The Rooster Crowed

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

“Then Peter denied it again, and immediately a rooster crowed.” (John 18:27, NET).

It is Never Too Late

I am delighted to introduce you to my husband, Andre. He has graciously agreed to write a guest post. Thank you, so much! Over to my Dearest:

My wife, Mia, asked me to look for a photograph that speaks to me spiritually. I immediately thought of the rooster that crowed when Peter denied our Lord the third time.

What is really significant to me is the way Peter reacted when he realized Jesus’ prediction came true! In Luke 22:62 (NLT), we read that Peter left the courtyard weeping bitterly!

image

Can you imagine how Peter must have felt? He just denied his best Friend, the Man he spent three years with travelling the length and breadth of Israel.

They virtually lived in each other’s pockets as the saying goes. Was Peter not considered to be the leader of the disciples? Yet, at crunch time he could not speak up for Jesus, he denied Him.

image

Proud Peter failed and the first one to realize it, to his credit, was him. Did he not boast a few days earlier that when everyone runs away, he will stay with Jesus? He did stay for a while, chopping a guard’s ear off when they came to arrest Jesus!

This seems quite brave, but he denied that he knows Jesus, not once or twice, but three time! Proud, impulsive, boastful Peter. Once again, pride came before the fall.

image

In my language, Afrikaans, we have a saying: “Spyt kom altyd te laat.” Roughly translated it means that remorse always comes too late.

Fortunately for Peter, he did not deny an ordinary Man! He denied the Lord of lords and the King of kings in Whose book, remorse is never too late.

Just a few days after Jesus’s resurrection we find them on the beach of the Sea of Galilea. When Peter realized it was Jesus, he did not even wait for the boat to dock, but jumped overboard and swam to shore!

image

After they all had breakfast, Jesus asked Peter three time if he loves Him. Peter was hurt that the Lord had to ask him the question three times. He kept on saying that Jesus knows the answer. Did he remember the cock that crowed?

However, after the third time that Peter answered that he loves Jesus, the Lord simply said, “Follow me” (John 21:19, NLT). This is the epitome of forgiveness!

image

I mean, here is the man that denied Jesus and He asked Peter to follow Him and to look out for His followers. How many of us would’ve done that? Peter was once again restored.

I also deny my Lord daily, whether I want to or not! Life happens and before you know it, you have scolded a colleague or bad-mouthed the boss. Is that not the same as denying Jesus?

image

Are we not supposed to love our fellow-man? Should we, as folks who have been rescued from the pit of hell, not live as an example to the rest? This is how we think.

But, we have a Spirit that convicts us. It does not condemn us, but simply reminds us in a gentle way that we have sinned.

image

We don’t need a rooster to crow. This gentle conviction gives us the opportunity to go back to Jesus, ask for His forgiveness and His love will overcome everything!

It is never too late for remorse in Jesus’ world! Trust Him.

Blessings

André

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

image

16 thoughts on “The Rooster Crowed

  1. I’m so glad to meet you, Andre, through this lovely space! Remorse is never too late with Jesus–oh the truth of that leaves me breathless. Lovely words, friend.

    • Thanks for the kind words, Laura. In the Lord’s time and space, there is always an opportunity for remorse, as long as it is genuine! His grace is unlimited.
      Blessings
      André

  2. Hi Jen, yes it took quite a bit of convincing from Mia’s side to get me to write this post. We have had our crosses to bear as a family, but even diamonds have to be cut for us to appreciate their beauty! The Lord is so good!
    Blessings
    André

    • Yes Debbie, a picture really tells a thousand words! I think we all can relate to Peter’s denial if we want to be honest with ourselves.
      Blessings
      André

  3. Oh Mia, that was a great word from your husband. I was truly inspired by the truth he wrote about here. It’s never to late for remorse in Jesus’ world. Love that. Blessings to you and Andre.

    • Dear Tanya
      Mia has been trying to convince me to write a post, but I was always reluctant. Now, I’m glad that the Lord gave me something to share. Maybe the first of a few?
      Blessings
      André

    • Hi Jen, yes He is always the perfect Gentleman. He never forces Himself on you, but if you love Him, you very quickly “hear” the conviction!
      Blessings
      André

  4. What a surprise to see you writing here, my dear friend :-D!
    Reading your lines here the text of an old and well-known hymn jumped my mind
    immediately:

    What a friend we have in Jesus,
    all our sins and griefs to bear!
    What a privilege to carry
    EVERYTHING to God in prayer!
    O what peace we often forfeit,
    O what needless pain we bear,
    all because we do not carry
    EVERYTHING to God in prayer.

    Yes, there’s nothing we can’t bring to Him… even if we’ve failed Him double as Peter did!

    • Hi Markus
      Thanks for your kind words! The very first comment on my very first post that my wife nagged me for endlessly. It was quite scary to do, so I’m not sure whether I will do it again. It’s much easier to assist her than it is to write it myself.
      Bless you

Leave a Reply

