The Shepherd from Heaven

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

He will feed his flock like a shepherd. He will carry His lambs in His arms, holding them close to His heart. He will gently lead the mother sheep with their young (Isaiah 40:11, NLT).

He Feeds Us

Today is the beginning of the International Fibromyalgia/ME Awareness Week. Although research is only in its infancy, we look forward to progress and perhaps a breakthrough in the near future.

image

Due to unbelief, many if not most sufferers, received very bad and hostile treatment from the medical profession.

But at least we are finally beginning to be acknowledged as human beings with a real and quite disabling disease.

Isaiah 40:11 reminds us so wonderfully of how well the good Shepherd from heaven takes care of mothers and their children.

He cares for the broken ones, the weak, the sick, the unimportant, the unwanted and the rejected of this world. They only need to come to Him.

image

When my son, Simon, was in Grade 11, we had to buy text books for Grade 12 when the Grade 12 pupils were selling their old books second-hand at a much lower price than new books.

I recall the week when we had to pay about R600 (around $67) for two text books as well as payment for the initiation camp for the following year’s Grade 12 learners.

It was in the middle of the month and we were stone, cold broke with only a few pennies we had to rub together in any case. Yet, I knew I had a Pappa who promised to take care of all our needs.

image

The morning the payment was due, we still had not received our Lord’s provision, but I assured my children that the money would be paid before the end of the day.

When they left for school, I had a serious talk with my God, reminding Him that today is D-day and we still were empty-handed (or rather empty pocketed).

He told me to go to the ATM, and of course I stubbornly had to argue a bit, for the previous day when I checked, I was taunted by a big, round zero. Oh, those trust issues!!!!

At the word of our Lord, in the famous Peter style with the fishing nets, reluctantly, off to the ATM I went.

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I found that double the amount we needed was paid back to us from the Receiver of Revenue. We were overjoyed and my children’s faith grew with leaps and bounds.

image

One would think that I was now cured of my stubbornness. Oh no, not this one. As a Fm/CFS sufferer, I had my fair share of unbelief, rejection and neglect from doctors, church people and also family and friends.

To such an extent that I landed up in the proverbial pig pen; not because of my foolishness, but because I had no one to care for me when I couldn’t take care of myself. Nobody believed that I was really ill.

But I was never alone. I could hear my Pappa screaming in my pain and suffering. Faithfully He was working in His normal mysterious ways to perform His wonders in my life.

image

The shepherds of ancient times would break the legs of the lambs that constantly wandered away.

Then he would set the leg and carry the lamb on his shoulder until the leg was healed. After that the lamb would remain by the shepherd’s side for the rest of its life.

Pappa knew of my stubborn propensities to be a master performer to earn everyone’s love and approval.

With my religious mindset, I just could not believe that I already was loved and accepted by our God.

Because of His amazing love, He did what the shepherds did with their stubborn, wandering lambs. Allowing Fm/ME in my life, He “broke” my legs.

With such tender care and love, He gently set it as well and carried me around His neck until I was healed of my stubbornness and insecurities.

I have learned how good it is when my Beloved Shepherd Himself feeds me with the milk of His love… His grace … His life and compassion.

image

Fm/CFS has taught me how to always walk with our Lord and never ever to leave His side again.

Even though we suffer greatly at times, I am so grateful for the wonder and joy of walking daily with our God … for the privilege of living in His Loving Embrace.

Love and sweet blessings

Mia

We all have experienced how our Lord has provided in miraculous ways. Please, share His goodness with us!
Linking-up with
image
image
image
image
image
image
34 thoughts on “The Shepherd from Heaven

  1. This was an amazing post!! The provision of the Lord in your time of need is faith building. Thanks for linking up with WholeHearted Home this past week. I hope you are doing well and having a blessed week.

    • Dear Judith
      Yes, even when our Pappa’s answer to a request is “no”, we know that He knows better than we do and He only allows that would be for our good for eternity!
      Much love
      Mia

  2. I’ve never heard that about the shepherds breaking the lambs’ leg. That is such a poignant illustration! And bless you, Mia, for raising awareness about your illness. You are such a blessing.

    • Dear Laura
      We don’t always see our Lord’s good when we are suffering, but it is the only way to save us from the flesh.
      Blessings
      Mia

  3. I’m sorry you suffer, but rejoice that you’ve learned to stay by the Master’s side. What a beautiful illustration of Christ’s love. Thank you, Mia.

    • Dear Nancy
      Our Pappa does teach us the best lessons only through suffering, don’t you think!
      Blessings
      Mia

  4. Mia, my fellow-Fibromite. Yes, He’s so good to teach us to praise, worship, and obey Him in the very midst of pain. Some of my most intimate moments with our Abba are in the midst of great pain… Glory to His name! Thank you for always sharing His heart with us.
    Blessings and love, my dear sister ~ Mary

    • Dear Mary
      This is so true!!!! Whenever I have much pain I draw deep into the life of our Lord Jesus and have great communion with Him. This brings so much praise to my heart.
      Much Love to you
      Mia

  5. Thanks for sharing your story of living by faith. Pappa is always right on time, isn’t He?

    Everything that happens to a believer is to bring about a desired result. We have to trust in Romans 8:28. I’m so glad you are seeing the goodness of God in spite of your fibromyalgia.

    God bless you, Mia!

    • Dear Jerralea
      oh, that is one of favorite Scripture verses. Yes, He is never too late with anything even the fire of suffering we need so much.
      Bless you
      Mia

  6. Mia,
    That was beautifully written. And I love the pictures – particularly the one with the dog feeding the lamb. May you continue to walk with Him and gain all your strength, wisdom, patience and understanding through Him.
    I am privileged to know you. Thanks for linking up at Wednesday’s Word.
    Blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

    • Dear Janis
      You are such a gracious hostess and it really is a pleasure to link-up at your place. One picture can tell a thousand words, don’t you think.
      blessings
      Mia

  7. I didn’t know they would break their legs. What a lesson and an insightful illustration. I wish you didn’t suffer so much, not only from your condition but how the medical professional treated you. how unfair that is for you. Yet your faith shines through in your words, photos and hope in God. you are really such a inspiration to me!

    • Dear Jean
      It brought so much comfort my heart when I realized that what our Lord allows in our lives is only for our good. Even the hurt from others He uses for our good when He teaches us the blessedness of forgiveness.
      blessings and love
      Mia

  8. Mia, I am so moved by your words here. You describe so vividly God’s provision (we had a very similar situation happen just yesterday) and his tenderness in breaking us. This can be so hard for me to understand, but I know it to be true. I am praying for you – that you would continue to find every need met in the arms of your Shepherd. Bless you, friend.

    • Dear Ashley
      Thanks my friend for your kind words. Yes, He takes us through the refiners fire of suffering, back in retrospect, it is all so worth it.
      bless you, dear Friend
      Mia

    • Hi Jennifer
      Thanks for your visit. Yes, our Pappa is so creative when it comes to supplying in all our needs..
      Much love
      Mia

  9. Mia, your story perfectly captures the spirit of this verse! I love how you’ve used your miracle of provision as well as the historical detail of the shepherds breaking their lambs’ legs in order to keep them near. What a great reminder that our Lord will go to any length to keep us safe and in his care! Thank you for linking up and for being a consistent voice in our community!

    • Dear Jane
      One thing that our Pappa has taught me in life is that our idea of goodness differs greatly from His. I just love the verse in Isaiah? where our Lord tells us that He refines us not the way silver and gold are refined, but He refined us in the fire of suffering.
      bless you
      Mia

  10. Those with pain who turn to the Lord are some of my greatest sources of encouragement. You are one of those friends, Mia. Thanks for sharing about your pain and how the Lord is faithfully walking with you in it.

    • Dear Lisa
      When we are at the end of ourselves with nowhere else to turn too, we are at a good place for then we learn to trust and rely on our Lord Jesus.
      blessings and love
      Mia

    • Hi Jenn, He certainly provides in all our needs; even the refiners fire of suffering we need very much to purify our hearts.
      blessings and love
      Mia

  11. To see what you gained in what you lost is wisdom that can only come from our Father. I’ve had so many broken things on the outside and surgeries to fix what I’d destroyed and finally this stubborn child is seeing at a deeper level the desires of our Father are from the inside… I ponder the many years I prayed for the things that can be seen much more than I did the most treasured of things that can’t be seen or measured by the best of mathematicians that resides in our souls… Great wisdom and post, sister. God bless.

    My sister too has Fm/CFS. I’ve witnessed the devastating effects. I’m praying for both of you.

    • Dear Floyd
      I am so sorry to hear that your sister also suffers from FM/CFS. Yes, my friend, our Pappa leaves no stone unturned to purify our hearts from all our greeds. He does say that He purifies us through the refiners fire of suffering.
      Much love
      Mia

  12. I can identify with your feeling of frustration and rejection when my RA flares and others do not really “see” the battle within my body too, Mia. But, like you’ve said, I really feel God using my chronic disease to teach me many things about Him–and especially to teach me to submit to Him. It is a blessing in disguise. I didn’t realize that Shepherds break the legs of the sheep that wander to teach them to stay close. That’s a great metaphor for God’s use of trouble in our lives. Thanks for this encouragement, my friend!

    • Dear friend, He takes us through the refiner’s fire of suffering to burn away all the dross of self so that only His grace remains as only our only source of life. Yes, nobody see the battle that rages in our bodies and it can become quite lonely.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  13. A dear friend of mine from the States was renovating her house before moving into a new one. She had hired a painter to do all the necessary fixes and paintings.
    One day while parking her car accidentally she ran into his car. She was so angry and frustrated about her inattentiveness. Angrily she told me on the phone. I told her she should start living by faith in God’s infallible word and thus He said everything has to serve our best… and we’re supposed to give thanks for everything… she should start praising the goodness of God instead. Refusing to let “Old Adam” rule our actions but wilfully acting on God’s word alone.
    Well, she agreed and we praised the goodness of the Lord together.
    The next day this painter approached her saying: “Last night God spoke to me; Ma’am. You don’t need to pay for the damage on my car… AND I WILL PAINT YOUR HOUSE FOR FREE!”
    To understand this right – this man was an unbeliever!!!
    Of cause she was overwhelmed with joy… and now we praised the goodness of the Lord, together :-D!… but this story doesn’t end here 🙂
    I live by faith since many years after the word of the Lord just caring about His kingdom alone trusting He will keep His word and “add” all we have need of.
    For a better understanding: I’m married and we have seven kids!
    There is no organisation supporting us… no fund-raisers… and no “Donate-buttons”! If God has called me to do His job He is well able to help me finishng it ON HIS WORD alone.
    Wherever I have to go I spread out the riches He provided me with for free – freely you have received, freely you give. Generally I never speak about our financial situation just I don’t want to help myself with my own arm. If it is not Him sending me I have no legitimation to have others supporting a ministry my God hasn’t authored… just He always provides HIS JOBS.
    I could write a BIG book about God’s provision… it’s the reality my whole existence is based upon… but will just tell you how perfectly our Father is planning every detail.
    Well, living this way doesn’t mean we aren’t tested. It’s easy to speak about living by faith with a regulary income… but to leave a boat to walk on water in the midst of a raging storm is a different page!
    About two month’s after the story with my friend I was facing such a situation. Our credit limit was 5000 € the bank was giving us… and the account was 4800 € in minus already. It was the end of the month and how to pay 700 € for the rent… with what to pay for groceries and other needs?
    No regulary income… nobody knowing about the present situation!
    After my friend had experienced this wonderful action of the Lord she made up her mind the money she saved will be for the Lord alone! She didn’t know about the situation I was in just I don’t tell others… but two days before the month ended (the new month would bring automatic drafts for rent etc.) more than 2000 € arrived on our account from her. Perfectly timed… never He comes too late!
    So, I will stop now ;-)… but want to close with this challenge to all readers:
    Come, dare to take your God by His word! Stop living double standards with never living what you profess is the truth! I won’t say it’s easy… but I never would have it any different! Your God has riches beyond your expectation… and how often we limit His ability by not living by His word alone!

    Dear blessings to all!

    • Dear Markus
      What you say about God supplying for His jobs is so true. He does not NEED anything from us, actually, we need everything from Him. I praise our Pappa with you for always supplying in our needs.
      God less you, dear friend
      Mia

    • What amazes me daily, it is how we need our Pappa’s grace to believe and trust daily that He will provide in all our needs.
      god bless, dear one
      Mia

Leave a Reply

