The Socialite

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it (Matthew 7:13-14, NLT).

The Broad and The Narrow

image

Bright ideas and fibrofog are not bedfellows; so, down memory lane I went to find some common ground between my thoughts for today’s post and an exciting introduction.

When I asked Pappa to help me, He gently reminded me of an instance when I, as a young teenager, went on a school scouting camp. I vividly remember this one guy having everyone in stitches with the lamest of jokes.

I was merrily joining in the laughter whilst being dumbfounded that anyone could actually think such stupid jokes to be funny. And just there I found the reason for so much of humanity’s woes; our god given need to belong; to be accepted.

image

It is this sensitive need satan uses to deceive and lead so many people happily along the broad road. I am not talking about the broad road where you find the company of thieves, drunkards, murderers, addicts, prostitutes and the like.

Our Lord didn’t seem to have much trouble with these folk. In fact, He was called a drunkard and glutton Himself (Matthew 11:19) and He called Himself a jail-bird (Matthew 25:36). I am talking about the broad road called religion with its wide gate welcoming countless souls into destruction.

I once was a cheerleader along this road until our Lord kindly blessed me with a disability that robbed me of my pom-poms and all my cheerleading skills.

image

Truth be told, I was a religious socialite, always dressing myself in all the latest to-do fashion doing the religious rounds. But, no matter how much I flirted, I was always empty; devoid of life, true Life!

But where the great “I AM” is, you will never find a void, or an emptiness or need to belong that He does not fill with His wonderful love … actually with His Heavenly Wonderous Self. He dresses His bride in His white washed Robes of Righteousness.

image

He patiently started to “home school” me, teaching me at a pace that suited my fibrofog, how I totally sidestepped the wonder and truth of His Gospel.

He taught me the difference between the broad road of darkness and the narrow road bathed in the Light of Jesus … the road called Jesus … the road called Life.

He taught me the complete dichotomy between these two roads. The way of Jesus’ Kingdom is uniquely radical and singular and is not easily passable.

In fact, it is impossible without faith, true faith; the kind of faith that we can only receive as a gift from Pappa’s Hand. Only this gift enables us to walk this tippy-toe road!

image

This gift of faith makes our hearts receptive to God’s grace, moment by moment and enables us to walk the narrow road that is not popular or pleasing to the masses.

We often need to walk this road alone seeking only our Pappa’s approval. But life lived in our dearest Lord Jesus is the summation of God’s Kingdom.

Not many religious people are willing to submit themselves to God and Him ALONE in receptivity to enter through the narrow door and walk on the narrow path.

This is the life lived at the end of our tether, denying all our own efforts to be saved, allowing our Lord Jesus to live His life in and through us.

image

It is much easier to get lost in the letter of the law, a doctrine, a creed, a rule, a sacrament or whatever gives us a sense of security even though it is false. It is much easier to enter through the beautiful, broad religious gate.

It is a popular road; convenient and socially acceptable and allows a wide scope for freedom of ecumenical tolerance.

It is widened even further by the many ruts and ditches of methodology (especially the “how-to-do-this-that-and-the-other-for-God” kind) and experimentalism. The better it feels, the better it is! The more important it sounds, the more important it is!

Solomon wisely knew from experience, “There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death” (Proverbs 14:12). We all have to choose which road we will travel; the one leading to spiritual death or life.

image

Let us cry out to our beloved Lord with King David in Psalm 139 “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

Much love and sweet blessings xx

Mia

During the week I link-up with the friendly ladies at my Tea Time and Link-Up page. Thanks for your hospitality.
51 thoughts on “The Socialite

  1. Pingback: Saturday Shortcuts – Planned Peasanthood

  2. “Our Lord kindly blessed *me* with” an exile “that robbed me of *my* pom-poms and all my cheerleading skills.” And what a blessing that has been! True religion (defined as true devotion to God as He really is) is light-years distant from being a “religious socialite” (what an apt term!) And pain of one kind or the other seems to be the necessary paving on the narrow way–hard and rocky rather than smooth and easy.

    “We often need to walk this road alone seeking only our Pappa’s approval. But life lived in our dearest Lord Jesus is the summation of God’s Kingdom.” This is so true and so rich. I wonder how many people who call themselves Christians really get this. The broad road seems to be full of church people who don’t seem to realize that’s where they’re traveling because they have all that church companionship. Oh, Lord, keep me on Your narrow way!

    God bless you, dear sister, and may He give you strength through and relief from your pain.

    • Dear Sylvia
      Yes, this is a road paved through suffering, my friend. I don’t think we learn the loveliness of walking, living and breathing in our Lord Jesus before we have nothing else to trust and lean on to in this world. We need to always abide in Jesus and that happens only as we learn how to receive Him and His grace moment by moment.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

    • Dear Jennifer
      I cannot agree more! How can one clean your house and not take notice of all the dirty corners that need a good scrubbing. So, I am glad when Pappa does the same.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  3. Mia, thank you so much for sharing this. It was beautifully written. I loved how you ended it with a verse from Psalm 139. I will pray that you will have a little relief from your fibrofog and have clarity when you need to write. Keep your eyes on Jesus and depend on Him.

    • Dear Judith
      Thank you for your kindness and payers. Our Lord is so close to us when we are going through trials, showering us with His grace.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

    • Dear Mary
      Yes, we are truly like knights in shining armor when we are clothed with Jesus. The enemy knows that we only need to submit to our Lord and resist him. I think that makes him furious.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  4. Mia, So very tempting to be known by the masses, rather than be Known by The Father. The narrow road requires more faith, trust and obedience; however, our Savior is there to help us if we let Him. Isn’t it such a gift that He uses our illness to get our attention so that He can teach us. I’m still blown away at the magnitude of His presence over the years. Humbling. Blessings to you, sweet Mia.

    • Dear Kim
      Oh, His presence is vital, my friend. Without Him living His life and character in and through us, there is no gospel. Yes, He reaches into those deep places through suffering.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  5. “For what shall it profit a man, if he gains the whole world and loses his soul?” I’m so thankful that God’s grace strips us of those outwardly important “things” to show us that He is all we really need.

    • Dear Lori
      And our greatest need is to be made spiritually alive agin in our Lord Jesus and that has just nothing at all to do with any list of do’s and don’ts.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  6. Hi Mia! I know what you mean by running with popularity over faith. It’s not popular to be a church-goer, or to even say that I have faith. Sometimes, you offer to pray for a situation, and you get stares. Oh well.

    I know the narrow road. I don’t always stay on it, but I know it. You have some things taken away in your fibro, but you constantly use them to keep you close to the Lord. Someone else might have gotten bitter and angry. God’s grace is strong for you, and we benefit from that.

    Blessings to you Mia!
    Ceil

    • Dear Ceil
      Thank you, dear friend. Without grace we can easily lose perspective of eternity. Like our Lord says that we receive as much grace and mercy as we need. And just to assure us that there is never a short supply, He tells us that it is new every morning. So we can safely use all the grace we need daily.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  7. Mia – I love how our Pappa leads you on the narrow path. So beautifully you tell of it! So true to God are your words. Isn’t it amazing, when we cannot think, God give us words to speak? He is so good like that. Praying for you.
    Hugs,
    Kelly

    • Dear Kelly
      God even gives us the ability to think. There truly is nothing under the sun not created by Him. So incredibly sad that sin has scarred the beauty of creation.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  8. I love your words, Mia. Pslam 139 is my favorite and almost prayed daily. I liked your sentence: “This gift of faith makes our hearts receptive to God’s grace, moment by moment and enables us to walk the narrow road that is not popular or pleasing to the masses.” Good one to ponder. You are the second blogger this week that mentioned fibrofog. When ever I see things mentioned multiple times I usually mean to pray. So praying for that to lift from you

  9. So much wisdom here, Mia. The socialite is a powerful metaphor. And this: “But where the great ‘I AM’ is, you will never find a void, or an emptiness or need to belong that He does not fill with His wonderful love.” What a relief and a reminder to continually seek after his glorious and wondrous face, in all kinds of places unexpected — especially so often, it seems, through suffering. Sending you love.

    • Dear Ashley
      I think God refines us only in the furnace of suffering just like gold can never be prurified by trying to wipe it clean with cotton wool; we just cannot .
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  10. I have studied the Narrow Gate for about 5 years now and I have had the opportunity to speak at some conferences about it…It is a staggering thought of how narrow it really is…I love your post, thank you…

    • Oh, this is sooooo….. true. A life lived in complete dependence on God’s grace moment-by-moment; living daily from the fruit of the Tree of Life; allowing Him to live His Resurrection Life in and through us to the glory of our Pappa.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

    • Dear Beth
      Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we need to keep our eyes focused on Jesus and allow Him to do some house cleaning daily.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  11. I love your encouragement to walk the narrow road. We can be tempted in all spheres of life to “follow the herd” (as my mama always said) instead of following what the Lord would have for us.

    • It is such a natural thing to do even for animals and it is good, because our God created us for fellowship; fellowship in Him personally and then with one another.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

    • Dear sweet Beth
      What else an we do, my friend..! When the storms of life threaten us, where else can we be safe but in the Hand of Jesus.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  12. Dear Mia,
    Your road has led you to a close, close walk with your Poppa – that narrow road is a shining path. I learn much from you every time I read your posts – about intimacy with God, about listening to Him, about change through Him, and about living to please Him.
    Blessings today and loving hands of comfort,
    Janet

    • Dear Janet
      Thank you for your encouragement. I always say that once you touched Jesus, you cannot be silent. It is such a joy to tell others about His love and to share that intimacy together in His Spirit.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  13. What a beautifully written post, Mia! I love that you, too, count your fms and cfs as God kindly blessing you that removed you for your cheerleading in the religious field. We have much in common, my dear Sister because of our Saviour Jesus! I left a note for you over at the blog as a reply to your comment you left me this morning. I so appreciate what you are doing and saying here at your blog. Many blessings for a love filled day!

    • Dear Dianna
      What a joy to meet you, dear sister friend. Yes, when I think where I was before the illness, I can see how our Pappa used it for my good and His glory only. I don’t think I would have grown this close to Him if I were healthy.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  14. I am talking about the broad road called religion with its wide gate welcoming countless souls into destruction.
    A BIG Amen to you, Mia, for these brave and honest and very real words with which I can so relate. Thanks so much, dear friend…

    • Dear Sheila
      Oh, this road, my friend, can only be shown to us by Jesus and we usually listen and see only when we suffer, for the more we suffer, the closer we draw to Him.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  15. Oh Mia … that Psalm 139 prayer has just got to be an everyday thing, doesn’t it. Thank you for sharing this favorite passage, my friend.

    And I hope your week is going exceptionally well! Blessings, friend …

    • Dear Linda
      Oh, my heart is as free as a bird flying on the wings of the Wind, thanks, even though I am experiencing the most horrible Fm flare-up in 8 years.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  16. A needed reminder of the sovereignty and grace of our Father. Glad our narrow paths have crossed and are headed in the direction of home. Blessings to you and yours, sister.

  17. Dear Mia,
    I see God’s mercy and tender love in your life because when you could no longer rely on your “cheerleading skills” as you wrote, it is then God gave you the gift of His tender love, not dependent on what we do, but only on His love and grace…yes, for the grace to follow Him…praying you are feeling better…is your son’s hand healed? xo

    • Dear Dolly
      Yes, thank you so much, Simon’s hand has healed nicely. We need all to come to that place where we receive God’s grace and allow Him to live His life and character in and through us. Then, and only then do we truly abide in Him. This is how narrow the road is and we find it usually only through suffering.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

    • Dear Joy
      You have it right sister, God is there on the narrow road. Oh, that we would truly realize how deceptive the other road is.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  18. Wonderful post!

    Religion can so easily trap us and deceive us. So many have traded a relationship with Christ for a religion.
    There’s a huge gap between making Christ our Savior and allowing Him to be our Lord.

    Narrow is the way and as you said, it’s sometimes lonely and often misunderstood.

    • I cannot agree more! To allow our Lord Jesus to be Lord in our lives to His character and Life in and through us, is a tad more uncertain in the eyes of the world.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  19. Absolutely lovely, Mia. I pray that God gives me the power to live out the grace that He has bestowed on me. I want to walk on the narrow way – I want to walk in His footsteps.

    GOD BLESS!

    • Dear Sharon
      God gives us Himself so that we can live in Him drawing life from the endless ocean of grace moment-by-moment. Just go to Him and rest in Him.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

