The Tear Collector

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore-fig tree beside the road, for Jesus was going to pass that way …

“Zacchaeus!” He said, “Quick, come down! I must be a guest in your home today. (Luke 19:4-5, NLT)”

When Little Boys Cry

image

In a specific street in the town of Jericho, Lady Dawn woke up to welcome a new morning with her sun kissed smile.

The Keeper of Heaven’s Gardens had meticulously planted the seed of a sycamore tree along this road during the last hour of the moon. This was the year 200BC.

A Guardian Angel was appointed to cultivate and guard this tree for it was paramount to one moment in the future, roughly in the year 32AD.

image

When the tree’s rings were telling the history of approximately 205 years, a young boy named Zacchaeus used to climb and hide in its branches.

He cried his sorrows to the branches and the comforting leaves who listened and wrapped him with love.

Zacchaeus, who was brought up in the strict ways of the Jewish laws, was a small, shy and little child.

Because of his stature and soft heart, he was a lonely boy who never felt quite good enough to be accepted by the in-crowd. His little boy heart craved love and approval.

image

Whenever his heart was ripped apart by the cruel mocking of the other sturdy and stronger boys, this little one, who’s name means “pure”, found solace and shade in the shadow of his tree friend.

As he grew up to manhood, he locked his wounded soul in the dungeon of his own short man’s syndrome and promised evil justice to the perpetrators of his pain.

He became a despised tax-collector and his hatred and cunning caused him to rapidly advance to the chief seat of these scumbags. He was consumed by his lust for revenge.

image

The tax collectors were notorious for their greed and lust for worldly riches and shamelessly cheated on the taxes of the people and exploited the poor.

They were scoundrels, despised be the religious Jews. According to their laws, they were to be avoided at all cost. One day Zacchaeus heard of a Man called Jesus.

This Rabbi did not only dine with the tax collectors, prostitutes and their kind, He even called Matthew, one of Zacchaeus’ hated colleagues, to follow Him.

Rumors were that He was the Son of God and was on His way to Jericho. These rumors awoke a broken, forgotten little boy deep within the depths of Zacchaeus’s heart.

image

As his tree friend was along the way Jesus was traveling, this little boy who was still starving for love and acceptance ran and climbed his familiar friend to get a better view.

When Jesus came by, He stopped, looked up to where Zacchaeus was trying to hide his shame with fig leaves and tenderly called Him down, “Quick, come down! I must be a guest in you home today”.

image

Jesus softly whispered a new song of love and forgiveness, while the weathered branches bowed in reverence, inviting Zacchaeus to open his house and his heart to host the King of Heaven.

Much love and sweet blessings xx

Mia

I am linking-up with Lisa-Jo and again the sweet ladies at my Tea-Time and Link-Up page.

image

40 thoughts on “The Tear Collector

  1. Zaccheus has always been one of my favorites. Just having the Lord break through, turn hearts around, draw them to Himself is a real treat. Was then, is now. And Z. was one of the last of the main people that Jesus broke into. When I see a sycamore tree, I always think of him and Him. Makes me grin. Thank you…. and bless you.

  2. How sweetly you tell the story of Zacchaeus and the friendly tree where he could catch a good view as Jesus passed by. Jesus passes by each of at one time, and he looks up and says our name! Then he invites us to come and dine with him. I was always amazed how Jesus could know Zacchaeus’s name, yet he knows each of us too. Thank you for sharing with us here at “Tell Me a Story.”

  3. Mia, this story in the Scriptures always fills me with hope as I pray for one of my family members who desperately needs to do business with God. Here Christ meets with a despised tax collector — no one is beyond redemption. What grace! 🙂

  4. Wow, really awesome!

    That tree reminds me of the tree that became the cross. I’m not sure I could have created that tree if I were God, but that’s His love. He thought of every detail.

  5. What a fabulous storyteller you are, Mia. I enjoyed this so much. Isn’t it fascinating to imagine what the people we read about in the Bible really were like? They lived and breathed and had a life. You just made Zacchaeus more real to me, friend.

  6. I love how you showed the possible hurts hidden in his heart. Just like all of us with wounds buried deep. Until Jesus. And He digs up the roots of bitterness and plants new seeds so that we can flourish, and our leaves will still be green in old age…Lovely storytelling, my friend…

  7. Thanks for showing me a different side of Zacchaeus that I haven’t considered before. There’s always more than one side to each person and it’s too easy to just stereotype someone and go on. Thanks for this fresh look today, Mia!

  8. I love your creative retelling of familiar Bible stories, Mia! Your story-telling brings a fresh perspective.

    Have you ever thought about writing children’s books? You’re very gifted!

  9. I love the way you’ve opened us up to imagine Zacchaeus’ life, Mia. I’m sure you’ve hit on some important points in his life that plagued this short little man. And I’m grateful for the way Jesus knows all of those insecurities and sins in our lives and still calls us to come and dine with him. Thanks sweet friend!

  10. That’s funny, I was thinking of that Bible story not long ago at all, and hadn’t heard it for years. Now I’m reading about it here. 🙂

    Thank for linking to Super Sunday Sync!

  11. I love the back-story, Mia! The thoughtful planting of the sycamore tree with a specific plan and purpose. Such a beautiful picture of our God’s care and character! Have a blessed week!

  12. I love the image of the boy figure climbing the tree. You beautifully brought to life the heart of the broken and how Christ heals and restores. I want all of your stories compiled as a book for my children Mia. Visiting you today from The Sunday Community! Have a great week.

  13. Mia, what a beautiful way of interpreting the story of Zaccheus! I can’t help but believe you did it correctly! I bet Zaccheus and that tree were old friends.

    Much love to you, my sister in Christ.

  14. What a blessing that God loves us all! No matter what we think of ourselves, or what others think of us, He will accept us with loving arms!

    Blessings, Joan

  15. Climbing the tree that day brought forgiveness to Zacchaeus but the day Jesus laid down on Calvary’s cross brought forgiveness to us all.

    I always love visiting to see the story you share with your words but also with your picture. It is always beautiful

  16. He softly whispers a new song of love and forgiveness to all of us, doesn’t he? Beautiful story of redemption, Mia! Blessings!

  17. All my life I’ve been short – and so the story of Zacchaeus was always one of my favorites – I identified with his short stature. But I also love how determined he was to see Jesus – and how determined Jesus was to meet him.

    The King of Heaven never passes by one of His loved ones.

    GOD BLESS!

  18. Mia,
    I love how Jesus saw beyond Zaccheus’ outward behavior to the deeper longing of his heart, and to the little boy within….and it is amazing to think of that sycamore tree…I didn’t know they could be so old…Wishing you and yours a blessed and restful weekend …hugs 🙂

  19. How amazing to know that God ordained that tree to grow for His specific purpose… and so to is it with our lives. May our rings speak of all the time He’s preparing us for His good will and glory. Awesome post, Mia.

  20. Beautiful, sweet friend! I love this story and I can hear so much love in Jesus’ voice as He speaks Zacchaeus’ name… a new sound to Zacchaeus – his name spoken with such love and acceptance! I know that sound… for Jesus speaks my name… and yours… with the same tender lovingkindess! Always such a gift to come visit you here!

  21. Hi Mia! What imagination and insight you have! This is a beautiful back story of Zacchaeus. I just wrote a blog post about him too, but it isn’t as beautiful as this is. I love the idea of him being an outcast as a child, leading to his tax-collecting. Brilliant!

    Thank you for a new way to think of this historical person. And yes, The Lord planted that tree knowing full well who would need it later. Our God is an awesome God.
    Blessings!
    Ceil

  22. Your beautifully chosen words accompanied by the wonderful pictures you’ve added bring this Biblical truth to life in a meaninful way, Mia! xx

  23. I love this Bible story. I love how it reminds us that even we, in the present day, have our own version of the “sycamore-fig tree”. We can run to it, trying to hide our shame and bury our sorrows, but our Father still sees and still loves us. How powerful are your words in retelling this beautiful story! Blessings, Mia.

Leave a Reply

