A Stable for a King

God’s Thoughts to Me

That night there were shepherds, staying in the fields nearby, guarding their flocks of sheep. Suddenly an angel of the Lord appeared among them, and the radiance of the Lord’s glory surrounded them. (Luke 2:8-9, NLT)

She wrapped Him snugly in strips of cloth and laid Him in a manger, because there was no lodging available for them. (Luke 2:7, NLT)

The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart. (Psalm 51:17, NLT)

Expectant Hearts

The world is expectantly doing what it does best; rushing frantically…this time to prepare for Christmas. The atmosphere is filled with a busy buzzing, somewhat superficial, trying to envelope and misguide many into the commercial worldy version of Christmas.

Merchants have filled every nook and cranny of their shop windows with unnecessary goods wrapped in Christmas garb….all begging to be bought for non-existent needs, oblivious to the fact that the greatest need of mankind had been provided for, 2000 years ago. Bethlehem, the basket of bread, had been fiiled with the Bread of Life when our Pappa wrapped His love in human flesh, a tiny baby…small fingers, small toes and all.

My heart pondered a silent question, ” Where did it all go wrong…? When did Christmas become another money-making opportunity for so many of our Pappa’s children. Where is the wonder and awe of our God who is holy and magnificent beyond description?”

But, then I remembered the humble, dirty stable, the only accommodation available to receive the King of Kings. I could almost hear the angels singing a new song of joy, when I realized His birth was announced to the lowest of people, the shepherds.

The occupation of shepherding was considered by the Jews at the time of Jesus’ birth as quite low on the importance scale. His people were earnestly looking for and expecting an earthly king like King David to free them from the Roman oppression. Yet, gentiles from the east recognized and understood the majesty and importance of this birth and travelled far to pay Him honor and bring Him costly gifts.

I realized that no heart is too dirty for the new Life of our Lord Jesus to be birthed in….no person too unimportant to be the audience for His song of Joy….no culture, country or its people unable to come to Him with gifts of gold, incense and myrrh.

Lord, take my dirty stable heart
make it still and humble
sing to me Your glory song
in the quiet of the dark

Transform my faith
into the finest gold,
my wordless prayer
a costly gift of incense
my love a spicy gift,
myrrh for the King

I realize that true expectancy to receive our King can only be birthed if our Heavenly Father has done a mighty work of grace in a life. When a heart has been humbled, when a spirit is contrite, when spiritual sight has been restored, can tiny seeds of desire be planted in fertile soil…seeds that will grow into great expectancy…into passionate desire to receive and host our King of Kings.

Much love XXX
Mia

Thank you, dear Barbie, for the privilege of your linky place where we can prepare our hearts to receive our King this Christmas. You can join us at http://myfreshlybrewedlife.com/

I am grateful to be linking up with Tanya Marlow from Thorns and Gold as well. You can join us there at http://tanyamarlow.com/. Thank you, Tanya.

Posted via DraftCraft app

10 thoughts on “A Stable for a King

  1. Hi Ashley
    Yes, thankfully we learn at some stage the beauty of humility, the beauty and joy of living dependantly on our Pappa, in the certainty of His Gift, our Lord Jesus. That learning in itself is nothing short of a mighty work of grace, a work of love from His hand….a miricale.
    Thank you, dear friend
    Hugs XX
    Mia

  2. Mia, yes, the world screams “fill yourself with me” when, as you beautifully said, all the worlds needs were filled by the life in the stable. Yes, the world screams “be important,” and God speaks “Be still and know you are loved,” and to the shepherds, “Receive this gift for you, you forgotten, despised, you humble of heart.” I’ve wondered about this, too…how celebrations of Christmas seem to have veered so horribly off course. I appreciate your reflections here, friend.

  3. Hi Kati
    Thanks for your visit. Yes, the world’s values differs a lot from our Pappa’s. May we never get so caught up in the affairs of the world, that we lose the wonder of our Lord.
    Hugs XX
    Mia

  4. This is really lovely… just beautiful imagery. One of the things that most fascinates/captivates me about God is the extremes, the upside-down view of the world in comparison with what seems to be our natural human inclinations. The shepherds compared to the glitzy materialism, the humility compared to the glory… it’s all there, somehow, isn’t it! Thanks

  5. Hi dear Tanya
    Yes, the world is always busy doing its thing, but the joy of just resting in His love is costly and precious beyond anything this world can offer. Thanks for your visit! You really challenged me with your previous post!!
    Much love XX
    Mia

  6. Hi Barbie
    Yes, that is just the way it is! Our Lord also voiced this when he told the rich young man that with us nothing spiritual is possible, but with Him nothing is impossible. Thank you for this link,my friend. I truly believe this one is sooo… important.
    HugsXX
    Mia

  7. Such a beautiful post my friend. “I realize that true expectancy to receive our King can only be birthed if our Heavenly Father has done a mighty work of grace in a life.” I cannot have an expectant heart without His grace, for it is His grace that opens my heart to receive Him. Thank you my friend for your words so beautiful imprinted on my heart today!

  8. HIya Mia. thanks for your comment on my post ‘My father’. The psalm really meant something to me – i had never read it before. I deleted my post, as I thought I would – ive never been that comfortabel with sharing my heart -tho Im glad you read it. Love Lucy x

    • Dear Lucy
      I am glad I read your post before you deleted it. Just know we are here to help carry burdens and if you need to you can always send me an email (address under my Contact page). I will pray for your relationship.
      Love to you XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

