Spitting in The Face of God

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

And they struck Him on the head with a reed stick, spit on Him, and dropped to their knees in mock worship. When they were finally tired of mocking Him, they took off the purple robe and put His own clothes on Him again. Then they led Him away to be crucified (Mark 15:19-20, NLT).

Jesus said,  “Father, forgive them, for they don’t know what they are doing” (Luke 23:34, NLT).

A Spitting Generation

image

The Amazing Race sported a challenge during an episode in Argentina where the contestants had to dress up a lama by putting a blanket across its back and a scarf around its neck.

It was easier said than done and a few of the teams were blessed with a glob of lama spit in the face. One team used common sense though.

image

They wooed a lama with tender, endearing words and won its heart and trust completely with their flattery. She was as tame as a little lamb and allowed them to finish the task without any hassles.

The human race can also be like a bunch of spitting lamas. Looking at what the Roman soldiers did to our Lord Jesus just before they crucified Him, we don’t realize that, often, in our ignorance, we do this ourselves.

image

Their humiliation of our King was made even worse by putting a purple robe around Him, mocking Jesus’ claim to be the King of the Jews.

They mocked His nobility even further by falling down on their knees, making a spectacle of paying Him homage and worship.

Yet, our Lord only asked His Pappa to forgive them for He knew they were totally ignorant of their folly.

image

There is another kind of spitting in the face of our Lord Jesus, a kind, to be honest, I used to be well trained in!

This kind is much more dangerous and even deadly in its subtlety! This is the “grace +” kind of mentality that seems to be part of the DNA structure of the human race.

In his book, In Pursuit of God, A.W. Tozer remarked that Christianity today is miles wide, but only a few inches deep. In the same work he observed,

“When religion said its last word, there is little that we need other than God Himself … We must strip down to the essentials (and they will be found to be a blessed few)”.

image

Good adivce we will all do well to heed. But it took me a long time to understand how to untangle the complexity of my selfish ways to save myself.

I was an expert in adding a lot of rules and things to the simplicity and purity of our Pappa’s grace.

I found it impossible to understand the working of grace and know now that my mind was still veiled with the thick veil of religion.

image

All those times I was trying to create a hybrid gospel of grace + law, I was unwittingly spitting in the face of our Lord.

I was adding and adding and adding to the simplicity of Jesus … adding to the wonder of, “Christ in me, my hope of glory” (Colossians 1:27).

image

Every time I tried to add rules like Bible reading, praying, doing good deeds, being kind to the poor and so forth, I was also spitting in the face of our Lord Jesus. I was nullifying the finished work of Christ and was deaf to His cry, “It is finished (John 19:30)”.

These actions are not wrong in itself, but they do become a formidable foe once we make them a requisite condition for salvation.

image

But our Pappa only heard our Lord Jesus’ plea of forgiveness for He knew I was oblivious to this fallacy. He was well aware of my distrustful lama heart.

He gently drew me to Himself by whispering gentle kind words to my heart. He waited until I trusted Him enough to willingly allow Him to cover me with the purple robe of His righteousness. He adorned my neck with the beauty of His grace … His mercy and compassion.

image

He used another kind of spit mixed with the beauty of His forgiveness … His love … His mercy. He cured my spiritual blindness … He destroyed the veil that blinded the eyes of my heart.

He showed me that all I really needed was just Himself and stripped me of all the extras. He enveloped me in His grace and cherished me tenderly in His Loving Embrace.

Much love xx

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

image

26 thoughts on “Spitting in The Face of God

    • Dear Jen
      Oh, the beauty and simplicity of just our Lord Jesus being our all, is beautiful and wonderful beyond comprehension!
      Blessings to you
      Mia

  1. Beautifully written Mia! There are so many ways we can “spit” in His face unconsciously; thankfully His grace is more than just second chances and undeserved gifts. It is manifested in human failure, mistakes, weakness, and flaws, and God’s grace does not give up!

    Have a blessed Easter full of joyful praise!
    Denise

    • Dear Denise
      I cannot agree more, my friend. If we look at the all the saints in the Old Testament, we find people just like us; full of mistakes and weakness, yet loving their Lord so much!! It is a heart thing, don’t you think!
      Hugs and blessings

    • Hi Janis
      I am still working on upgrading my blog and hopefully I will also be a tweeter one of these days! Thank you for encouraging me, dear friend!
      Blessings

  2. That image with Christ’s arm that says “It’s Finished” just gets me. We are trying to save ourselves when we rely on works, aren’t we? I’m so glad you found freedom from that way of thinking, friend. Grace is a beautiful thing.

    • Hi Laura
      Yes, my friend!!! Grace, sweet amazing grace is the most wonderful thing to experience every moment of every day, next to living in His Loving Embrace.
      Much love to you
      Mia

  3. What a beautiful post, Mia! Thanks for reminding me of all the “small” ways that we can “spit in His face” and belittle His sacrifice. Praise God that Christ alone is more than sufficient for salvation and abundant life. Blessings!

    • Hi Renee
      Oh yes, I am thankful with you that He alone is able and so willing to save us from our lama hearts! We cannot even if we wanted too.
      Much love to you

  4. Dear Mia,
    what a powerful metaphor….yes, it is finished, and to learn to rest in it…we care for others not to earn our salvation but because of His love inside of us, changing us…yes, praying to not spit in Jesus’ face …love to you as you celebrate Easter this week.

    • Hi Dolly
      Yes, when our hearts are filled with His love, loving others and taking care of them becomes as natural as breathing, don’t you think!
      Much love to you, dear friend
      Mia

  5. These are powerful words and images, Mia. The thought of spitting in the face of Jesus repulses us, yet we continue to do it in subtle ways.

    This really grabbed me:
    “This kind is much more dangerous and even deadly in its subtlety! This is the “grace +” kind of mentality that seems to be part of the DNA structure of the human race.”

    May I remember that IT IS FINISHED, because Jesus did it ALL. I now live in the freedom of grace. May I love accordingly. Thanks, friend.

    • Hi Lisa
      I think when we are spitting in His face, it is so unintentional. He knows that and still asks our Pappa to forgive us for we know not what we are doing!
      Much love to you

  6. Sorry if this is a repeat comment – I think my first got lost in the Internet black hole.

    Your post is so well written and thought provoking. You’re right, how often do I spit in the Lord’s face by focusing more on the world or my own selfish desires (intentionally or unintentionally in my own ignorance)? Thanks for sharing this post!

    • Hi Stephanie
      Yes, dear one, most often our spitting is totally unintentional, and then we still hear His plea for forgiveness, for we know not what we are doing!!
      Hugs and blessings

  7. Well said, Mia. How often we spit in the face of the One who provides the breath behind it… We revere the things of this world more than our redeeming King, a spit in the face of love… Thanks for the reminder of that and His gentle calling over to put on perfect burden and yoke to pull us home…

    • Hi Floyd
      I love how you see the breath behind the spitting! So descriptive of our complete dependance on our Lord even when we don’t treat Him with love and respect! We need Him for every breath we take!
      Hugs and blessings

  8. oh, me too. adding to grace, i mean.
    i read this quote today and it has hung out in the corners of my mind since, “All human nature vigorously resists grace because grace changes us and the change is painful.” (f.o’connor) interesting, anyway.
    and i do think it is our natural tendency to think we must add to the grace given for full redemption, to be fully pleasing to God.
    thank you for a post that strips down to the essentials that are blessedly few.

    • Dear Kelli
      Yes, grace involves a lot of suffering and pain, but afterwards we have the honor and joy of living in our dear Lord Jesus and that, my friend, is what we were created for: to live in His love!!
      Much love to you

  9. I love your analogy with the spitting llamas! If only we’d more often use those gentle words with others, sharing Christ’s grace with them. Thanks for the post.

    • Hi Nancy
      Yes, our Lord did warn us that the tongue is truly a wild, unruly thing that needs to be tamed. Yet, only He can do that through His grace!
      Much love
      Mia

  10. thought provoking post, Mia and very appropriate for this week. The photo above of the Roman soldiers over the cross spoke to me. wow I will ponder that image this week

    May this week be blessed for you!

    • Dear Jean
      It disturbed me as well, my friend! I am so grateful for His sacrifice. Have a blessed Easter living in and loving our Lord!
      Blessings
      Mia

  11. I love how you’ve used the metaphor here. Yes, we all need the “spit” of the Savior to open our blinded eyes to His grace and love. Thanks for the reminder to walk in His grace today, Mia!

    • I a glad you understand the heart of this post! Yes, we do need our Lord to reveal Himself to us in a personal way! Otherwise we are truly as blind as bats.
      Much love XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

