He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

I no longer call you slaves, because a master does not confide in his slaves. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me (John 15:14, NLT).

Jesus asked, “Who is my mother? Who are my brothers?” Then He pointed to His disciples and said, “Anyone who does the will of my Father  in heaven is my brother and sister and mother!” (Matthew 12:48-50, NLT).

My Friend, My Brother

In 1969 Bob Russel, who was dying of cancer of the lymph nodes, and Bobby Scott met in person only three times.

That was enough for these two guys to write the beautiful ballad, He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother. It was released the same year by the Hollies and topped the charts in both the UK and the USA.

image

There was a time when I was totally bowed over by all the baggage of my past, desperately ill and totally alone.

It will suffice to say that I was totally, as in really totally, alone  and rejected by even my disbelieving husband and children.

Yet, my spirit was soaring on the wings of the Wind. He gently carried me, cradling me against His breast, while whispering softly to my heart, “You ain’t heavy, dear one, you are mine!”.

image

When I was truly groveling in the mud of sin and self-contempt, with only a few hungry pigs as company, I could hear His words of comfort and love.

Not long ago I asked Him why He was so close to me when everyone else was looking down  on me with utter disgust because of my incredible load of sin.

image

He gently informed me that He saw my heart, He knew my pain, He heard my cries for help.

Besides, He was in the business of binding up the broken hearted, setting the captives free and seeking and saving the lost.

He reminded me that He is my friend who is closer than a brother … a bridegroom giving His life for His bride … a God who is far above and beyond the ability of mankind to fathom.

image

He is close to the suffering … He never leaves them, nor forsakes them … He is the Friend of sinners … He carries them close to His heart … He envelopes them in His Loving Embrace.

Much love XX

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

22 thoughts on “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother

  1. That phrase is all over Omaha in the past connected to Boys Town. Have statues showing it. Means so much. And it’s important for all of us to accept people, help people, do what God calls us to do to bless and encourage. Yep, a good blessing phrase to spread around the world.

    Thanks for sharing it.

    • Dear Joanne
      This is interesting! Can you just imagine if all humans could say about others not being heavy, but being a brother!! Well, it is going to be that way on the new earth when our Lord Jesus comes back.
      Blessings
      Mia

  2. Love this Mia! (Always loved that song too!) Isn’t it awesome that the grace of God means that even when we blow it He gives us every chance in the world to acknowledge our mistakes and ask for His forgiveness; His steadfast love and mercy are greater than any sin, and He promises His loving grace!

    Blessings and love sweet sister,
    Denise

    • Yes, dear Friend, it is an anchor for our hearts, His unchangeable love. Come to think of it, He just is the best parent ever.
      Blessings
      Mia

  3. Our Father carries the weight of the cosmos in His hand. Thanks for the reminder of His love and grace to all of us. It’s a tough trip from realization of who we are in our minds and who He is in truth. That’s the starting point to find peace and a worth that is beyond what can be measured in simple numbers of the flesh.

    I like that song. I’m some what of a music buff and like the trivia. That song will be have the arm up on the old turntable of my mind and will repeat the rest of the day!

    • Dear Floyd
      It is just the greatest assurance that His love never changes. We can nothing to make Him love us more and nothing we do can make Him love us less. So wonderful.
      Blessings
      Mia

    • Dear Rachael
      I think the secret to having such a friendship is to just doing everything with Him, living out of His grace and live the whole time. It takes practice but becomes so natural after a while.
      Blessings
      Mia

    • Dear Sarah
      Yes, it is a beautiful song, especially now that we now the story behind it. Thank you for your encouraging words.
      Blessings
      Mia

    • Dear Christy
      Even when we become unfaithful, He does not for He never changes. He brings us back to Him.
      Blessings
      Mia

Leave a Reply

