A God Who Waits

Be still

God’s Thoughts to Me

Only in returning to me and resting in me will you be saved. In quietness and confidence is your strength. But you would have none of it. You said,”No, we will get our help from Egypt.”…. So the Lord must wait for you to come to Him so He can show you His love and compassion. (Isaiah 30:15-18, NLT)

Be still and know that I am God. (Psalm 46:10, NLT)

A Still, Quiet Christmas

During 2011 South Africa had a census. The country was bustling with activity and expectation, hoping for better services and living conditions as a result.

Census

Fortunately we were all visited at our homes by the census officials and had no need to travel to our places of birth like Joseph and Mary had to do when the Roman emperor, Augustus, decreed a census throughout the Roman Empire at the time of Jesus’ birth.

I can only imagine the commotion in Bethlehem when they arrived; with all the travellers returning to register for the census. No wonder there was no accommodation available for this unimportant carpenter and his highly preganant wife, who was already in labour.

Census - Bethlehem

The world, as usual, was too busy with its worldly things to pay to much attention to their greatest need. I don’t think they were even aware of their need …. the need to be saved from itself and all the futile ways of trying to find worth and meaning …. the need for forgiveness, love, grace and compassion ….. the need to come to our Pappa to freely receive His Gift of Redemption, our Lord Jesus, and to live in Him.

Looking at the frantic hustling and bustling around me, as the world is again preparing for the Christmas celebrations, it makes me sad and I wonder how much, if anything, has changed!

myimage.jpeg

I can sense our Pappa still waiting, longing for His children to just be still and quiet …. to just return to Him and listen to His heartbeat of love …. to allow Him to show them His love and compassion ….. to allow Him to hold them securely in the palm of His hand.

It breaks my heart to think of all the times I was just like the stubborn Israelites who “would have none of it”. For much too long I had been looking to Egypt. For much too long had I been wining and dining the ways of the world, especially its religious ways, frantically trying to find my acceptance and worth in the false security it offers.

Clouds

But still my Pappa had been waiting for me, patiently allowing me to come to the end of myself and my ways, knowing that the time would come when I had no one and nothing to look up to, but Him. When that time arrived, how graciously did He shower me with all His love, grace, goodness and compassion!!! The love, peace and joy I experience in His Loving Embrace is way above the busy, futile ways of the world.

Come dear Ones, let us all return to Him, rest in Him, confident of His goodness, drawing our strength from His presence. Let us become still and KNOW that He is God.

Much love XX

Mia

It is again time to link-up with Barbie at The Fresh Brewed Sunday community. We are all invited to share a verse from Scripture that has special meaning to us. Come and join us at http://myfreshlybrewedlife.com

Thank you, Barbie!!

Posted via DraftCraft app

10 thoughts on “A God Who Waits

  1. I love this, Mia: “I can sense our Pappa still waiting, longing for His children to just be still and quiet …. to just return to Him and listen to His heartbeat of love …. to allow Him to show them His love and compassion ….. to allow Him to hold them securely in the palm of His hand.”
    This is so good, friend. Beyond grateful for his waiting, steadfast, perfect love!

    • Hi dear Ashley
      Yes, I cannot imagine my life without our Pappa’s steadfast love, His grace and mercy. I am grateful with you for His patience to wait for His stubborn ones!!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  2. Hi dear Barbie
    Oh yes, He is waiting for all His children, but the best of all is the moment we go to Him, He runs faster than us to get to us. This is such a deep spiritual connection that words cannot describe its beauty.
    Thank you, friend for your visit…much appreciated.
    Hugs XX
    Mia

  3. What a very thought provoking post. I always think about the verse that says, “wait for the Lord”. But to think that the God of the universe waits for me to come to Him. His desire is for me and He desires that I be with Him. I want my focus to be on Jesus this season and not on the stuff around me or my circumstances. I want to run hard, fast into His open arms. He’s waiting!

  4. Mia-
    Wow! you have no idea how your words resonated with me this morning. Thank you. I was thinking along the same lines in my post, but you said it 100X better than I did!
    BTW-thank you for the kind comment you left on my blog the other day. I tried to find you to respond, but when I clicked your name, there was no information. Glad I found you again!

    • Hi Susan
      Yes, this is quite a serious matter. Your post was very, very thought provoking ….. short, but a very clear strong message!!
      Thanks for your visit and your encouragement.
      Hugs XX
      Mia

  5. Thanks Markus,
    What if find so wonderful about the rest our Pappa leads us to, is that even amongst great turmoil around you, you still stay in that quiet place of rest and peace. But this is better experienced than writing about, for words cannot capture that beauty!
    Much love to you and the family
    Mia

  6. Isa. 30:15-18

    This word the Lord stamped into my life! Be still… absolutely still… don’t move… no, even don’t move your little finger…
    wait… be still, let me do it ALONE… trust in my word towards you… don’t move just TRUST!!!
    And the weeks, months, years passed by… me doing nothing but waiting on Him… became a laughter to all around me…
    scolded and scorned… even the ones loving me turned there back on me… they all knew better… knew what to DO…
    what is this crazy waiting good for? God isn’t acting… it’s just your fantasy… that’s all insane!
    The only one remaining with me was Him… and His word… WAIT… wait on me! And so again I waited… waited… WAITED… died… died…
    died…
    No, never depressed, but actually getting “lighter”! As more I waited… solely waited… restrained from any other action… as calmer
    it got… peace… peace… unmeasurable peace… put into my heart.
    And Him so close! Do you know what it is to go outside on one of your long trails and He goes with you! Talking to Him… sensing
    His presence in one place and falling down in adoration and praise… just being in the midst of Him… overflowing, bursting from
    joy and feelings I have no words for!

    Waiting was the key! No action by myself just “sitting on His word” not moving an inch!

    Today I see him acting after waiting for more than 16 years! Again it is Him doing the action… I’m still just waiting! There is a change though.
    In the past my waiting meant dying to myself by seeing Him cutting everything down… now it means seeing Him acting on my behalf!
    Seeing Him doing wonders… Him making connections… Him giving none-withstanding authority!

    … and right, still I am waiting… but this time with big eyes, jaw-dropping and speechless… just watching Him doing all this stuff on my behalf 🙂

    Blessings

Leave a Reply

