tea!
    with love and God’s peace
    Carol

    • Dear Carol
      I am honored to welcome you to my blog. Thank you for your encouraging words! Oh, it would be sooooo nice to visit Hobby Lobby, but especially the tea afterwards!
      Much love and blessings
      Mia

  4. Good morning Mia. I can relate with you. I think growing up with a critical parent made me expect Father God to be the same way. For years I felt like I could be close to Jesus and the Holy Spirit, but I expected judgment from God. I believe His love has settled more in my heart now and I pray I grasp and receive it freely. Bless you today.

    • Hi dear Beth
      Thank you for trusting me to share your heart. Remember, every time you feel that way, it is not your Pappa God … it is the enemy. It takes some time, dear one, but we get there. The real truth is that He loves you more than you would ever be able to comprehend and He always will. Praying for you!
      Much love xx
      Mia

    • Hi Suzie
      Thank you for your kind words! I would be honored to have you back. I have to tell you that my dearest hubby helps me in proof reading my posts and placing the pics. He is a sweetheart!
      Blessings and love to you XX
      Mia

  5. Hi Ashley
    Yes, with our Pappa there is no place for anything but truth. The importance of this really hit home when I pondered on the story of the Samaritan woman. She didn’t deny her affairs and Jesus was pleased that she spoked the truth. He DID not condemn her, for He came to seek and save the lost!
    Hugs and love, dear friend
    Mia

  6. This is so good: “Part of the reason, I believe, for this honor of being called a man after God’s own heart, was his genuine, passionate love for his Pappa.” And this: “I realized that honesty was the first few kernels of mustard seed faith.” That is so profound, friend. I hear you saying that love and honesty with God are essential to closeness with God and a growing faith. He takes the little we can offer and makes it beautiful. Thank you, dear Mia.

Leave a Reply

