The Feisty Philistines

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

He did this to teach warfare to the generations of Israelites who had no experience in battle. These are the nations: the Philistines (those living under the five Philistine rulers)… (Judges 3:3a, NLT).

All in all you’re just another brick in the wall
Just another blunder
Just another lousy call (Pink Floyd, The Wall)

A Brick in The Wall

image

In 1979 the rock band, Pink Floyd, released a rock opera, The Wall. It was a huge success and made the top of the charts worldwide.

The opera was written by the group’s bassist, Roger Waters, and was a protest against rigid schooling in general and the boarding school system in the United Kingdom in particular.

image

The Apartheid Regime in South Africa banned the whole album in 1980 and no radio station was allowed to play the song, Another Brick In The Wall. Supporters of a nationwide school boycott adopted this song in their protest against racial inequalities in education.

But this didn’t stop us young, teenage South Africans from the late seventies to listen to this album and to come to our own conclusions about the message of the song and the inequality in the education system.

image

The problems this album was addressing were actually much wider and much more serious than we would like to admit, for the whole world is lost in darkness and chaos and is under the control of the evil one (1 John 5:19).

I have often been overwhelmed by my finite smallness in comparison with a big, wide world. The only solution Satan offers for lost humanity, is to deceive us into thinking we can decide for ourselves what good and evil are.

image

As a result, we came up with “human rights” which have been a total failure world-wide, for man is totally addicted to power.

Too often the rights of a single individual is denied for the greater good of a group. No wonder the “unimportant, forgotten ones” feel like nothing more than bricks in the wall the rich and powerful are building on a very shaky foundation of human rights.

image

We have fallen prey to an enemy we do not even recognize, but who nevertheless has been with humanity since the beginning of time and with the Israelites in particular after they entered the Promised Land … the Philistines.

But man has not been created to have rights; we have been created with the need to be loved by our Creator, to love Him in return and also love one another.

Any right we think we have apart from the love of our Pappa will only result in another form of power struggle and puts the emphasis on the idol called “self”.

image

The name, Philistine, means, “wallowing in self” and according to Wordweb, “wallow” means, “to indulge in to an immoderate degree or to give oneself over to”.

The Philistines were an aggresive tribal group living in the south-east of Canaan and were Israel’s most formidable, feisty enemy and they battled against them even in the time of King David.

image

We all know the story of Samson and Delilah and how he eventually, after being their prisoner for a long time, killed many of them at a feast in their temple. Who can ever forget how valiantly David as a shepherd boy killed their giant, Goliath.

Please allow me to suggest that the five lords that were ruling these formidable enemies, represent five aspects of the self-life!

We get General Self-Pity with a whole bunch of troops below him like Privates Self-Loathing, Shame, Rejection, Despair, etc., etc.

image

Another high official in the Philistine army, is Colonel Self-Depreciation with his own bunch of underlings called Captain Self-Condemnation and Corporal Worthlessness.

Not to mention Major Self-Importance with his subordinates, Sergeants Boastful, Braggart and Windbag. Last, but not the least, we get Sergeant Major Self-Indulgence and the millitary attaché, Captain Self-Pleasure

image

We all have our own bunch of stinking Philistines in our hearts in all their different, delicious forms and flavors. They were not only a great formidable foe in the time of the Israelites in Canaan, but are still today.

It has never been easy to defeat them and they have the nasty habit to pop up again and again. I know I have to be on the look-out for especially those nasty critters, Rejection, Shame, Self-pity and their whole enchilada.

Someone else  may not have a problem with my enemies, but may have another bunch of Philistines to battle e.g.  that sly fox called Arrogance and his sister, Pride.

image

Only last week I was in a fierce battle against the Philistine army of Discouragement, Hopelessness and Self-pity when my illness almost overwhelmed me and I felt locked up  in the dark dungeon of despair.

I knew I was totally helpless, but for a day of two, I still valiantly tried to overcome the enemy with what I thought the grace of my Pappa. But without any success. My enemy was ready for serious combat and I was so weak.

image

I battled until I remembered that I was trusting my own skill, albeit empowered by grace. Only as I felt the hyena sinking his mighty teeth into my flesh, did I remember to turn around and run to our Lord Jesus.

When we have to battle this enemy in our hearts, let us not be foolish and think that we can defeat them on our own, for we simply cannot.

Let us submit to our Commander-in-Chief and resist this mangy pack of hyenas. These spiritual enemies can only be defeated by the sweet Holy Spirit.

image

Let us remember His words, “Do not be afraid! Don’t be discouraged by this mighty army, for the battle is not yours, but God’s” (2 Chronicles 20:15). Let us run to Jesus and Him alone, for He is our Conqueror.

Much love and sweet blessings.

Mia.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

44 thoughts on “The Feisty Philistines

  1. Pingback: Saturday Shortcuts | Planned Peasanthood

  2. I’m so sorry for that season of discouragement, Mia, but so grateful for the ways God lifts us up out of that pit of despair. Such beautiful truth herein.

    • Hi Laura
      The pit is not always a bad place for it teaches us to depend on our Lord more and more every time we go back there for a visit!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  3. what a good take on “rights”- a subject that has been on my mind lately. Thank you Mia for returning and linking up at Thrilling Thursday! It was nice to see you back again and thank you for sharing your own thrills from over the time I was away!

    • Dear Ren
      Our Pappa didn’t create us with the capacity to decide what is good or evil for that matter, but He definitely created us with a desperate need to be loved and accepted by Him. If we do not come to Jesus and receive His love, we will forever be occupied with useless rules and regulations.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  4. Love your analogy of our struggles bein like the Philistine army! You’re right about them popping back up, and I wish they didn’t seem so “delicious” at the time. So thankful for the sweet Holy Spirit to pull us up out of our muck!!

    • Dear Eva
      Oh, they do seem so incredibly delicious and if we are not careful, we soon make an agreement with the enemy!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

    • Hi Nancy
      Yes, I never could understand why this album was banned in my country in the first place. It actually makes one listen and take notice much more to find out what the big noise is actually about.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  5. Dear Mia,
    Thank you for once again using your own struggle with fibro pain to point us back to God, and our dependence on Him alone…I didn’t know that Philistine meant “wallowing in self” …it always comes down to “self” vs. surrender to God, His love & His ways..Praying today that you are feeling better and God continues to uphold you.Love to you…thankful for you 🙂

    • Hi sweet Dolly
      You have nailed it, my friend! Surrendering to our Pappa or trusting our own, non-existent power. Even what we think of as our power, is also His creation.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  6. This is my constant struggle–trying to rely on Christ’s power instead of my own, Mia. Thanks for how you’ve unfolded these truths through the metaphor of the Philistines and that more modern-day attitude of “human rights.” It seems inevitable that man can twist something that was meant for good. But like you, I’m still running to the One who can protect me and rid me of these sins and failures. He is worth of praise! Thanks so much for linking this up at Wedded Wed, my friend! Blessings to you!

    • Dear Beth
      Just the realization that we need to battle this enemy who tells us that we can overcome in our own strength, shows us that the Philistines is quite a sly, deceptive foe. Yes, to Jesus we will run, always and forever.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  7. Hi Mia, such a great post. I never knew that Philistine meant wallowing in self! Seriously? I always think of them as mighty and strong, although wrong, lol! Now I can see them for what they are! Self-absorbed, self-destructive and of no consequence to our mighty and powerful Father God.
    Loved reading this.
    God bless
    Tracy

    • Dear Tracy
      Oh, I think that enemy called Self is quite a strong and mighty foe! But we know that greater is our Lord who is in us than he who is in the world!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  8. Powerful post, Mia! I appreciate your descriptive words to name the enemy of our hearts that we all battle. You really hit on something referring to the ones who believe they can decide what is good and what is evil. The enemy slyly makes us believe we are “as gods.” Of course if we can’t make or save our own lives with our words and power we are not god. There is only One God and He is our Father that delivers us from the jaws of spiritual death! Encouraging post!

    • Dear Floyd
      It amazes me how we can think in the first place that we can even remotely save ourselves! It is actually a great act of love when our Pappa bursts that egocentric bubble.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  9. The enemy of our soul comes to us as a defeated enemy and we need to remind him of that. Even when pain rails our body we can shout you are already defeated for someday I will leave this frail body behind and take on a new eternally healthy one. Very good post Mia.

    • Hi Betty
      This is so true! Like Paul said; the suffering of this world which is just for a short time, is nothing in comparison to the joy of eternity with our Pappa!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  10. Mia, such an interesting examination of the sin of the Philistines. I never knew that Philistine meant wallowing in self. Interesting what you say, too, about our rights and our fight. I am so sorry for your pain, friend, and am amazed at how you continually grow in your dependence on Him from that place of need. Bless you, sister.

    • Hi dear Ashley
      Yes, we do have a lot of enemies. I am so thankful that we can just submit to our Lord Jesus, resist the enemy and know that he will flee from us for greater is He who is in us than he who is in the world!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  11. Good Morning Mia,

    I am so rich when I finish reading your post. You remind us that nothing is greater for us than the love of the Father – may that truth be fire in our bones.

    Be healed in Jesus Name for His glory and your blessing,

    Pat Orr

    • Dear Pat
      Yes, our Pappa’s love is beyond anything this world offers! Actually, it is our lives. Thanks for all your visits and all your kindness. I truly appreciate it.
      Bless you, dear friend XX
      Mia

  12. This is so thought provoking…I love your perspective and the reminder to examine my heart. Great post, friend! Happy Tuesday to you! 🙂

  13. Mia – This was such a great post. This morning it made me sit in the quiet & ask The Lord to reveal things hidden in my own heart. So true that it is a battle that wages itself against us. But He is faithful to strengthen us. Thank you so much for this post!
    Blessings,
    Joanne

    • Dear Joanne
      Oh, I firmly believe that our gentle Pappa deals with our enemies one a a time for He remembers that we are just dust!
      Blessings and love XX
      Mia

    • Hi Barbara
      We can try to pull the wool over our eyes, but that doesn’t change the truth! Rather deal with it face on in the first place, don’t you think.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  14. Hi Mia,
    Self-preservation is first and foremost the antithesis to relying on God for your needs. Self-reliance will cause us to put our needs first and God’s will second. God’s expectations are that we work the work of Him who called us unto salvation first, and then to rely on God to supply our every need after that. “But my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19).

    Praying for you sweet sister; you are such a faithful and trusting blessing to us all!
    Denise

    • Hi Denise
      Yes, you are so right! That slave master called Self, doesn’t die easily! Thanks for your kind comment.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  15. Yep, I have a few Philistines rearing their ugly heads today! But I am naming my enemies and God will get the glory in this!

    • Dear Rachel
      That is all we can do, my friend; submit to our Pappa and resist the evil one. Only He is able to fight these foes.
      Blessings and love XX
      Mia

  16. Thank you for sharing at “Tell Me a Story” These old enemies do catch us off guard at times, and poor me is usually hiding there too. May God grant you strength for each day and bless your writing as he is doing.

  17. Hi Mia! I really feel for you with your fibromyalgia, my sister deals with the same disease. How beautiful that you see it leading you to the Father. I can only say that you will be in my prayers, as you deal with discouragement…I think that is the enemy’s favorite tactic.

    You have been so supportive of me on my blog, and made such lovely comments. I would love to join your blog, but I can’t see any tool to do that? I am new to blogging, so I’m afraid I’m not very savvy about this. If you would like to tell me how, I’d love to learn more about you!

    • Hi Ceil
      Thank you, dear one! It is so refreshing to find someone that knows what this illness is about! Thanks for your encouraging words. Ceil, just look at the right bottom corner for a follow button.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  18. “This is a spiritual enemy that can only be defeated by the sweet Holy Spirit.” Yes; trusting in our own abilities – leaning on our own understanding – lands us flat on our butts far too often. Good post, Mia! I trust – from this post – that God has answered your prayer. 🙂

    • Hi Rick
      Oh yes, dear friend, it is only after we have landed several times on our butts that we learn, don’t you think!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

