The Throne of Grace

Grace 1

God’s Thoughts to Me

So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive His mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most (Hebrews 4:16, NLT).

Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you (James 4:8, NKJV).

Drawing Near or Striving Forward?

The sixteenth century French aristocratic lady, Madame Jean Guyon, remarked centuries ago that prayer alone can bring you into His presence, and keep you there continually.

She wrote in a poem, “There was a period when I chose a time and a place for prayer … but now I seek that constant prayer, in inward stillness…”.

image

Hebrews 4:16 always seemed to me like an unobtainable enigma … a secret of the spiritually mature elite … not a place where I can dwell … at the throne of our Heavenly King. It seemed like the dreams that fairy tales were made of.

I strived endlessly to come into His presence … to this Throne of Magic. I believed it was there that our Pappa God would wave His magic wand and make all life’s problems disappear like early morning mist, including the Fm/CFS.

Grace 3

If it wasn’t for Pappa extending His gracious Hand of mercy, I most propably would still have been striving … totally ignorant of my folly. But common sense prevailed and I realized when it was time to hoist the white flag and decided to investigate the reason for my defeat.

It was not for a lack of trying, just the opposite. I truly desired to live in His presence and I knew it was possible. Pappa saw my heart and knew that my desire to live in Him was truly flamed by the passionate eternal flame of love He had kindled in every human heart.

image

The letter to the Hebrews was written at the time when the Jewish Christians were extremely vulnerable and tempted to revert back to their Judaic religion and to join the cause de libre to overthrow the Roman oppresion.

The traditional Jews also questioned His respectability to be the High Priest since His ancestry was from the tribe of Judah, and not the tribe of Levi, like Aaron. That was the golden rule through all the previous ages.

image

Paul explained that Jesus was not a High Priest according to the wordly, physical order of selection, but of the order of Melchizedek. The two parts of this word give us a clear understanding of this eternal order of the High Priest of Grace.

“Melek” means “king” and “zedek”means “righteousness”. Our Lord was the only person ever who could qualify as the only true High Priest … the only sinless man who could enter into our Pappa’s presence without being consumed by His holiness.

Jesus, the Righteous King and High Priest, opened the way for all believers to be a priesthood in Him with immediate and always available access to our Pappa’s presence.

Grace 6

I knew I was, instead of drawing close into the spiritual life of our Lord, striving in the flesh, carnally trying to enter into Pappa’s presence … and that with dubious motives as well!! Oh, how can I forever be released from my deceitful heart (Jeremiah 17:9)?

Since I had no idea how to draw near to God, I did the only thing that made remotely sense in my predicament! Keep in mind that I was still thinking and reasoning in worldy ways and terms. I cried out to our Lord, asking Him to draw me and to show me how I could experientally enter into His life.

Through  a little book by Madame Guyon, “Short and Easy Method of Prayer”, Pappa taught me how to come into His presence and, best of all, how to stay there where there is always just fullness of joy.

Grace 7

Dear Ones, I want to encourage all to draw close unto our Lord … into His presence … there where there is pleasures for evermore (Psalm 16:11).

Much love

Mia

FCB Member

I am linking-up with the ladies at Monday Morning Meditation. Join us at http://girlmeetspaper.com/.

Monday Morning Meditation

Posted via DraftCraft app

 

 

 

 

I am honored to link-up for the first time with Ruth and all the ladies at Grace Laced Mondays. Thank you, Ruth.

 

14 thoughts on “The Throne of Grace

  1. Dear Hosea
    Oh, I am glad to welcome you to my blog. Thank you for visiting. I am always encouraged if someone finds my words helpful. Hope to see you back soon!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  2. So happy to read how God came and rescued you from striving so you could enjoy His presence…I’ve read excerpts of M. Guyon, but not the whole book…Thanks for the insight into Melchezidek…I am still learning to rest in His presence, but by His grace, experiencing more than in the past…love and hugs to you, Mia 🙂 Has the heat let up?

    • Hi Dear Dolly
      Yes, my friend, it is a journey through the dessert to enter Canaan! South Africa’s heat only leaves about end of March, beginning April. At the coast where I stay we are fortunately blessed with wind quite often and that helps a lot. Stay well, my friend!

      Mia

  3. Inner stillness…yes, that sounds lovely.this sounds like a wonderful writer to explore. Thank you so much for introducing me to her. Right now I am reading Interior Castles, which sounds a similar mindset.

    • Hi Laura
      Yes, the inner quiet stillness as we live in Pappa’s presence is truly beyond understanding and not of this world at all! Who is the author of the book you are reading. I would like to check it out. Welcome to my blog, dear One!
      Blessings
      Mia

  4. Mia, I’m a reformed “striver”, living daily in and under HIS grace!! I can’t thank HIM enough for pursuing and rescuing me when I was completely underserving.

    Love your honest words, my friend!

  5. Mia, this is an amazing post!! Oh my goodness! Such treasures you’ve shared with me today. This verse has troubled me for a long time too, but with meditating and praying about it today, I think the light is finally beginning to glimmer. Thank you!

    • Hi dear Jamie
      Yes, I know the letter to the Hebrews can be quite disturbing if one does not understand the whole background of the letter. I love doing research and am so glad that I now have a much better idea of why this letter is soooo…. important for us to understand.
      Much love to you XX
      Mia

  6. Mia, you have such a gift in sharing the Word of God, literally. I come here and read your posts and have to go back and read them again and again, because the are rich and deep. Thank you for enlightening me once again this morning.

    • Hi dear Barbie
      Thank you for your very encouraging words. Coming from you, it means so much to me! I am glad you find my post helpful.
      Much love XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

