The Scabbanger Club

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

But His mother told the servants, “Do whatever He tells you” (John 5:2, NLT).

It is to divide between what is us in fallen nature, and what is Christ, and to get rid of the one to give full place to the other! (T Austin-Sparks).

Water, Wine and Merriment

Onwaba, the Day of Her Baptism

Onwaba, the Day of Her Baptism

I have a little 5 year old friend. We have been blessed to have Onwaba and her grannie staying with us the last few years.

Onwaba has a great sense of humor. When she does something funny, she is a funny bunny.

But when she is just plain stupid she calls herself a scabbanger. She is quite chaffed with herself for creating this big word.

image

Onwaba’s sense of humor is just a chip off our Lord’s dear heart. I can just see Him grinning as he looks down at the human race, all honorary members of the Scabbanger Club.

When Jesus and His disciples attended the wedding at Cana, He must have been a bit amused, as well as filled with compassion, for the predicament of the poor bridegroom.

To run out of wine at your wedding was a major faux pas that would cause them to be the latest scabbangers in town until someone else messed up worse than them.

image

We all know this parable where our Lord Jesus helped the poor groom out of his scabbangerish predicament. But He did much more than merely turning water into wine.

Our Lord never allowed an opportunity to pass without confronting and exposing the uselessness of the Jewish religion; actually, any religion for that matter. It only has the ability to bind us in chains.

He did so in this parable by using the empty clay pots that were used for the ceremonial, legalistic cleansing, instead of the empty wine jars.

image

After the servants filled the pots to the brim with water, the master of ceremonies gave some to the groom. They were all amazed at the superb quality of this “bubbly” wine and that, only being served near the end of the wedding feast.

The new wine symbolizes the new covenant wine of Jesus’ own life; ever active, dynamic, full of joy and spiritual blessings, replacing the old dirty water of the purification vats of the law.

Jesus’ command to the servants to fill the jars to the brim, shows us the abundance of His provision. There is no short supply in heaven. Unlike the water of religious cleansing, the new wine of His life never runs dry. image As we allow Him to restore sight to our spiritual eyes, we become aware of the empty futility of filling the jars of our hearts with religious water of self-effort to clean our consciences and to find favor with our Pappa.

This new delicious wine is only served in abundance when we come to Him and learn how to abide in Him. It is way above and superior to the wine which we drank before.

Some modern-day Pharisees, in defense of abstinence, try to explain this new wine to be diluted grape juice, while others are calling Him a drunkard and a glutton, finding fault with His social life! Preposterous!!image Mary told the servants at the wedding to do just as Jesus told them to do. They had the common sense to do just that. Something I used to be in short supply of.

I have been a scabbanger without an iota of common sense for a time. I labored so hard, trying to wash my dirty feet, hands and face with my own brand of religious soap and water.

Yet, with such patience and wisdom our Pappa allowed me to be refined in the refiner’s fire of suffering. He didn’t burn away only the stuff He considered bad and left and refined the good. Not at all!

Paul informs us that there is none who is truly good; not even one who seeks the Lord  (Romans 3). If it was not for His prevenient grace, none of us will ever be able to even think one right and true thought about our Pappa. Only He and He alone is good.

image

He burned away everything pertaining to my scabbangerish self and replaced it with only Him and His new Life. This didn’t happen without a lot of complaining from my side.

But, He enabled me to realize that giving Him free reigns of my life, was the greatest gift of love I could give myself. He dared me to be brave enough to truly love myself by allowing Him to burn away all the dross of the flesh.

I am immensely grateful that He opened my mind and understanding to the uselessness of the legalistic purification methods of washing with religious soap and water. He gently showed me another way … a better way.image Oh, the joy when I was able to hear, listen and heed His still small voice asking my hand in marriage … asking permission to fill my heart with the new bubbly wine of Himself.

Much love XX

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

image

24 thoughts on “The Scabbanger Club

    • Dear Jane
      I so enjoy your link-up every Monday morning. When I wake up the first thing I do is to check what our verse is for this week.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  1. What a delightful little friend Mia! I love her word, “scabbanger.” 🙂
    I often wonder about my common sense too, and In my constant search for daily wisdom, well-being, and harmony, there are always daily challenges and temptations that get in the way. Thankfully He always rescues me and brings me back!

    Lovely words today dear friend!
    Blessings,
    Denise

    • I know those daily temptations so well! Just as well we are totally dependent on His grace, for we would have made a total mess if we had to try and safe ourselves!!
      Much love and blessings
      Mia

    • Dear Shelly
      She is such a blessing to my heart for both my sons are at university. She is a sharp little girl.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

    • Dear Kela
      Welcome to my blog, dear one. I am honored by your visit. Yes, we always find new truth in an old story, don’t we!
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  2. What an amazing post, dear Mia!! I love how you tied it all in together! This has given my to contemplate and roll around in my mind. Thank you for your insight!

    • Dear Jamie
      Thank you for your encouraging words, friend! Isn’t it wonderful how we always discover something new in an “old” story. I think it is how our Pappa reveals it to our hearts.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  3. OH!!! this s good really good!! love the thought that he makes us into the best “wine” he turns any water into the best!! Thank you for this and love that little sweet heart, what a cutie!!

    • Dear Jennifer
      It still fills my heart with wonder when I ponder the fact that He lives within each one of His children. Oh, Onwaba is a real cutie and she knows that!!
      Blessings
      Mia

  4. Mia –
    A beautiful post! Love the word scabbenger. The pictures you illustrated the turning of water into wine are just beautiful. They brought a well known story a fresh breath for me this morning. Thank you for sharing it! Blessings!

    • Dear Joanne
      I still giggle every time Onwaba tells me I am a scabbanger. She is a sweet little one and brings me so much joy.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  5. You’ve found sweet inspiration in the words and face of Onwaba, Mia. Thanks so much for sharing her wisdom and yours with us today. God has reminded me of this story recently and I feel like your words only add to the many whispers I sense from him. I want to remember that He is able to turn any “water” I offer Him in this life, turning it into His best “wine.”

    • Dear Beth
      That is so true! Pappa looks at our hearts of love when we offer Him anything. That is what matters to Him; a heart filled with love. With that He is well pleased!
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  6. I have heard the story of turning the water into wine many times, but your brought to light many things that give the story so much more meaning. So thankful He provided the NEW wine for us to partake!! Blessings to you, Mia!!

    • Dear Ann
      Oh, I am also so thankful for the new wine that we can drink of every moment of every day! What a privilege to feast on the life of our Lord every day!
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  7. I love the look on little Onwaba’s face! And I love her word, “scabbanger.” What joy she must bring you. Thanks for such a thoughtful post.

    • Dear Nancy
      Onwaba is truly a delight! Especially now that both my sons have left home, she is like a little daughter to me. And she truly is so funny. I enjoy her so much!
      Blessings
      Mia

  8. Dear Lisa
    Oh, she has been such a joy to my husband and me especially now that both my boys have left home for university! Yes, my friend, only our Lord can truly satisfy our hearts and quench our spiritual thirst.
    Much love and blessings
    Mia

  9. What a blessing that you have Onwaba in your life. I love her word scabbanger. 🙂 I want to drink the new wine, too, and forget about self-filling from my own polluted cistern.

Leave a Reply

