The Giants Of Canaan

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

We entered the land you sent us to explore, and it is indeed a bountiful country – a land filled with milk and honey. Here is the fruit it produces. But the people living there are powerful, and their towns are large and fortified. We even saw the giants there, the descendants of Anak (Numbers 13:27-29, NLT)”.

The Land of Milk and Honey

image

In 2010 Muse Entertainment released a television miniseries of 8 episodes, Pillars Of The Earth. It is based on one of my all time favorite books by Ken Follet.

The story is set in England in the 12th century during the reign of King Stephen and his anarchy. Tom Builder was a master builder and the whole story centers around the cathedral he built in the small village of King’s Bridge.

image

But there is one character that makes one’s hair stand on end; the fearsome and powerful Bishop Waleran Bigod. He was a corrupt cleric who committed great atrocities in his greed for power and lust to become the Archbishop of Canterbury.

His office as bishop granted him the trust of many illiterate common folk. He ruthlessly traded their trust, killed many innocent people to satisfy that insatiable power-hungry leech in his heart.

This guy traded in religion for his own monstrous gain as did the Canaanites at the time when the Israelites entered the Promised Land; just like so many still do today in the name of our sweet Lord Jesus.

The Canaanites were a group of people who lived in Canaan long  before Israel’s exodus from Egypt. The name Canaanite means “merchant” or “trafficker” and speaks of the enemies we still encounter daily in our walk with Jesus.

imageAs long as there were good trading opportunities and good profit, the Canaanites lived happily in the Promised Land and they were not eradicated in one day. Oh no, they were an enemy to be reckoned with!

When I look at current Christianity all over the world, it saddens me to see a lot of Canaanites still in our midst. The world is filled with religious merchants and traffickers trading in the souls of men (Revelation 18:13).

As long as there are souls for sale these merchants will grow rich from the commodity called religion. They are peddlers of promises of the Land of Milk and Honey and great relationships where broken hearts will instantly be healed.

image

Their lies spin deceptive, deadly webs that consume the ignorant like deadly, man-eating spiders and they treat our Heavenly Father much like a genie in a bottle or even a fairy godmother with a magic wand.

I am not innocent for I gladly used to rub shoulders with blab-it-and-grab-it-prophets. I proudly moved in the self-centered Prayer of Jabez circles, convinced that if this prayer worked for Jabez, it had to work for me too. These examples are but the tip of the iceberg, but enough to get my point across.

The only problem was that no amount of repetitive prayer like a mantra or naming-and-claiming Bible promises could move our Pappa’s hand to bless me with health and a restored relationship.I didn’t know then that I was involved in a great battle against the greedy Canaanites.

image

I have to admit that I was losing my long battle with the cunning Canaanites in my own heart. I was first and foremost concerned with the profit I could gain from being a Christian, especially healing from my debilitating chronic disease.

What I considered to be our Pappa’s hand of anger upon me, was actually His patient love bringing me to the point where I had nothing to hold onto or live for in this life. It was there, sitting in the ashes like Job, where I experienced great anguish about my life.

image

But it was also there at the end of myself , that I was able to hear that still, small voice beckoning and asking me all those difficult questions of life. All those questions that no amount of earthly, demonic wisdom could answer.

It was there that I had to cry out like Job, “You asked, ‘Who is this that questions My wisdom with such ignorance? It is I – and I was talking about things I knew nothing about, things far too wonderful to me’ (Job 41:3)”.

It was there in the proverbial pit, utterly defeated, that I gladly handed the reigns of my life over to our Lord Jesus. It was there that I asked Him to go before me and rid my heart of the  Canaanites.

image

It was there that I realized that I only heard about God before, but now “saw”  Him with my own eyes.

Much love and sweet blessings.

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

54 thoughts on “The Giants Of Canaan

  1. You are truly a gifted writer, Mia! I am always blessed to come visit and will become your most recent follower. Thank you so much for finding us and linking up with us at One Sharendipity Place each week!
    sue @ TheT2Women.com

    • Dear Sue
      Oh, I love your linky every Saturday! There is just something for everyone. I think it was last week that I got the most delicious peach ice cream recipe at your linky. Thank you for your kind and encouraging comment. Much appreciated.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  2. Oh Mia, you have done it again 😉 Hit the proverbial “nail on the head”. I wrote a post entitled, “He Heals Me, He Heals Me Not”, not near as elegantly as you have put it here, but the message is somewhat the same: so many voices out there trying to tell us why we are not healed. It is our fault, we don’t have enough faith, we must have sin in our life, it isn’t time yet, on and on and on it goes. I have come to discover it isn’t that way at all! And God’s Word spells it out for me very clearly! I am so thankful that whatever season in life I find myself HE IS THERE. And He never leaves me! Even in my “valley experiences”, my Savior is making me stronger and, more importantly, CLOSER to Him, and hopefully, more like Him.

    Thank you for another beautiful post!

    • Dear Nannette
      Our Lord has made provision for a new body one day when we are home with Him that will never be sick again. So, He has are complete provision for our salvation, but people keep on clinging onto this world and believe that we are supposed to experience heaven here on earth. But Jesus told us that He refines us through suffering!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  3. For some reason, your link did not work on my blog, it brought me over to your blog to an error page. But since you named the post I was able to find it on the sidebar of your blog, so no problem!

    Don’t we have a loving God who meets us right where we are? And yet how casually we can treat this almighty God, like an ATM or genie in the bottle, as you said. How loving and forgiving He is!

    I have not seen the series nor read the book. But your post made me think of a friend of mine. She is blind and she hates riding public transit because she told me that Christians are always trying to heal her.

    She keeps telling them that she wishes they would spend their time ministering to those who are hurting or who don’t know Jesus on the bus, instead. She would rather the other bus rider’s hurts and souls be healed by Jesus and their lives turned over to the Healer, rather than have these people spending their time trying to heal HER eyes, when she has every confidence that God could do it if He so willed. At least, this is how she feels about it all.

    Thanks so much for being so transparent today and for linking up to Making Your Home Sing Monday!

    • Dear Nan
      Oh, how my heart breaks for your friend; not because of the blindness, but because of how she is treated on the bus! I have come to the conclusion that it is much easier to make a big show of praying for healing and so forth and then to pat yourself on the back, than carrying one another’s burdens like our Lord asked us to do.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  4. I have been reading through Job the last week or two. I love how at the end of the book God comes through for Job as He does for you and me.

    Thanks for linking up over at WholeHearted Wednesdays this week. Have a blessed weekend, my sweet friend.

    • Dear Judith
      Yes, we might throw terrible tantrums when life treats us unfairly. Job even thought that God was not fair towards him, but even then, our Pappa rescues us from our stupidity with such gentleness and patience.
      Much love XX
      Mia

    • Dear sweet Emily
      My heart weeps too, my friend! But Jesus warned us that many anti-christ spirits will arise from our own midst. We tend to forget that anything we trust instead of Jesus, no matter how religious or good, is such a spirit!
      Much love and paying for you!
      Mia

  5. yes!!! ” such were some of you…”(1 cor 6:11) has been my mantra of late!
    i love this post dear one! LOVE IT! aren’t you glad that He rescued you deep?!

    • Dear Shannon
      Oh, my friend, I cannot thank our Lord enough for His gift of Fm/CFS. He used this to lead me out of terrible deceptions in His name doing the rounds!
      Blessings x
      Mia

  6. Sometimes he has to slay us to get our attention. Job is one of my favorite books! I can’t say that my life resembles his but for some reason my heart and soul resonate so much with him. Blessings to you, Mia. Thanks again for sharing a part of your story. It is always a blessings!

    • Hi Rachel
      Yes, the book of Job shows us how our Pappa refines us through suffering! We might see it as punishment and something evil, but He sees it only as a fractal that is part of the greater picture of beauty He is creating in our lives.
      Much love, dear friend XX
      Mia

  7. I love that verse from Job that you ended with, Mia. It’s one of my all-time favorites. And yes, there are a lot of people who want to profit off of Christian promises and so-called miracles. It also reminds me of the Simon the Sorcerer who tried to buy the gifts God had given Paul and the apostles. I’m so glad you were able to come out from among them and grab hold of God’s truth. And you gladly share it here for all of us, so we’ll remember to watch for the “wolves in sheep’s clothing.” Thanks for linking this up with Wedded Wed. Always thought provoking, my friend!

    • Dear Beth
      Great example, the one of Simon the Sorcerer. I am also so grateful that our Pappa knew that to heal me of Fm/CFS would have been the worst thing to do in my case. I might just have become more entrenched in the health and prosperity gospel.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  8. I love that verse in Job, “-I repent in ashes..” To truly know the love of our Father is to revere Him with our soul because all that He knows and Is, is too wonderful for me to know. May He open the eyes of the Canaanites descendants…

    • Hi Floyd
      I often get overwhelmed when I think of our Pappa’s glory, power and majesty. But then it is as if a gentle breeze blows in my heart, reminding me that He is first and foremost LOVE. Incredible, don’t you think!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  9. Dear Mia,
    Thank you for showing us through your beautiful story and writing how God has redeemed you and saved you …Thank you for pointing to His great love for you and yours for Him even as you struggle with a chronic illness…Praising God for all He has done in your life and for how you are blessing others through your story…Love and hugs to you 🙂

    • Dear Dolly
      Your words are so encouraging and like balm to my heart, dear friend! What a privilege to encourage others with the same encouragement we have received from our Pappa!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  10. It’s so hard for us to hand over that last bit of self. I hand it over at times, then grab it back, but I don’t want to do that. I want to trust him with everything, all the time, all of me to all of him. Thanks for your encouragement, Mia!

    • Hi Lisa
      What helped me a lot when I battled to hand my children over to God, was something of A.W.Tozer. He said that the things we hand over to our Pappa for safekeeping will be safe for eternity, but the things we cling unto will ever truly be safe.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  11. Mia, I am so glad to be able to read your post. One day we will be able to share face to face with the saints that have so blessed us in this life.

    To God be the glory,

    Pat Orr

    • Hi Patricia
      Oh yes, and what a great and joyful day that is going to be! Thanks for always being so encouraging.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  12. Powerful post! I, too, have been caught up in the Prayer of Jabez – praying more for blessing than enlarging my borders (or growing venues of service to be fruitful).

    • Hi Jerralea
      Oh, why do we allow ourselves to be deceived so many times! We can only ask our Pappa to help us to be discerning.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  13. Wonderful post Mia with awesome visuals. Amen to this line especially, and I so relate: It was there in the proverbial pit, utterly defeated, that I gladly handed the reigns of my life over to our Lord Jesus. It was there that I asked Him to go before me and rid my heart of the Canaanites.

    • Dear Jacque
      Yes, we can be such a bunch of pit dwellers or even pity party participants, don’t you think! I am so grateful for His unending love and patience.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  14. Thank you sweet Mia for pouring out your heart here at “Tell Me a Story.” There are many who take a scripture – – and run with it for their own gain. When God gives YOU a scripture, then it is yours. Never rule out a miracle for our God is God of the impossible.

    • Dear Hazel
      Yes, He truly is a God of miracles. I have experienced so many that I sometimes feel guilty for all His goodness He bestows upon me!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  15. You write so well and with such raw honesty. I think I reread this several times to fully digest its wisdom. I agree with Beth’s comment. I would love to sit down with you in person someday and just chat. You bless me.

    • Dear Jean
      Coming from you, dear friend, your words bless me, thank you! I know from experience that we can actually only boast in our weaknesses like Paul said, for only then are we in the place where our Pappa can bless us with His strength.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  16. I love what you are writing – the history, the today – and the heart of your message(s) – “It was there in the proverbial pit, utterly defeated, that I gladly handed the reigns of my life over to our Lord Jesus” – I’ve been there. I don’t like being there – but sometimes I need to be there, with Him in order to come closer:) Blessings friend on such a rich message!

    • Yes, dear friend, we often fall in the pit because of our own stupidity! But like the best parent ever that He is, our Pappa patiently picks us up again when we call out to Him.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  17. The very first book I was lead to read after becoming a true follower of Jesus was Job. Of all books, why Job, people have asked? I think because I had spent my entire adult life angry with God because I thought He “let” my dad die. Those last chapters, when He speaks to Job, He spoke to me as well. Where was I in the beginning? I realized I never knew what I was talking about. And I had never seen God before. It was very humbling. Job is one of my favorite OT books.

    • Dear Micey
      I understand you so much better now that you have shared this with us about your life. I don’t think our Pappa minds our questions and tantrums. In fact, I think He patiently listens to us and then tells us that He is God and He does not need to explain Himself to us. Thanks for sharing, Micey.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  18. I love your heart, sweet friend…what He has done in your life is such an inspiration. Please keep sharing. 🙂 Blessings to you…have a beautiful day!

    • Dear Mel
      I am ALWAYS blessed by your visits, dear friend. Thank you for encouraging me. Our Pappa encourages so many through your beautiful heart!
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  19. Mia – It’s always so evident friend that you diligently seek the purity of His Word, His life…this Christian walk! May He bless you for your faithfulness, your honestness and earnestness..but most of all for the measure your share His truths with others that the world would know His name. – Jen at UNITE

    • Dear Jen
      Thank you so much for your kind words! I truly appreciate your encouragement. You know, dear Jen, when our hearts are full of Jesus, we cannot but talk and share the beauty and love of our God!
      Much love to you XX
      Mia

  20. Mia, I too suffer from a chronic illness and have questioned God and His sovereignty…I think we all do at times. I appreciate your honesty and writing from your heart! Just stopping by from Crystal’s link up and wanted to say blessings to you sister writer! Always, Bev

  21. …was blind, but now I see. What a glorious moment it must have been when you saw Him with your own eyes. Really loved this. You have such a beautiful heart, Mia.

  22. Hopped over feom Behind the Scenes. Such a real and honest post, Mia! I too first started seeking the Lord for my own selfish gain, at first my realizing my heart was attracted to a prosperity gospel found nowhere in Scripture. Thankful for a graceful Lord and Savior to open our eyes to the Truth!!

    • Hi Eva
      Yes, we can be so easily deceived if our Lord does not help us to be discerning! I am just as grateful that He opened our eyes.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

  23. Your words always draw me in Mia and make me wish I could sit with you and have you share more. I may have said this on your last post, but your words leave me wanting more of His word. You bless my friend.

  24. There is so much here, Mia. I’ve always wanted to read the book but have never gotten around to it. You re-ignite that interest. And such a good way to open my eyes to the Canaanites of today. yes, I’ve been there too. And how he made the scales fall from our eyes…it’s a beautiful story. A beautiful God.

    • Hi dear Laura
      That book is excellent and there is also a follow-up. I cannot wait to read that one! Yes, the enemies can be so subtle.
      Blessings XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

