Posted in Circus, Clowns, Five Minute Fridays, Lisa-Jo Baker, Spiritual Kingdom, Spirituality, Uncategorized

When Clowns Cry

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love.

Neither death, nor life, neither angels, nor demons …

nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 8:38-39, NLT).

The Chronicles of Life

image

In the circus of life people are cheerful and gay, performing their boring acts of  a lethargic existence.

They are compulsive clowns with scarlet sad smiles hiding a grimace behind a pretentious façade.

Silent tears slowly trickle down their cheeks, creating colorful paths of anguish for another wasted day gone by and empty eyes desperately searching the sky hoping to find a reason for tomorrow.

image

They are kept in line by the crack of the ringmaster’s whip to perform like voiceless puppets on a string of lies. They crave to be loved; to be cherished is the cry of their hearts.

They yearn for acceptance, but are casually tossed aside and discarded after every performance, carelessly stuffed in a box waiting for the next time the circus comes to town.

This is a world of make-believe where reality wears masks and truth pretends to be only that which the eye can see. Every layer of life is another verse, another chapter, another story in the chronicles of the Adventures of Life.

image

Hearts are adrift, each in a barren void … where all are lost … there where all dream alone … where shame is the place they all call home.

This is a world where encouragement comes cheap, dripping seductively from the honey-sweet lips of an immoral woman, spoken from a desert place where no conscience can survive.

This is a two-faced kingdom where all are crowned with crowns of death, where all are trapped in the snare of the fowler … where songs of praise are the gnashing of teeth and the weeping of lost souls.

image

But amidst all this sorrow, invisible to the naked eye, for just a moment, a fraction of time, the Word became Man. A Man who is God with life in His wings and eternity in His heart.

He encourages and woes the apple of His eye with delightful whispers of love, of joy, of peace and gently invites her to open wide the locked doors of her heart.

The tender bended reeds He never breaks, nor does He quench the little left-over light of a flickering flame. He is an avid collector of the puzzle pieces of broken lives and gently re-builds them all.

image

He seeks and saves His little lambs. He cradles His own in the warmth of His glorious smile. He cherishes them in the sanctuary of His Loving Embrace.

Much love and sweet blessings xx

Mia

Linking-up with Lisa-Jo and the ladies from my Tea Time and Link-Up page.

image

Author:

I live in a small seaside town on the south-east coast of South Africa. I suffer from fybromyalgia/constant fatigue syndrome. I trust in the Lord Jesus for grace and strength to survive from day to day. He provides me with this and more and I therefore like to try and encourage others with the same illness. I am married and I am the proud mother of two grown sons.

50 thoughts on “When Clowns Cry

  1. Oh Mia, I just love this. So much truth, both in the seduction and two-faced kingdom, and also how our Father rebuilds us; He seeks and saves us. One of my favorite yet from you. Praying for wonderful and “light as feather” days for you full of sunshine, friend!

  2. Hey Mia, I missed this one. I think WordPress is messing up on the email delivery as I wasn’t notified of a couple other favorite blogs, either.

    Anyway, another beautiful expression of yours. One part that leaped out to me was,

    “This is a two-faced kingdom where all are crowned with crowns of death, where all are trapped in the snare of the fowler … where songs of praise are the gnashing of teeth and the weeping of lost souls.”

  3. My boys do not like clowns – and I agree – because they are not honest – they are hiding behind a false facade – so glad God wooes us with truth and faith and real! Beautiful words and images Mia!

  4. Hi Mia! I love this post, I really do. How true that so many pass through life on ‘automatic pilot’, following masters who do not value them at all. But in one small slice of time, comes the Son of God to save us from ourselves.
    That image of Jesus as a puzzle piece collector is inspired. I never thought of him in that way, and I love it.
    Great to be connected again!
    Ceil

  5. I try really, really, really, really hard to avoid putting on the clown face. Trying to remain in reality, with the Lord AS my Reality, is the best I can do every day of my life. He is truly the only “IT” I can count on forever and ever. Gotta follow my Lord. Period.

  6. This world can be such a lonely and painful place. Yet there is much beauty and love to be found in our Savior and His creation. I’m so thankful I know the Creator of the Universe. That He holds me when the madness comes crashing in.

  7. There is so much falseness in this world, but only Jesus is the way the Truth and the Life. I love how you weave your words to reveal his truth as you share with us here at “Tell Me a Story.”

  8. Mia, your words have hit me, stabbed me, brought tears to my eyes for I often feel like I live in a world that is so unbelievably unreal, so phony, so chaotic, that I just don’t belong and wonder where I do belong. But then … Christ is here with me at every turn. Christ knows my every heartbeat. Jesus loves me and does hold those puzzled piece, loving me deeply. Thank you so much for this wisdom, for listening to the Holy Spirit and writing His words for they are hard and true all at once. I needed and still need them. I also NEED JESUS. Praising Him for loving me and us each.
    I am … Caring through Christ, my friend, ~ linda

  9. I am forever thankful that “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”
    I love your imagery of the puzzle pieces.
    No matter our masks, He knows our hearts, He heals our hearts, in fact, for those who are in Christ, He has given us new hearts.
    thank you, Mia

  10. An incredible, thought provoking essay Mia. The picture of the woman removing the mask is very powerful as are your words. This line just melts my heart with thankfulness: “He is an avid collector of the puzzle pieces of broken lives and gently re-builds them all.” Blessings!!

  11. I love this line, Mia” “The tender bended reeds He never breaks, nor does He quench the little left-over light of a flickering flame” – so glad He doesn’t quench it but uses everything possible to blow it into a big fire!

  12. I’m chewing on this one this morning. I’ve seen the masks people wear, and I myself have worn them. I am so thankful He came to set me free. I am so thankful that He draws me by His lovingkindness, that He accepts me in His Kingdom.

  13. So many word pictures to remind us of these truths, Mia. Thanks so much for bringing the truths God has given you through His Word. You’ve divided His Word well and have served up generous portions for us all to meditate on today. Hugs to you and prayers for you!

  14. Insightful words beautifully rendered, Mia. On another note…the title made me remember when my oldest was a very little boy and how he would cry when we saw someone dressed as a clown. I can’t say I much like those painted faces either! Thanks for a great share, my friend.

  15. Such beautifully-worded thoughts, Mia. This last analogy especially stands out to me: “He is an avid collector of the puzzle pieces of broken lives and gently re-builds them all.” I love working puzzles, so I know every single piece matters, just as every single one of us matters to our Pappa. Thank you for your faithfulness in reminding us of his love!

  16. Your post reminded me of a Cirque du Soleil performance I saw recently. I don’t think I’ll ever think of that performance in the same way.

  17. Wow. No words. Actually, I have a few. I’ve been helping to facilitate a class at church based on the two-faced kingdom where reality wears masks… And this is the most powerful truth ever set to your beautifully written words. I adore your heart, Mia. P.S. I may come back and ask you if I can share this with the class.

  18. Beautifully written, and very true. I see masks everyday in this culture where perception is so valued, especially among the work place. Sad; never to see what is really inside someone’s heart. To surround myself with true and genuine people is a gift!

    Blessings and love Mia,
    Denise

  19. Oh what a blessing that He is such an avid collector! Thanks for linking up with Recommendation Saturday today! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

  20. Hi Mia,
    I have a friend, whom I am not in contact with any more, who once told me she had many masks that she wore. She confided in me that considering her mood she would changed her mask as she pleased. It bothered me. She is not a Christian, nor is she today as far as I know. I talked to her about Jesus, His love, grace and forgiveness and she didn’t like it because she then needed to be real, not wear a mask. I know she had a lot of hurt and life was sinful. But like a mask that eventually cannot satisfy the wearer, I pray and hope that her many faces crumble and she finds peace in Jesus.

    I’m glad I stopped by today. I believe I will try and get in touch with my friend and see if those masks are not satisfying her anymore.

    Blessings.

  21. How you bring the weary, tear-streaked picture to life, Mia! And then the hope: “The tender bended reeds He never breaks, nor does He quench the little left-over light of a flickering flame. He is an avid collector of the puzzle pieces of broken lives and gently re-builds them all.” How I love and rejoice in that truth! How true it’s been in my life!

  22. That is beautiful Mia. Where would we be without God’s love?

    I love the visuals you shared. If we saw our all of the broken pieces that God has brought together, we would probably see something very similar to the puzzle pieces.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Love,
    Beth

  23. Awesome, Mia. How you paint the vast contrasts between the lost and the living is a thing to behold. And of course the reminder of our perfect and happiest of endings. Well done, sister. May we not hide behind the masks of falsehood as we spread the Truth.

  24. As always my dearest Mia your words touch my heart!!!! He heals the broken-hearted… Blessings and love, Natasha xoxox

Leave a comment