The Empty Tomb

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

Then the angel spoke to the women, “Don’t be afraid!” he said. “I know you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. He isn’t here! He is risen from the dead, just as He said would happen. (Matthew 28:5-6 NLT)”.

Jesus told her, “I am the Resurrection and the Life. (John 11:25a NLT)”.

He Is Risen

Our Pappa God knows the human race from the inside out. He is the only one that knows us better than we do ourselves. His eyes sees our smallest DNA structure and understands perfectly why we do what we do!

After all, He created us! Even when we are unable to love ourselves and have a heart filled with self-contempt, He loves us nonetheless!

image

To explain His Kingdom to us mere mortals, He often uses parables for He knows we are slow of understanding when it comes to spiritual things. Sometimes we find a parable hidden in the most unlikely places.

The Sunday morning after our Lord Jesus’ crucifixion, we find such a pearl buried in the happenings at the tomb and the words of the angel. I needed eyes to see and know the signifigance of what happened there.

A worried Mary Magdalene and a few other women went with perfumed spices to annoint our Lord’s body, not knowing how they would open the tomb.

image

But our Pappa, as always, took care of that when He sent an angel on the wings of an earthquake to roll away the stone.

Yet, not to make a way for the women to annoint the dead, but to release our risen Lord Jesus from the jaws of death that was not able to keep Him in its grip, for He is the sinless One.

I can just picture in my mind’s eye the magnificence of the scene; the bright, marvellous light of our Pappa’s angel, dressed in brilliant white clothes, rolling away the stone. No wonder the guards fainted of shock and the women were frightened.

image

The ladies were short of memory and forgot our Lord’s words that He would be raised after three days. I seem to have at least a short memory in common with them!

The angel chided them for seeking the Living amongst the dead when he showed them the burial cloth that was placed at the spot where our Lord’s head was lying.

I have been pondering this issue during this Easter season and realized that too often we do the same as these women. We seek the living Lord Jesus amongst the dead tombs of religion, theology and doctrines.

image

Even before the crucifixion, Jesus told us that He is the Resurrection and the Life, not the crucifixion and the death!

In the past, I also attempted to please our Lord Jesus by annointing the empty tomb of my heart with well prepared spices of nonsense.

I didn’t like myself at all and had a hard time grasping the FACT that my Pappa loved me unconditionally!

But, the better-smelling my efforts, the harder I battled to find the Living Lord amongst the empty, lifeless spaces, amongst the shadows of death.

image

I had to carry my own cross to Golgotha and crucify the “self” that struggled so hard to redeem itself from the grip of death that was imprisoning my heart in the dungeons of the world. To dare to love myself, I knew this was the first step I had to take.

I hung there, so lost and so lonely, dying slowly but surely from everything that pertains to self. I needed to allow our Lord to kill the monsters of shame, self-condemnation, spiritual pride, guilt and all their cohorts.

Especially their Commander-in-chief, General Self-Hatred, died a slow, agonizing death.

imageLike our Lord Jesus my heart also experienced the terror of being separated from my Pappa’s presence and I cried out,

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? (Matthew 27:45b)” even though He never, not even for one second, left me.

This is what sin does to us.

Only when I was able to trust our Pappa enough to allow my emptiness to cry out to deep, following our Lord’s example, “Father, I entrust my spirit into your hands! (Luke 23:46)” could He safely allow me to die to self and enter into His promised rest.

When I breathed my last, our Pappa God Himself, rolled away the stone of my heart, filling me with the eternal life of His Son, allowing me to be reconciled with Him. I was free to love the Source of all Love and myself! What freedom … what peace … what joy!

image

At long last I was able to say with the centurion and the soldiers, “This man truly is the Son of God (Matthew 27:54b)” .

At long last I lost my life in order to find my new life in Him where I joyfully live forever in His Presence and peace … in His Loving Embrace.

Much love XX

Mia

Linking-up with
image
image
image
35 thoughts on “The Empty Tomb

    • Dear friend Jane
      Oh, we can only be open and honest about how much we need our Lord to overcome that one called “self”. I will try to link-up tomorrow again, for I am having a difficult week.
      Blessings to you, lovely lady
      Mia

  1. This is so powerful, Mia. Still pondering the mystery of all that occurred those years ago in that Holy Week. Still rejoicing at the power of the resurrection.

    • Dear Laure
      I think we will only know the whole story one day when we all sit at His knee in the new world. It must have been glorious once He was risen!
      Much love xx

  2. Friend, bless you as you keep sharing what God has done in your life. It is powerful! I was especially moved by this: “Only when I was able to trust our Pappa enough to allow my emptiness to cry out to deep, following our Lordโ€™s example, ‘Father, I entrust my spirit into your hands! (Luke 23:46)’ could He safely allow me to die to self and enter into His promised rest.”
    Only when we face the emptiness that we try so hard to fill, only when we lay it down before him and seek only what he offers can we truly know the depths of his love. Thank you, dear Mia.

    • Dear Ashley
      Oh, dear one, we are all the same! Quite hesitant to let go of our independence, until we have no other choice, don’t we!
      Thank you for always being such a sweet, encouraging friend.
      Blessings to you

    • Dear Dolly
      And I appreciate your love for your Pappa! It amazes me how you always grow deeper and deeper into the life of our Lord. Thank you for being such a kind friend.
      Much love

    • Dear Jennifer
      Thank you, sweet friend. I cannot wait to be part of “Loop”. Looking forward. You are always so kind when you visit my page and I appreciate that so much!
      Much love

    • Dear Mel
      Thank you for your kind words. I sometimes wonder why it takes us so long to trust our Pappa to receive all He wants to give us.
      Love to you
      Mia

  3. Dear Mia, once again you’ve intricately knit together your life experience with the life-giving word of our Abba… And isn’t that exactly what He calls us to do? As the tomb of our lifeless body is emptied and filled with His Spirit, we are forever changed!
    Thanks for dropping by my place. I enjoy your visits so much! I hope you’re feeling well!
    Blessings and much love, dear friend ~ Mary

    • Dear Mary
      I always say that I can only encourage others with the same encouragement I have received from our Pappa. Further than that I pray that I will just walk quietly alongside a hurting one. It is my joy to visit your site, thank you.
      Blessings to you, dear friend
      Mia

  4. this is absolutely beautiful, mia. enjoyed perusing your site and learning a bit more about you. thanks so much for your always-encouraging words to me. you are a blessing in this online world!

    Steph

    • Dear Steph
      Thank you for your kind words. I really enjoy visiting our blog and can always feel your love for your Pappa and all of us who are your sisters in Jesus!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  5. Hi Mia; love this post and the perfect timing of your message. Sometimes to be filled, we must first be empty because to be used, we must be hollow and open, and then available and ready. It may be in the form of surrender and brokenness. It is in the weakness of our own emptiness that we make a hollow space, a space in us to be filled with Him.

    Blessings and love dear friend,
    Denise

    • Dear Denise
      There was a time that I could not trust our Pappa enough to be emptied. I had to ask Him for trust and grace to allow Him to empty me so that I could be filled with the life of our Lord Jesus! I have found that I did not even truly have the right kind of faith and had to humble myself under His might hand, asking Him for faith as a gift as well! But our Pappa is such a generous God.
      Much love to you, dear friend

  6. Dear Mia, I love how you interweave your own story and experiences with that of the crucifixion, death, burial and resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ. It adds a very personal dimension to it all. We go through a death to self and daily surrender to His ways. Our hearts of stone are gradually replaced with a heart of flesh that is tender, pliable and compassionate. A lovely reflection for Easter and always. Bless you! ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

    • Dear Joy
      Yes, we do need to lose all we hold dear, but not in a physical way. Spiritually we need to surrender all, but I have found that all that I have surrender, are safe with our Pappa. The things I cling to, is not! Let us ask for grace to truly surrender all!
      Much love

  7. I’m very much like the women at the tomb sometimes – short on memory.

    {I saw a comment you left at Lisa Notes that mentioned you have CFS. I too, suffered from that illness. It was several years ago, when I was 25. I did recover, but it took a long, long time.}

    Thanks for stopping by Hear It on Sunday, Use It on Monday this week (and last week!).

    • Dear Michelle
      I am so glad to hear that you completely recovered from CFS! Yes, I think we all are at times slow of understanding when it comes to spiritual things! Haha.
      Blessings

  8. Thanks for laying your life experience alongside the experience of Christ. It helps to put it in the “everyday man’s” domain for me. I’ve struggled in the way you described as well, but I’m so glad we have a risen Savior who helps to heal our wounds and knows our pain, Mia. Good word here!

    • What amazes me always, is that our Lord Jesus never used His own power as the son of God, but trusted our Pappa to provide His power and life every second He walked the earth. That makes Him so qualified to walk alongside us showing us how to live a completely dependent life.
      Much love XX

Leave a Reply

