Baba Black Sheep

image

God’s Thoughts To Me

“But Lord”, Gideon asked, “how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Mannaseh, and I am the least of my family.” (Judges 6:15,

“The Lord is with you, mighty warrior.” (Judges 6:12, NIV)

The Destroyer and The Shofar

image

Gideon was hiding like a coward in the winepress, frightened of the Midianites, threshing wheat, when the Lord paid him a visit, “Good day, mighty warrior! Why are you hiding? No need, brave one, for I am with you.”

Startled and horrified, Gideon answered, “With all due respect Lord, but you must certainly be confused. How can you be with us when you have delivered us into the hands of the Midianites?”

image

With a roguish smile his Pappa God answered, “My dear brave child, why don’t you go and destroy the Midianites instead of being a scary pants? After all, your name does not mean destroyer without a reason. When I look at you I see a mighty warrior!”

Appalled by this suggestion, Gideon asked, “Father, you must certainly be joking! Look at me; I am from the tribe of Manasseh, the son of Joseph, and you know what that means. Like Joseph, the other clans do not like us at all!”

After a pause, he continued, “The great-great-great-grandparents of the Midianites were Abraham and Keturah; not Sarah, whom you called princess. We are the descendants of Sarah, your favorite, and still you delivered us into their hands!! It is not fair.”

image

Hastily he added, “Manasseh does not mean “causing to forget” for nothing. We are the forgotten ones, the least of the least, we are certainly your black sheep”. He used all the excuses he could think of to get out of this predicament.

(Five minutes are finished)

Patiently God sighed, “Gideon, I have no favorites. Besides, the other clans are so puffed-up with their own importance, that I have to choose the least of the least to deliver you all out of the strive and in-fighting going on amongst yourselves.”

image

A flabbergasted Gideon still wanted to object when the Lord explained, “Gideon, the meaning of the name Midian is “strife and contention”.

Then our Pappa God became somber, “Although I want to destoy the physical threat against my people, those rumbustious Midianites, I want to eradicate all those stubborn roots of strife and anger in your hearts.”

image

God smiled,”My desire for us is to catch those little foxes ruining the tender sweet grapes. They are destroying my beautiful vineyard that I have cultivated with so much love and care.”

Love and blessings XX

Mia

P.s. I was informed by someone that I had my facts a bit skewed. Instead of saying Abraham and Keturah were the Midianites’ great-grandparents, a few times removed, I only said they were their great-grandparents. And I had the descendants all mixed-up.

The spelling of Keturah’s name was also wrong; I had it “Ketubah” which is a Jewish marriage contract. I am sure Abraham never married a marriage contract! Hahaha!

They say it is not a shame to be poor, but to be stupid is quite another matter altogether! Please forgive, for I corrected it after my five minutes.

Linking-up with the ladies

image

image

image
36 thoughts on “Baba Black Sheep

  1. We all need editors and to make corrections – in writing and real life – I loved what you did – the point you made. With 5 sons, I understand how God doesn’t have favorites- how He loves each of us equally – and that’s how He wants us to love those around us – and those little foxes that destroy the vines – I want to be brave enough to save those vines (His children) – wonderful call to fearful hearts – to stand with Him and overcome that fear! Wishing you blessing this week – and continued boldness:)

    • I know so well what you mean with loving all your children equally! Each one is an individual with his own precious personality that enriches your life in different ways. Thank you for reading and commenting.
      Much love
      Mia

  2. Sometimes I wish I had a winepress to hide in! In myself I would always be a scaredy cat. Thankful for God’s bravery. Your retelling of this story really brought it to life for me.

    • Dear Pamela
      Yes, you are not the only one!! Without our Lord we will all be very fearful! No wonder He tells us so often that He is with us and we need not fear!
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  3. Gideon is such a powerful story. Not until I read the Bible completely did I truly understand how God used the everyday to bring glory to Him. Thank you for sharing!

    • Dear Carrie
      I just showed that incredible picture on your blog to my husband. He loved it. Yes, our Pappa uses our weaknesses to bring glory to His strength, grace and goodness. But He cannot do much with those who consider themselves to be of great importance to Him.
      Much love to you
      Mia

  4. Our Father has a pattern of doing the impossible with the improbable. It’s all for His glory. We all get a turn walking through our valleys and He delivers us in the face and to be a witness to the lost world. I love that story. Well done, Mia. A good reminder for all of us that while we are weak… and in that weakness His strength is manifested.

    • Dear Floyd
      There was a time in my life when I was deceived into believing that doing everything for the glory of our Pappa meant I had to try my hardest. Not so! I am so grateful that He opened my eyes to see that I only need to be an empty vessel through which He works His own glory. He brings strength only out of our weakness and beauty from our ashes.
      Blessings and love to you
      Mia

    • Dear Nikki
      oh, it is so reassuring that He is the One who makes us brave though His grace. We don”t need to pretend we have it all together, for truth be told, without Him, we don’t. Thanks for your visit.
      Much love and blessings
      Mia

  5. Dear Mia,
    I love how God saw Gideon as who he could be, a mighty warrior, although he was anything but at the time…so encouraging. To answer your question, I haven’t written my e-book…still working on my manifesto…need to edit it. Thanks for asking, sweet friend šŸ™‚ Happy Friday šŸ™‚

    • Dear Dolly
      Our Pappa sees the end from the beginning and that makes me glad. We don’t need to despair for we know He who has started a good work in us, will complete it. Glad to hear that you are working on your manifesto. It is such a big dream of yours. You should not let it go for you are so talented with your writing.
      Blessings and love, dear friend
      Mia

    • Dear Shannon
      Yes, dear one, we humans are more or less all the same as far as our weaknesses are concerned.
      Much love
      Mia

  6. Mia, reminding us that Pappa God had to remind even Gideon of what his name meant, is reassuring. We all need a “bravery check” now and again, don’t we? I so enjoy how you weave a story with God’s truth that is meaningful and powerful in it’s retelling.

    • Dear Missy
      Yes, our Pappa sees with other eyes than we do! He knows the plans He has for us and knows the end just as good as the beginning. It is so reassuring to know that we are in His hand.
      Blessings
      Mia

    • Dear Sarah
      Pappa is the Afrikaans word for Abba. Afrikaans is my home language. And He certainly out Pappa and Daddy and Abba.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Dear Karrilee
      Oh, He is our Prince of Peace and that makes all the difference in the world. All praise, glory and honor to Him alone for without Him I can do nothing’. Thank you for your kindness.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  7. Beautiful images as always, Mia, and a beautiful heart sharing her Heavenly Pappa’s message of encouragement to us through the story of Gideon. How easy it is to shrink back from the tasks God calls us to do for fear of being inadequate. This is such a lovely reminder that our all-sufficiency rests in His power alone. And because of that we can be courageous to face anything.

  8. Another beautiful post. I love the reminder that God calls us warriors…such a challenge to step up and be brave. Blessings, dear friend! šŸ™‚

    • Dear Mel
      I don’t think anyone of us can be brave on our own, but when He walks alongside us, nothing is impossible.
      Much love to you
      Mia

    • Dear Linda
      Yes, that little black head amongst the many white sheep just stole my heart. Thanks for your visit.
      Blessings and love
      Mis

  9. Dear Mia, Your writing is powerful and the pictures you’ve chosen make it even more beautiful. You’ve done such an excellent job of sharing the names and weaving them all together! I love coming here to visit!

    • Dear Dianna
      And I love having you as a guest at my blog! Thank you for your kind words. I so enjoy choosing the pictures. You know us Fibrofroggies have lots of time to do these kind of things.
      Much love to you
      Mia

  10. Hey Mia, I’m visiting from FMF. I love how you wove together the meanings of all the names! And I think there’s a bit of the shrinking Gideon in me…yet, God calls me a mighty warrior. Thanks for the reminder.

    • Dear Jennifer
      This is so true. Our Pappa draws strength only out of our weakness and beauty out of ashes. I think we all have much of those to offer Him!
      Love and blessings
      Mia

Leave a Reply

