Fools Gold

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

Jesus told him, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one can come to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6, NLT)

Don’t bother! It is not me that matters; it is my teachings that should be propagated and adhered to throughout the world (Buddha’s words, James Fowler).

The Crux of Christianity

image

Siddharta Gautama, better known as Gautama Buddha, is thought to have lived approximately 400 BC. He was the founder of Buddhism. When he was dying, his adherents wanted to perpetuate his memory.

He was adamant that he didn’t want to be memorialized, but gave his own “great commission” to preach his teachings throughout the world. This sounds so noble and self-effacing.

Yet, it is extremely dangerous and deceptive, for his teachings ushered in one of the greatest religions of all time into the world, Buddhism.

image

Contrary to the teachings of Gautama Buddha, we find the words of Jesus, who told His disciples just prior to His crucifixion, that HE IS the Way, the Truth and the Life.

He invites us with such tenderness and love when He sees us bogged down and heavy-laden with religion to come to Him. He invites us to follow Him for He wants to give us rest and peace beyond our finite comprehension.

image

Can you imagine where we would have been if Jesus told them not to bother to remember Him, but only His teachings? That would just have been a whole new bunch of disastrous laws that kill and contain no life (2 Corinthians 3:6).

Jesus did not tell us that He would show us the way to our Pappa. Neither did He teach us new truths about God or gave us a new way to eternal life.

image

No, He boldly proclaimed, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life (John 14:6). He boldly proclaimed that many will come to Him on judgement day saying to Him, “Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed miracles in your name” (Matthew 7:22).

Allow me to add another few favorite things that we might want to add today: we were teachers or preachers, pastors or priests, reverends or bishops, leaders of a worship team, taught Sunday School, spread the Gospel, spoke in tongues, didn’t drink … or danced … or smoked.

image

We faithfully went to church every time the doors were opened, we attended all the prayer meetings, we selflessly served the saints in a church ministry, etc. Oh, the sorrow these ones will experience when He tells them He didn’t know them for they were mining for fools gold.

These things are not wrong in and of itself, but that is building on sand as far as Christianity is concerned. Christianity is built only on the Eternal Rock, the Sure Foundation; our Lord Jesus. He is the capstone rejected by the religious builders (Mark 12:10).

image

In His wonderful prayer just before He was arrested, Jesus told us that eternal life is that we might know our Pappa and Him (John 17:3). Christianity IS Jesus Christ!!! HE IS the Great I AM.

If this is the truth, which it is, where does the approximately 41000 Christian denominations come from? This “knowing” is such an intimate union of our spirit with the glorious Holy Spirit.

image

I personally think we will find the answer to this question in the Garden of Eden when the great deceiver deceived Adam and Eve into believing that they could be like God, knowing good and evil! In a human way I think we can compare this union to sexual intimacy between husband and wife; oneness personified.

Denominationalism is the result of that lie and the age-old characteristics of the flesh: pride, selfish ambition and dissension (Galatians 5:20). It seems that every denomination proudly proclaims that their doctrine/teachings of Jesus will show us the way, the truth and give us eternal life.

Not so! The person of Gautama Buddha might not be of much importance in Buddhism, but our living, resurrected Lord Jesus IS the crux of Christianity.

imageIn total contradiction to Gautama Buddha is the story of Sadhu Sundar Singh. He was a Sikh who converted to Christianity. A European professor of comparative religions, an agnostic himself, repeatedly asked Mr Singh during an interview why he exchanged one religion for another.

When Mr Singh answered him that he now had Jesus, the professor became quite impatient and wanted him to be more specific about the different principles or doctrines of the two religions. Mr Singh’s only answer was that the particular Person he had now found, was Jesus (James Fowler, Christ in You).

image

The words of a friend of mine describes this so vividly, “You cannot eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil and expect to live in the Tree of Life”. Thanks Grace Ann!

Much love and sweet blessings.

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

image

image

38 thoughts on “Fools Gold

    • Dear Gail
      Oh, my friend, how wonderful to follow our Lord Jesus that, even though He created everything, has such a humble, gentle and loving heart! His invitation for us to come to Him is so compassionate and full of mercy! It breaks my heart when He wept over Jerusalem when He wanted to gather them like an hen gathers her chicks.
      Much love
      Mia

  1. Mia, you did such wonderful job on this . I was so touched y the sensitive humble spirit you demonstrated in your response to one of your comments. Our blogs can reach many who otherwise we would not have been able to speak to. Have a very special day.

    • Dear Judith
      Oh, we need to be so careful how we treat our Pappa’s children! I am so tired of people trying to force the Gospel down other people’s throats. It just does not work that way! Our Lord Jesus does a mighty fine job of building His church and does not really need our help! Love, dear friend, His love, is the only thing we are asked to give; the same way He did for us! Love speaks the truth of the gospel loud and clear.
      Blessings to you
      Mia

    • Dear Hazel
      This is still the best good news ever! Our King is alive and living in each one of us! Thanks for reading.
      Much love.
      Mia

  2. I’ve never thought about that difference–remembering only the teachings and not the person. But the thought of it makes me so sad. The person of Jesus is such a real comfort, a real friend, a real mentor. This is so interesting, Mia. Thank you for making me ponder today.

    • Dear Laura
      I think this is what makes Christianity different form any religion! We serve a living King and not any rule or law.It is about Him and not a teaching.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Dear Janis
      Thank you for always being our gracious hostess! I am glad that you were encouraged by my post!
      Sweet blessings.
      Mia

    • Dear Elizabeth
      Thank you for encouraging me! I am glad that you learned something from my words. I so enjoy your poetry.
      Sweet blessings
      Mia

    • Dear Emily
      Thank you for visiting and reading! I know you are very busy at the moment with your new book launch! All glory goes to the King of Kings, dear friend.
      Sweet blessings.
      Mia

  3. It’s sad that we live in a day where people are confused about the supremacy of Christ over all the other religions of our world. But I’m so glad that you are speaking it clearly and loudly here, Mia. Christ is the only One who can satisfy our longings and the Only way to God. You’ve stated that Truth beautifully here. Thanks so much for linking this up with Wedded Wed, my friend!

    • Dear Beth
      There was a time after being in church my whole life, that I realized things were not as they should be if all professing Christians were following our Lord! So I stepped out for a while to search and I was shocked to see what is really going on. I once read that even if God would die if that was possible, church would go on, business as usual!
      Sweet blessings.
      Mia

  4. HI Mia, so good to see this topic being tackled and you did it in such a great and practical way. Easy to read, easy to understand. Love it. And thank you for your comment over at My Daily Walk. I will certainly be looking for that book.
    God bless
    Tracy

    • Dear Tracy
      Thank you for your encouraging words. I do a lot of research before I write these posts and some of the stuff is written in difficult English! I always tell my husband that this is the way I serve Pappa’s children; reading those difficult theological discourses and then writing in plain language we all can understand.
      Sweet blessings
      Mia

  5. Mia, these are very precious words. I love Sundar Singh. What a great answer to give to the professor. Some would so much like to have it all sown up and secure for them. They seek their security in doctrines instead of a living Lord. How much more wonderful relationship is than empty words. If the words are not alive through relationship with Him Who Is our life, they mean nothing. This is why we can have fellowship with others who may not agree with our viewpoints on interpretation; but ultimately it is unimportant what I know – it’s WHO I know which is vital. If two people know Jesus – REALLY know Him, (the Hebrew for ‘to know’, יָדַע is ‘yada’ and it’s the word used when Adam ‘knew’ his wife Eve) then they can have fellowship even if they may disagree on certain interpretations. Ultimately their unity is based not on what they believe, as you say, but in their submission to His love.

    • Dear Frances Kate
      Yes, those little things like how you use communion, what you sing in church, what you wear and so on, are just soooo unimportant. Paul said he would rather give up his freedom than arguing about these things and offend a brother or sister for whom our Lord has died. Thank you for reading!
      Sweet blessings.
      Mia

  6. This is a lovely post. Buddhism is very impersonal compared with Christianity and our divisive denominational world is by definition NOT God’s will.

    • Dear Helene
      Yes, dear one, I am studying the book of Revelation at the moment and I have to say that things have gotten much worse than when Jesus gave this revelation to John.
      Blessings and love.
      Mia

  7. Hi Mia,

    This is the first post of yours that I look at, so excuse my ignorance of your other posts. I have a question: What is the link between the pictures that you share and the text? I can see there are verses of Quran in Arabic but there is no mention of Islam. Interestingly, the verses are about a debate with believers in Christianity!
    The Buddism as far as I know does not emphasize on Lord and it is centered around ethical exercises and uplifting spiritual power of its followers. So, I agree with you stance, that a religion with Almighty Lord is a lot more meaningful that otherwise.

    • Hi Majid
      What a pleasure to have you visiting! As I do not read either Hebrew or Arabic, I was under the impression that the lettering of those words was Hebrew! Sorry if I offended you in any way.

      Majid, I wanted to emphasize that no written rule or law has the power to give us spiritual life. The language is of no importance. Our Lord Jesus told the religionists of His day that they searched the Scriptures thinking that they would find eternal life, but the Scriptures (Torah) was pointing people to Him.

      I am so sorry to hear that these words are about Christians arguing about their religion, but this should show us how divisive any religion can be.

      I do not believe in a Christian religion, but I am following Jesus! I walk with Him every second of every day of my life and I love Him more than life. I am so grateful that He made it possible for me to be reconciled to my Heavenly Father!

      Again, I am sorry if I offended you by using Arabic text! If you so desire, I will take it off! Please, let me know.

      God bless you, dear Majid.

      Mia

      • Hi Mia,

        Thanks for the explanations. Looking back again, I see that the concept of Lord being everywhere and supporting believers in Him is what I take from your words. The words of Holy books are from the Lord and Creator of all beings to guide them towards His way of life and motivate them to increase their spiritual connection to Him, make their minds and souls more alert (read ‘awake’) of Him, and elevate their spiritual qualities and integrity. From what I have taken in my religious life, it is the words and principles of the holy texture (Quran for me) that make us start thinking, comprehending and understanding the world in the right way as it is — since it is created and governed by Lord — and find out our right way of life. Agreeing with your note, it definitely needs ongoing spiritual connection to our Lord as you stress as well as being mindful of our duties to Him as He has reveals to the best human beings among us (prophets).

        I would not find the picture of the page of Quran helpful to deliver the message you are trying to convey. But this is only my opinion.

        Besides all the difference in opinion, I appreciate your kind and respectful response.

        Thanks sister,
        Majid

  8. Mia, my heart rejoices at Mr. Singh’s beautiful response… knowing the Person of Jesus. Yes, He is ALL truth, ALL love, no addendum needed! Thank you for once again bringing glory to our Lord’s name through your beautiful writing.
    Much love ~ Mary

    • Dear Mary
      Yes, my Dear friend, Jesus is all that is needed, not something added on. Pity that so many things are added on by man and that in His name!
      Blessings and love.
      Mia

  9. Mia – Always so much good information! I was just in to have my nails done yesterday & Buddha was everywhere in this salon. In statue form, necklaces etc. It reminded me of China. So happy we serve the One true King…and that in Him is all truth and all life!

    • Hi Jen
      Yes, it is so sad that people are so misled by all these religions. No wonder our Lord called the religious Jews children of their father the devil!
      Blessings and love.
      Mia

  10. You are a great writer with an excellent message. I look at the physical evidence left. Buddha, Mohammad and Confucius are all in their graves today, but Jesus, the son of God, is risen.. The dead sea scrolls are a witness to the reality of Gods word. That is a mighty conviction to me.

    • Dear Crystal
      This is so true. Our Lord Jesus is alive and what brings me so much joy is the fact that our Lord Jesus is not only alive, but He lives in everyone of us!
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  11. You said well. Compliments. The heart of our Christianity is Jesus Christ and our living relationship with Him. I’m not sure Mia … Are you the one who wrote a comment on my blog Dutch “Kostbaar” this morning? I could not find your blog when I clicked on your ‘picture’ 🙂 So I searched your name on the Internet.

    God bless you.

    • Dear Jedidja
      Yes, dear friend. This is my blog. The girl that can understand your Dutch! Thank your visit. It is an honor to have you visiting.
      Much love
      Mia

  12. Good Morning Mia –
    As I read this, I was reminded of when my husband & I went to China. There was nothing as sad to me as watching the activity in any of the temples & realizing how greatly the people need Christ. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. They are powerful & needed.
    Blessings,
    Joanne

    • Dear Joanne
      I can just think how sad it must have been for you. But I know that there is a very strong, living church in China and they are growing daily. Have you ever read the work of Watchman Née?
      Blessings
      Mia

      • Mia –
        I LOVE his writings! I have read several of his books. They were my dad’s, who loved reading his books. It has been some time since I read them. I may need to read them again over the summer. Thanks for reminding me of him.
        Blessings,
        Joanne

  13. Wow! Preach it, sister! Exactly. Our Lord and Savior didn’t stutter… and didn’t look or act much like the modern church does these days. Powerful words and reminder, Mia. My heart breaks over the different denominations, especially the ones that bring the opposite of the love of Christ into the world’s view of His followers.

    • Dear Floyd
      Yes, the church today looks much more like a business or orginazation! The Church Jesus is building is a living, spiritual organism. I think it breaks His heart too when the religious folk starve His children while they are sitting at their Pappa’s banquet table! Thanks for reading again, dear bro!
      Blessings and love
      Mia

Leave a Reply

