Those Boots Are Made For Walking

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven (Matthew 6:19-20, NLT).

Introduction

imageToday I am honored to introduce my friend, Floyd Samons.

I was unable to write this week and Floyd kindly agreed to write a guest post. He has a great sense of humor and I have giggled through many of his posts even when it was about a serious subject.

Floyd and his family live in Phoenix, Arizona. To visit his blog just click on his picture.

COWBOY BOOTS, THE NIGHT, AND THE BUICK

For the life of me, I can’t figure out why or how I could have been so excited, but I most certainly was. I’m talking about Disneyland type of excited. That’s the beauty of being a kid I guess: little things and first time occasions are unparalleled in life.

image

I can’t recall the exact occasion, but it must have been my birthday, which had to be around my sixth or seventh one. As near as I can figure, my over reaching excitement must have had to do with the games we played as kids. We loved playing Army and the terraced lots of the houses on our block made for perfect pretend bunkers, but they also worked well for our all time favorite past time, Cowboys and Indians.

I’m not sure I even knew at the time I had a small percentage of Native American blood coursing through my veins. It wouldn’t have mattered anyway, all the kids on our block took turns, but we all wanted to be on the Cowboy side of the pretend battles. It must have been my certainty that my new birthday gift would make me a “shoe in” for the full time position of “Cowboy” that had me so juiced up.

image

I was instantly transformed from kid into a real life Cowboy the second I slipped on those brand new tan cowboy boots with the fancy stichin’ over the toes. My parents had to be pretty stoked too, seeing what a hit my first pair of cowboy boots turned out to be. They even let me do what was off limits and forbidden for me at the time; go outside after dark…

I was so excited to show my friend Davy, who lived down the block, I just couldn’t wait for the sun of another day. After pleading with my parents for a time they gave into my unbridled excitement and turned me loose into the night.

image

The cool night air felt good against my face as I ran full stride down the street. I still remember thinking how cool my new boots looked as I watched them strike against the pavement while I passed under the street light poles. I could have run forever or until those boots wore out – I was just that giddy.

I continued to marvel at my new footwear as they carried me heroically through the damp California night air toward Davy’s house. It’s funny how we get so enamored with the material things of this world. Even necessities, like shoes, take on a passion or weakness all to themselves. We begin to focus so much on the things of this world that we lose sight of the big picture.

image

Taking our focus off the important issues in life always leads to a dead end or disaster. If we’re not watching the paths of our lives and looking out for the dangers and pitfalls, they sneak up on us. Being too smitten by possessions in our world tends to make us watch and consider how we look instead of where we’re going.

Losing sight of the big picture and eventual destination gets folks lost and sometimes hurt. I’ve learned that lesson so often in life it’s downright scary. When we seek the will of our Father, He makes our paths straight and narrow. When we take our eyes off of Him and the path He’s set us on, trouble’s not far down the road.

image

Just like that parked 58’ Buick that stopped me dead in my tracks the night I got my first pair of cowboy boots…

Thank you, dear Floyd, for taking the ordinary to remind us to keep our focus on eternity.

Much love and sweet blessings

Mia

Please check out my Tea Time and Link-Ups page for all the friendly places I link  with every week.
77 thoughts on “Those Boots Are Made For Walking

    • Well out west here, we don’t get Disney World excited, we get Disney LAND excited! Although it’s been a long time for me too, sister… Hope you enjoyed your time away. Thanks, TC.

  1. Yep. I know that pain too – not exactly a picnic! Glad your son wasn’t hurt seriously. Funny thing about things like that… you don’t make the exact mistakes like that too often after that first one! Thanks, Jennifer.

    • Boy, isn’t that the truth? We buy into the lies of the world and nothing can fulfill us except for the life our Father designed for us and the one He calls us to. We use to buy things like shoes that would make us “look” a certain way and endure the pain of blisters to pull it off… now we go for comfort. God’s ways are the ways of comfort for our spirit. Andre’ did do a great job with the pictures.

  2. What about those recurring childhood dreams where you came into sudden booty? Candy in a basket under a bush. Coins falling out of a man’s pocket as you followed him down the street. A living room floor heavily laden with every Christmas gift considered desirable. Then you would wake up. Sand in the eyes. Stiffness in the back. A strange disappointment. But then an even stranger thankfulness for the vivid dreams in any event. One day Dreamland becomes Homeland…and all by the finished work of the courageous carpenter of Galilee. The trinkets forgotten…

    • “The trinkets forgotten.” Amen, Doug. All this is means nothing if it doesn’t point to the finished work of the carpenter from Galilee. Your words pour out gently and pack the power of He who calls us and provides wisdom. “It is finished!” No truer words were ever spoken!

    • Amazing we don’t have more scars than we do! Some of us have a tendency to learn things the hard way, I guess it’s all good as long as we learn. Thanks, Dave.

  3. It is good to see you over here, Floyd. I have to say I saw that one coming! Only because I have been in those “shoes” too many times before. Great story and some good truths here! Blessings, Rachael

  4. Funny how you were talking about being smitten with possessions, but I was stuck on your sentence, “Little things and first time occasions are unparalleled in life.” I was thinking how great God is to give us both the thrill of little things and first-time occasions AND the joy and tenderness of traditions when we repeat those times in our lives. I’ll bet your second pair…all the way to your most current pair of boots brought smiles and have stories, too.

    • I’ve worn some boots that I’d never want to retrace the steps of in anyone’s lifetime… but I do have stories and memories of good things and great things, redemption seems to be the recurring theme. Now you have me thinking of all those wonderful traditions, Voni! And the stories continue! Thanks, Voni.

  5. I hope the glory to God is in the truths of love exchanged in encouragement. It’s not one person going on and on, it is one person at a time stopping by to encourage and be encouraged, that is our gifts. I hear you, brother, I’ve checked my heart. You know I’m the first one to admit my shortcomings, but I don’t think there is a wrong heart here. In many cases it’s out of respect and love for the hostess. You know how to contact me if you’d like to discuss further. I do respect and thank you for your honest input, Doug.

  6. What a great reminder, Floyd! It can be difficult to remember to focus more on the eternal than the “new shiny boots” or non-eternal stuff. I really liked your powerful statement: “Taking our focus off the important issues in life always leads to a dead end or disaster.” So true!

    • We tend to get like fish looking at shiny lures and being sucked in by the promise of something that can deliver the exact opposite. I think I’ll where flip flops the next time we meet… Thanks, Dan.

  7. Floyd are you ready now for the cuff across the back of the head (your readers also)? You have admonished against covetousness. Fine. You have used a colourful little reminiscence (well written). The accolades in short bursts continue to cascade in. Where is the glory to Jesus in this flow. Let’s get on with another. I do like the fact that you filled in for a sister in the faith. There should be more “trespass/trust” like that onto another’s territory. Remember now Man, I love you in the Lord. Previous exchanges have confirmed kinship in heartbeat.

  8. As always you start with a descriptive picture that leads into laughter and then ends some serious picture of life. Our 2 year old grandson loves guns and he will use anything to pretend he has one. Love the car also, seen a few of those old ones in San Francisco this past weekend. Great post.

    • I might be becoming to predictable! Little ones know how to have fun! Even if it gets painful sometimes. I love those old cars too, Betty. We carry those cherished memories with us, we should carry some of that joy as well. Now you have me thinking… dangerous! Thanks, Betty.

  9. Floyd – Great post! My husband & I talk about this often. We call it, “Big picture/little picture” and how often times we can see what’s in front of us materially without stepping back to look at God’s full picture! Thanks for sharing your boyhood memories & excellent word pictures of what we all struggle with at times. ~ Jen from UNITE

    • I like that. “Big picture/little picture.” I think all of tend to see the little things far more often than we should and sometimes the reminders of the big picture can be uncomfortable but always worth it to find our Father’s truth. Thanks, Jen.

  10. Floyd,
    Thank you for a peek into your childhood…those are adorable photos of you in your boots..yes, the pure joy of a little boy…and the parallel of how in Christ, what we find joy in shifts from things to Him and relationship with others…Thank you for reminding us to fix our eyes and hearts on Him 🙂 blessings to you 🙂 (Mia, praying you are feeling better…how is your son’s hand?)

  11. Love the juxtaposition of talking cowboy boots and guns with the pink background. That’s awesome! 🙂 Youthful exuberance is a beautiful things, even for the gifts we’ve been given, but if they lead away from the giver (or Giver) they become traps to us. Very important lesson for sure! Thank you, Floyd (and Mia).

  12. Great job, Floyd. What a nice car; and those boots…they make my heart ache for my horses to saddle up and ride through God’s beautiful countryside. Just like with horses and riding, when you take your focus of God, disaster can sneak up on you. And it is around every corner. Blessings to you and Mia.

    • I here you! The last horse I rode ended the ride without me! He left me flat on my back in the desert dust… The painful lessons can be the easiest way to learn sometimes… at least for some of us! Thanks, Kim. I like that analogy.

  13. Isn’t it amazing how things like old cars can evoke such emotional memories? What a blessing to have an uncle and aunt to show you the true meaning of love in action. Good point about looking toward the things we don’t have. I think we’re all a bit guilty of that tendency as well. I’m praying for you, Betty Jo. Thanks for sharing, sister.

  14. Oh Floyd, this is the best! My mother’s heart kicked in as I read, and I could see myself running out to the old Buick tank, picking up my little boy with the blood on his boots, trying to make him feel better. When I was a very little girl my aunt and uncle picked me up every Sunday morning, and took me to church with them; you guessed it, in a Buick. They were the only ones in the family with money, and that Buick was a sign of “having made it” back then.

    Your analysis here is wonderful, although “being smitten by possessions” hasn’t been the thing that diverts my eyes from Jesus, as much as, chronic illness. Sometimes, it’s what we don’t have, that causes us to lose sight of the big picture and eventual destination. And I needed that reminder today; big time!

    Thanks Mia for having Floyd post on your wonderful blog, and I pray you are feeling better today.

    • My dearest Friend
      It breaks my heart to read your words about chronic illness having the ability to take our eyes of Jesus! It does, sweet one, but remember, even when we are unfaithful, He never acts out of His loving character, He hates “divorce” and is always faithful!!
      Much love to you XX
      Mia

  15. This is pure truth: “Being too smitten by possessions in our world tends to make us watch and consider how we look instead of where we’re going.” Thanks for the reminder, Floyd!

  16. No, I ran full speed into a parked car… I mean those old Buick’s only took up a half a block! The last sentence gets cut off on mobil devices where I reveal the lack of my relation to Einstein! Full speed and crashing… That should have been a sign of things to come!

    You’re right, we are called to be on guard, but that guard isn’t stressful, He is the only peace and joy we can achieve and it never has to do with circumstances. Nice to meet you too, Ceil. Thank you.

  17. Hi Floyd! Nice to meet you today. Did you get hit by that car?? I didn’t quite understand the last part of the past. But I did understand that you got distracted, and who can’t relate to that? We all have to be ‘on our game’ to keep watch around us, and to keep our eyes on the Lord too.

    Thank you for your post today! Thank you Mia 🙂 I hope you are feeling better soon.
    Ceil

  18. Yeah, I’m married to a *cowboy* – and he loves his boots, too. But, you’re so right, Floyd – it’s all about our heavenly treasure. It’s the only possession, and the only inheritance that will last for eternity!

    GOD BLESS!

    • Amen. What we carry within is all we’re taking with us… I won’t miss the aches and pains from not paying attention while stumbling around down here!

  19. Love the story and pictures, Floyd, and the words of wisdeom. I still remember how much my own boys liked their little cowboy boots. One of my fond memories is playing cowboys and Indians as a 20 year old camp counselor at a high mountain lake in the Asboraka/Beartooth mountains with my high school campers , hiding behind big rocks and sneaking around the lake with our “stick” guns- even at that age the kids all enjoyed it.

    • It just dawned on me why Paintball is so popular! I never thought about it from that perspective. We get older but we’re still just the younger versions of ourselves. This is a good reminder to enjoy what we have when we do, we tend to get distracted from the things that are the real treasures in this life. Great point, Barb! Thanks.

  20. Why or why do we let possessions possess us so, Floyd? It’s understandable when we are kids or teens, but even as an adult, I find this slippery slope tripping up more times than I like to admit. So are you saying you almost got hit by a car that excited night? If so, I’m so glad God protected you and you are here today to share this lovely look back and wise challenge to all of us, my friend. Hugs to you too, Mia, for hosting Floyd today. I’m not aware of his blog, so I’ll have to check it out!

    • You’re not alone, sister! With all the lessons and wisdom gained, we are still, (as the song says), prone to wander. The flesh is indeed weak. Running into a parked car is proof! The last line of the post just under the picture of the Buick gets cut off on phones, but that’s where I reveal my truly lacking flesh, by running full speed into a parked car while admiring my new boots… The scary thing is that this incident wasn’t the last one by a long shot! Thank you, sister.

  21. Happy to see Floyd here! He’s one of my favorite bloggers, making me laugh too as well as making me think (and occasionally cry). He’s making me ask myself here about what possession may be taking my eyes away from looking upward….

    • I had a feeling our paths might cross over in this neck of the woods! It’s always a treat when they do… The senses can really leave us blinded to the truth can’t they? It’s good to have the chosen of our Father remind us of His truths. Like what being really smart means! Good one, Lisa. Thanks for the reminder.

  22. I remember having a new pair suede saddle shoes from the Buster Brown store. I don’t think I’ve ever run so fast then, or now. I loved all the pictures in this post, really took me back! Several good reminders of all the things I can raise up as idols, it’s so easy to do when the leather gets soft and broken in just the way I like it….

    • Well that brings back memories! Buster Brown… That brings back memories of being called “buster,” but not in a good way! The idols pop up in anything… the enemy is crafty… even when we get too comfortable. Wise words, Audra. Thanks.

  23. What a fun post, Floyd, and it takes us round to a valuable lesson. And I love those pictures! Pure delight. Thanks, Mia, for inviting Floyd by and delighting us today!

  24. A great word and reminder Floyd, thank you for sharing it. It’s so easy to get carried away by our “new shiny boots”! I am learning how much i need God, to help me stay on the straight and narrow. I thought I only needed Him to get me TO something e.g a dream or accomplishment. And from there I’d be all good. Still learning how I need him more, once I get what I want. Great word. Thank you for hosting Mia!

    • Thanks, Ngina. There really is only one destination for us. The rest is part of the journey and picking up those who He calls us to on the way… and the shoes we’re wearing just don’t mean that much… Good reminder. Thanks.

  25. Wonderful post! So funny to me to see the old Buick as I was prompted to write my post after thinking back on my dad’s Chevy Impala 🙂 Those old cars had us thinking today & I am so glad that they did!

    • Isn’t it amazing how we can be taken back to a time and a story that we carry with us that continues to help shape our world? What a gift from God. “The beginning of wisdom.” My youngest daughter who will be sixteen in less than a year told me yesterday, “I want a 67′ Chevy Impala, dad.” I don’t even think she’s ever seen one… No coincidences! Gotta check out your post, thanks, Joanne.

  26. Well done my friend. i can picture right now the little boy running through the night and POW! right into the car. Glad I have never done that with my bike. (Ahem!). Good point also Floyd. I have yet to learn after all these years that I need to keep my eyes where they belong.

    • We’ll have to swap stories about biking accidents! Thanks for leading the call to keep our eyes on the Prize, Bill. I’m following… with my eyes open!

  27. Well said; “Being too smitten by possessions in our world tends to make us watch and consider how we look instead of where we’re going.” Love that! It’s true that we shouldn’t spend too much of our lives worrying about fancy treasures here on earth; we need to think beyond accumulating wealth for earthly security, and focus more on using what He has given to us to help benefit others so that we don’t enter eternity empty handed! Our true treasure is in Heaven. 🙂 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!
    Denise

    • Nice, Denise. I like the way you put that, “So we don’t enter eternity empty handed.” Excellent visual! Nothing materialistically can be taken with us, but the things of the most value we carry within. Good wisdom, sister. As Bill would say, “That’ll preach!”

    • Thanks, Hazel. The bruises and blood is gone, but not the memory! Funny how we can laugh at something that brought so much pain with time. Wisdom is a gift, regardless of how we get it. We have love in His redemption. I’m with you on the focus, Hazel! And thanks for helping me to see the way, sister!

  28. Such and important word that we should always focus our attention on God and off of the world or possessions. The more we focus on what God wants from us the more we will realize what our true passions are. We should die to ourselves everyday and take up the cross and walk with it in his name. How many of us are willing to die to ourselves, our flesh, our pride daily?

    • Wise words, Lincoln. The purest of passion is doing the will of our Father. Good call! He is the author of true passion and He pours it out on us, and too often we’re not paying close enough attention. We tend to worship the provision instead of the Provider. Good word. Thanks, Lincoln.

    • Those boys will bring a smile to your face and heart. Makes me smile imagining it. It is fun. What a gift we have. It’s the little things isn’t it? Thanks, Sharon.

  29. Is that really a pic of you, FLoyd, as a little boy? I bet you were something else in those boots. I remember when I wore my first pair of nylons. I could swear that everyone was looking at me! =] But you’re right about where our focus should be. I love the words to that hymn…….”Turn your eyes upon Jesus,” and when we do, the world really does grow dim doesn’t it?!
    Thanks for a neat post.
    Lynn

    • No that’s not me, I wasn’t nearly that cute! But I was called “something else” more than once and worse! The world really does grow dim. I like that. It really gets put into the right perspective… our senses tend to draw us away from Truth. Thanks, Lynn.

  30. One might infer from your story’s tone that the possessive side-track is an issue with little men only. Not so; it only gets worse! To have the exclusive handle on it…oh YES. Clothes, cars, trips, esteem, the best score, information. The sorry list goes on and on and it flies in the face of the New Testament’s idea of liberality. Remember the movie “Schindler’s List” and his ultimate grief over the purchase of trinkets at the cost of lives (and souls).

    • I think it effects all of us in our modern society. The items vary, but the tendency is the same. Great call on Schindler’s List. “Only what’s done for Christ will last.” That should help us to keep a heavenly perspective. Good call. Thanks!

  31. What a treat! To see both of you. I’m chuckling big time, Floyd. And like this. So very true with what we deal with in our present-day everyday world. Focusing on the LORD and His call for us is the important part. Focusing on everything we want, everything we might get is a bit [LOTS] less important.

    I also chuckled when the title hit me. I didn’t even think that you, Mia, would have ever hear that song fro WAY BACK THEN. When I saw you, Floyd, I just knew it was something that could fit right in. Still chuckling. BUT still understand the reality of life as you shared.

    Thanks much.

    • Glad to give you a chuckle, sister! This is one of those things that we can all relate to… with regret! May we all focus on the path and the things that our Father leads us to and through. Always great to hear from you, Joanne. God bless you and Dave.

  32. I think you did an amazing job, Andre! You may need to give me lessons, brother! Thank you Andre, and a humble thank you to you, Mia, for letting me be small part of your ministry. I’m truly honored. May God bless the entire De Vries family and continue to use all of you in a mighty way.

  33. Hi Floyd

    Did I have fun looking for the pics of the cowboy boots and the ’58 Buick! Thanks for helping out with such a word of truth. Blessings my brother.

Leave a Reply

