The Gift Of Pain

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others (2 Corinthians 1:4, NLT)

His Loving Embrace

image

Philip Yancey and Dr Paul Brandt are the co-authors of the book, The Gift of Pain. Dr Brandt was born in India to missionary parents and became a missionary doctor in Vellore, India for fifty years.

He was the first physician who discovered that leprosy did not cause the rotting away of tissue, but it was the loss of the sensation of pain that made the sufferers susceptible to injury.

Dr Paul Brandt

Dr Paul Brandt

This dear man knew from experience the wonderful gift of pain. A year or two ago I discovered the truth of his words when I was in the grip of excruciating Fibromyalgia pain.

As the strongest pain killers could only dull the sharpest edge of this sword ripping through my body, I went to lie down.

image

I was drawing near to my Pappa, asking Him to just hold me for I was unable to carry this burden alone. Like Jesus, I also needed someone to help me carry this cross. He mercifully hushed me to sleep.

Later, with my eyes still closed, I could feel my husband’s arms embracing me close to his heart.

I opened my eyes, only to find my dearest lying far away from me on his side of the bed, fast asleep. His gentle snoring told me that he was having a good time in the Land of Dreams. I was confused for there was no one holding me.

image

Then I heard Pappa whispering that it was Him, not my husband, hugging me close, just as I had asked Him to do.

He was cuddling me gently against His breast … He was enveloping me with His compassion … He was comforting me in His Loving Embrace.

Much love

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

image

image
40 thoughts on “The Gift Of Pain

  1. Mia, I too suffer with the fiber ailment for almost 20 years now. God has brought understanding to my heart as far as suffering goes on this earth. We can either make pain our enemy or friend, I chose to befriend him, knowing God has more to teach me. I have learned to be open to meds as God does give men and women the smarts and means to study and help relieve some pain. Even when relieve floods me I know it will come again this mystery of pain. Good post my sister.

  2. I’m here via Sunday Stillness. I have just finished reading Joni and Ken, where Joni Earickson Tada tells of the excruciating pain she’s had to deal with for years. I feel silenced by her testimony and yours. I’m not sure how I would do in the school of pain, but her testimony, like yours, is that God was and is close through those times. I hope you’re feeling better now.

    • Dear Violet
      Joni Tada has also been an inspiration to me through all my trials in life!! I would love reading her and Ken’s new book. Pain is such a gift, dear one, when we carry it together with our Lord Jesus. It keeps us so close to Him.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

    • Dear Dolly
      Thank you, my friend. If I think of all the healing He has brought to my heart through this illness, I cannot do otherwise but praise and thank Him for His goodness. I know he has prepared a new body for me, but until then, I want to bring Him glory even through pain.
      Blessings to you
      Mia

  3. Sweet testimony of Him alive in your life- the moments of the greatest heart-ache pain I have experienced changed how I see people, reach people – it opened my heart to love better, to love more unconditional. So sorry for your pain – so awesome what He does in it, though!

    • There is no pain or sorrow to big for our Lord to carry on our behalf. When we come to Him, even pain becomes a blessing for then He is even closer to us. Or perhaps, we to Him!!
      Much love
      Mia

  4. I read Dr. Brand’s book a number of years ago and found it to be so very interesting, giving me a whole new outlook on pain.
    I am so grateful to have come here today. I, too, have Fibromyalgia and know the pain. I have had four surgeries in two years as of this very day for serious joint issues. But knowing that our God of all comfort…ALL COMFORT…is always with us..You so beautifully worded. Really special. May He continue to hold us near. Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    • Dear Linda
      Our Lord is truly so close to us when we suffer, don’t you think. I am sorry you are also suffering from FM and I hope your joint issues are resolved now. I can just think how much worse the joint pain will be for a Fibromite! And can only add my voice to yours asking Him to continue holding us near.
      Much love
      Mia

    • It is nice to meet you. I would love to return your visit. Thank for your kind, encouraging words.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Dear Rachael
      Yes, dear one, He is so very close to those who suffer. Thank you so much for your kind words.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Dear Debi
      He does refine us through suffering, doesn’t He! Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate your encouragement.
      Much love
      Mia

  5. Very precious thoughts born out of great pain. Thank you for sharing and for the images you used to enhance the message. I’d love to have you share this on my blog party (T.G.I.F. at BibleLoveNotes.com)
    Thanks,
    Gail

    • Dear Gail
      Yes, dear one, our God’s goodness and love knows no boundaries. A picture tells a thousand words, don’t you think. Thanks for the invitation. I will do so.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Dear Kelly
      What never cease to amaze me, is how He only works good out of all our trials. What a great God we have!
      Hugs to you too
      Mia

    • Dear Alene
      Yes, our God works good especially out of all those hard places, all to His glory alone. Thanks for your visit
      Much Love
      Mia

    • Dear Linda
      Thank you so much. Our Pappa God is so good to me every day as He carries me with His grace.
      Much love
      Mia

Leave a Reply

