Lady Laodicea vs Lady Ekklesia

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

You say,”I am rich, I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!” And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked (Revelation 3:17,NLT).

I am very rich; I have become wealthy. With all my wealth they will not find in me any iniquity or sin (Hosea 12:8, NIV).

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven … Blessed are the meek, for they will inheit the earth (Matthew 5:3-5, NIV).

Metamorphosis

image

A while ago a friend of mine, Michael Clark, watched a documentary on the metamorphosis of a caterpillar into a butterfly.

The documentary featured a scientist conducting an MRI scan on a cocoon while it went through the process of metamorphosis.

During the transformation, the worm completely dissolved and nothing of the original pupa remained.

The whole chrysalis was turned into a sort of worm soup with only a few left-over cells remaining, transforming this gooey mass into a beautiful butterfly.

image

During the time of John’s Revelation from our Lord Jesus, we find the Lady Laodicea, the church at Laodicea, a lady sorely in need of such a complete metamorphosis.

She lived in the city that was formerly known as Diospolis, the City of Zeus. In the third century AD the name was changed by Antiochus to Laodicea after his wife, Laodice.

At that time Laodicea was a major, important trade and banking centre of the region and the people, as a result, became quite rich (James Fowler, The Revelation Series).

image

Laodicean Ruins

Religion was alive and well in the city. There was a beautiful temple of Zeus and a medical school that developed a “Phrygian powder” that was used as an eye salve.

The Lady Laodicea was self-sufficient and very proud. She boasted in her physical and material riches and claimed to be in need of nothing.

image

She seemed totally unaware of our Lord’s advise,

“Don’t store up treasures here on earth where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven … Where your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be (Matthew 6:19-21)”.

She paid scant attention to the One who really was the Source of everything … the One who called her wretched, miserable, blind, poor and naked.

image

She was neither hot nor cold in her love towards her heavenly Bridegroom. Yet, not chilled enough to the point of apostatizing.

This proud lady lacked spiritual dicernment, ignorant of the truth that spiritual riches, spiritual clothing, spiritual eyesight can only be found in Him who is Truth (Colossians 2:3).

Once upon a time, I related very well to this lady. I was dressed beautifully in the purple robes of religious riches.

My neck was adorned with the necklace of diamond-like “gifts of the Holy Spirit” and around my wrists, golden bracelets jingled in tongues.

image

I proudly pranced like a peacock, delighting in all my wealth of spiritual snobbery, thinking myself quite advanced and favored by our Pappa, higher up the ladder into heaven than others. I was oblivious to the fact that this was the stairway to hell.

Yet, I was poor and wretched, naked to the core of my being, but I didn’t know it.

I blindly followed the world and joyfully participated in building all sorts of golden calves at the foot of Mount Sinai, instead of going up Mount Zion to meet my Lord and feast on His glory.

image

Instead of being blessed, as I thought I was, a gnawing hunger in my heart told another story; one of a lady who was cursed in her self-righteousness and her pride.

My soul was tormented by an acute loneliness; yet I was in the company of many lost souls in the same predicament.

And my heart cried out to the only One who had the power and authority to seek and save the lost.

image

I could faintly hear our Lord’s gentle invitation to buy gold from Him that has been purified by fire, white garments to cover my nakedness as well as ointment for my spiritual blindness (Revelation 3:18).

Our Pappa took pity on me and on the spinning-wheel of suffering, He spinned a silky cocoon of His love and clothed my nakedness.

What happened there in complete secrecy between my King and I, is so holy, that, forever, it will stay a sweet, precious secret between two hearts.

image

Sufficient to say, He took all of my old self, dissolved it into worm soup, clothed me in a beautiful robe of butterfly wings and released me into the freedom of the eternal life of our Lord Jesus.

I emerged as a beautiful butterfly with wings glorious like an angel’s.

He brought me to the cleft in the rock at Mount Zion where I could stand before Him, poor in spirit, and humble in heart to receive the inheritance … to receive Him.

There, in Him, I could stand with an unveiled face, delighting myself in His glory.

image

He redeemed me from the ugliness of my proud, haughty self and replaced it with the humble, gentle beauty of our Lord Jesus.

He clothed me in the white robe of His righteousness … He transformed me into His Lady Ekklesia.

Much love xx

Mia

Michael’s blog can be found here

image

Linking-up with
image
image
image
30 thoughts on “Lady Laodicea vs Lady Ekklesia

  1. Mia, I learn so much whenever I am in this place. Your words here are a beautiful masterpiece. What a story and tender testimony to your precious relationship with the Father. Thank you thank you friend. Blessings this Palm Sunday.

    • Hi Elizabeth
      I am always honored when I read your poetry. I just love the genre of poetry for it allows you to open up and give voice to deep things that would have been buried away, deep in the recesses of your heart, because to talk about those things openly, hurts to much! Thank you for your kind words.
      Much love
      Mia

  2. Mia, this is such a moving post!!! Your writing is so beautiful and your message so powerful!! What an awesome work the Lord completes in us when he accepts us in our lowest state and transforms us, lifts us up from the mire, and saves us from ourselves!! I am so thankful for the hope we have in Him! ~ I also wanted to thank you dear friend for the kind and thoughtful words on my post remembering my Grandpa! Your comments were precious and meant so much to me!!! Blessing to you 🙂

    • Dear Amanda
      Your love for your grandfather truly gripped my heart. I will be honored if my children and grandchildren will feel the same about me when I am promoted to heaven.
      Much love
      Mia

  3. What a powerful metaphor- that metamorphosis. I’ve always wondered what actually happens to that caterpillar. I won’t ever forget that worm soup…literally a whole new creation. Thank you, friend.

    • Hi Ashley
      I was also amazed at the lesson our Pappa teaches us through the butterfly! It brings joy to my heart that we can leave all in His hands trusting that He will do a beautiful and proper job of transforming us.
      Much love to you, dear friend
      Mia

  4. Amen. I love the image of the butterfly as a symbol of how God has transformed our lives. I have several pieces of jewelry that I wear to remember this, and I frequently get to share the meaning when someone says, “nice necklace.” Years ago, I heard a pastor say that the word “transform” in Romans 12:1-2 actually means “metamorphosis” in the Greek. It has stuck with me. I love being a butterfly for Jesus.

    Great post. 🙂

    • Yip, I agree with that one. Love to fly in the freedom of His life as His butterfly in His kingdom of eternity.
      Blessings to you
      Mia

  5. Mia, Thank you for sharing this. There’s a lot here that I didn’t know about, and there is a lot in this that’s convicting. I know that my heart can be prideful and I have to actively stand against it. I’m either proud or insecure.. very rarely finding that beautiful perfect ground of peace and confidence in Him. I guess that is why God is telling me to be still and stay close. Thank you for this gentle and humble reminder. God bless.

    • Dear Kim
      Being prideful the one moment and insecure the next, is the result of that monster called shame. The first terrible emotion man experienced after the Fall. Please, try to see it for the truth it is and remind yourself of that fact often. Ask your Pappa to heal your heart of shame. He loves doing that!
      Much love to you
      Mia

    • Hi Renee
      Thank you, dear one, and yes, becoming a new creation in Him is what we were bought back for from the kingdom of darkness.
      Blessings
      Mia

  6. What an important lesson! Thank you for sharing some of your story. We can learn so much from God’s Word. How amazing that God revealed your religiousness so you could transform into one who could be used by Him for His purposes. This love relationship is so much better than religion.

    Blessings and love,
    Debbie

    • Hi Debbie
      Yes,dear one, not only is this relationship sooooo much better; the two are the complete opposites of one another. Thank you for always encouraging me.
      Much love to you
      Mia

Leave a Reply

