Feeding on the Fodder of Law

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

But-“When God our Savior revealed His kindness and love, He saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of His mercy”(Titus 3:4-5a,NLT).

Jesus replied,”You are blessed, Simon son of John, because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being (Matthew 16:17, NLT).

Kisses from Heaven

image

There was a time when I would listen to sermons on this costly gem of spiritual truth. The person preaching would sincerely use all his charisma and skills on the art of debate, trying to convince me of this truth.

Yet, I would walk away with a heart yearning and longing for the wonder called God … a heart filled with more spiritual hunger and thirst than before. I thought myself to be quite dull and slow of understanding.

image

I was like a sheep sitting at the banquet table of our Pappa in heaven, but I was not fed. Actually, my heart was starving of spiritual hunger and I didn’t know why!

And the hungrier I became, the more fervent my religious endeavours would become which, in the end, left me with only spiritual anorexia.

I hated myself for my detestable life and my inability to live a life worthy of our Heavenly Father.

image

I was roaming the fields of the law of self-effort, eating only fodder and grass with the beasts like Daniel’s King Nebuchadnezzar.

But our Pappa saw His girl, heard the cries of her heart and paid attention to her silent tears. He knew I needed to see myself through His eyes to enable me to realize that I also was part of the crown of His creation.

When I was able to realize my value and worth to Him, I could finally stop striving to earn His love. He freely gave me the gift of His marvelous grace to dare to love myself.

Our Lord Jesus revealed to me the answer to my dilemma through His words to Simon Peter (Matthew 16:17).

image

When Paul wrote this letter to Titus, the first Christians had all experienced the love and kindness of our Lord personally, each one for himself and I was desperately trying to ride on the back of their revelation from heaven.

Now, this of course is a useless, futile endeavour if ever there was one. I was rich beyond imagination as far as the good and righteous deeds, according to my mind, were concerned.

Yet, I had no chance of entering the Kingdom of heaven on the back of another. Neither did my religious self-efforts opened its door.

image

As our Lord told His diciples after His discourse with the rich young man,

“In fact, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of God” (Mark 10:25)”.

Obviously He was referring to the rich young man staking his claim to heaven on his impeccable law observance.

image

He was spiritually rich and self-sufficient. So our Lord made the mountain of self-effort a lot steeper by asking him to go and sell all he owned and challenged him to climb it! And he definitely did not have the feet of a mountain goat!

Just like Paul in his letter to the Corinthians, I had to come to the end of myself to stop relying on myself (2 Corinthians 1:9).

I had to LEARN to rely on my Pappa and to ask HIM to reveal His kindness and love to me personally like He did to the early Christians … I had to ask Him to save me from myself.

image

He revealed to me a Person … our sweet generous Lord Jesus.

He was not in the least bothered by any man-made doctrines or interested in any theological discourse that only feeds the spirit of division as we have seen all through the 2000 years after our Lord’s sojourn on earth.

In fact, referring again to Paul’s letter to Titus, we see that Paul warned him,

image

“Do not get involved in foolish discussions about spiritual pedigrees or in quarrels and fights about obedience to Jewish laws. These things are useless and a waste of time (Titus 3:9).

I am convinced that Paul meant all religious law observance, no matter under what denominational umbrella or efforts to earn our Pappa’s generous smile of love and redemption.

I was totally unable to reach to heaven to bring our God down to earth. There was no need to; in fact, it only hindered our Pappa to reveal Himself to me, for law and grace do not mix. Never have and never will!

imageBut I didn’t know it! Yet, my ignorance posed no problems for our Pappa.

Through our Lord Jesus, He stepped down from heaven and personally revealed to my heart the kindness … the love … the wonder … the goodness … the beauty that is God.

He stepped down from heaven and revealed Himself to me personally to embrace me with the glory and warmth of His smile … to envelop me in His Loving Embrace.

Much love xx

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

image

24 thoughts on “Feeding on the Fodder of Law

  1. Mia, what a treasure that Jesus has shown you the treasures of true intimacy with him. This: “I had to LEARN to rely on my Pappa and to ask HIM to reveal His kindness and love to me personally like He did to the early Christians.” Isn’t this just it? No wonder the words of the preachers fell flat…you didn’t yet know this Jesus’ love for yourself. And now, not only does it extend to your readers, but you are learning how to love yourself because you are seeing yourself through his eyes. What beautiful miracle.

    • Hi Ashley
      Yes, our worlds and opinion of ourselves change completely once we start to see through His eyes, don’t they! That is what makes our Pappa so incredibly special; His love for each one of us as individuals.
      Much love to you, dear friend
      Mia

  2. I read this through a few times. “He freely gave me the gift of His marvelous grace to dare to love myself.” I’ve been there too. Knowing the love of God and how precious we are to Him… that is freedom in so many ways.

    • Dear One
      That is true words. We can find freedom only and only through His grace, compassion and love. Glad you were encouraged.
      Much love
      Mia

  3. I could read this over and over again. So much of it touched me. But I really needed these words… “He freely gave me the gift of His marvelous grace to dare to love myself.” That dare to love myself…something I’m working on. Thank you for your beautiful words. Blessings to you.

    • Dear Beth
      Oh, dear friend, you should ask your Pappa to show you how incredibly much you mean to Him and help you to dare to love yourself. I know we don’t find this easy. Praying for you.
      Blessings
      Mia

  4. Always such beautiful word pictures! That’s it, isn’t it Mia! Just a one on one, personal encounter with the Living God! A taste of the richness of His love for us!

    I read on fb the other day, “LOVE NOT LAW.” The simplicity of it all, just struck me. Oh that we each might know this richness of His love, that He has for us all!

    Blessings! Continually UNITED in Him each Tuesday,
    Jen

    • Dear Jen
      If we think of it; we as human parents desire to have a relationship of love and respect with each one of our kids! Why would we even consider that it will not be much more the desire of the heart of the perfect Father! Thank you for your link every week.
      Blessings
      Mia

  5. Beautifully written Mia. 🙂 One of the most important things we can do is to be totally dependent on God, because His Word is eternal and unfailing. The one thing that will remain constant and forever true is God’s love for us; His love never fails us. It’s always there, especially when we need it the most! When everything in our world seems to be a mes and constantly changing, it’s a comfort to know that we have a never changing God.

    Blessings and love,
    Denise

    • Dear Denise
      I am so comforted by the fact that our Pappa’s love in not only unconditional, but also unchanging. We, on the other hand, can be sooo fickle! Phillip Yancey says in one of his books that there is nothing we can do to make Him love us more, or nothing that we do, will cause Him to love us less.
      Blessings
      Mia

  6. Mia, I just loved so many of your lines and truths, but this one sticks with me most: “I was roaming the fields of the law of self-effort, eating only fodder and grass with the beasts like Daniel’s King Nebuchadnezzar.” What a great analogy! Thank you for linking up each week!

    • Dear Jane
      I love your weekly link-up. It makes us think and it amazes me how each one of us experience a specific Scripture verse. Thank you!
      Blessings
      Mia

  7. But our Pappa saw His girl, heard the cries of her heart and paid attention to her silent tears. He knew I needed to see myself through His eyes to enable me to realize that I also was part of the crown of His creation.

    AMEN, Mia. Love you.

    • Dear Emily
      I know you know what I mean, dear one. It is such good news once we experience this truth for ourselves.
      Bless your sweet heart.
      Mia

  8. when we stop relying on ourselves is when I feel we finally are free to gain from our Father, when we stop thinking we are right in our own eyes we see how we cannot do anything without Him. Beautiful post Mia

    • Dear Jenn
      I think if we could just have a small glimpse of the incredible beauty of heaven, we will realize how totally impossible it is to think that we can add anything to our salvation. If we could, our Lord Jesus died in vain. Thank you for always encouraging me.
      Blessings
      Mia

  9. Mia, I totally hear you and agree. It is so silly to argue doctrine. I don’t get it…how there are particulars, yet there remains grace…how the most important thing is just knowing this God revealed in the Bible. Keeping in His embrace. Thank you for sharing.

    • Dear Jacqui
      If you think about it; how can a relationship with the source of all love be documented and regulated in any dogma. It is just not possible. Thank you for visiting.
      Blessings
      Mia

  10. Dearest Mia,
    What amazing liberty there is when we discover this truth for ourselves! I’m so pleased that you’ve come so far and that share it with the rest of us!
    Blessings!
    Jamie

    • Dear Jamie
      Yes, we need to experience our Lord for ourselves to truly know how much He loves us. Thank you for visiting!
      Blessings
      Mia

    • Dear Pamela
      Yes, we sometimes forget that our Pappa delights in each one of His children in a personal way and that He has no favorites.
      Blessings
      Mia

Leave a Reply

