The Rest of The Have Nots

image

God’s Thought’s to Me

At that time Jesus prayed this prayer, “O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, thank you for hiding these things from those who think themselves wise and clever, and for revealing them to the childlike. Yes, Father, it pleased you to do it this way” (Matthew 11:25-26, NLT).

The Childlike

image

There was a time when I was a potbellied, gluttonous religious snob. The repertoire of my snobbishness consisted of a mountainous rubble heap of useless knowledge and education about the Scriptures.

Oh, and I had nearly all the current religious conventions and newest gimmicks under my belt.

I looked down my snobbish nose at the have nots, the uneducated, the ignorant, the prostitutes who annointed our Lord Jesus’ feet with their tears and the detestable tax collectors climbing trees to catch a glimpse of their Lord.

image

The childlike who were open and honest to recognize and perceive their spiritual ignorance and need to run into the open Arms of their Pappa God and receive the rest our Lord promised.

I was marching to the beat of all the newest prophets doing the religious rounds and their innovations, but I could never find that much coveted rest.

image

When I was thrown to the proverbial ground like Paul by a gentle voice from heaven, I heard no condemnation, no rebuke, no hatred or I-told-you-so. My Pappa knew I didn’t know what I was doing.

No, I heard the gentle invitation of our Lord Jesus to come to Him for He knew I was so incredibly heavily burdened and yoked beyond my ability to endure with the ways of the world. He offered me His yoke of love, grace, mercy and compassion.

image

He offered me His life, His soft and easy yoke, His rest. Like a mother, He gathered me into His arms and fed me with pure spiritual milk as I learned to rest at His breast, cuddled in His Loving Embrace.

Much love xx

Mia

I am grateful to link-up again with a wonderful bunch of ladies at Five Minute Friday. Join us at

image

Also with Sandra
image
42 thoughts on “The Rest of The Have Nots

  1. I love that God doesn’t put heavy yokes on us. When I am feeling burdened by something, not for something, I know it’s probably not from the Lord. Yes, His yoke is easy, His burden light. Great post, Mia!

    • Dear Jaqui
      You have answered a question that has been in my heart today. When to know when something is of our Lord and when not. Thank you and also for your visit!
      Much love XX
      Mia

    • Dear Nikki
      It never cease to amaze me how free and abundantly our Pappa wraps His grace and love and mercy around us, new every morning! He knows so well that we are totally unable to function as we should without Him being our life.
      Blessings and love to you, dear friend
      Mia

    • Dear Elizabeth
      I am always so glad when someone is encouraged here at my blog. That is such a gift from our Pappa God!
      Blessings and love to you
      Mia

    • Dear Diane
      Yes, my friend, when we humble ourselves before our Lord, He treats us with such respect and gentleness, doesn’t He!
      Much love
      Mia

  2. I love your beautiful space and stopping by each Friday! Thank you for this reminder that we can always rest in His loving arms. Blessings, sweet friend! πŸ™‚

    • Dear Mel
      Thank you for all your visits! I really appreciate your kind comments. Yes, dear one, it is truly the best place to rest; in His Loving Embrace.
      Much love and blessings to you
      Mia

    • Dear Joy
      Oh, I love beatiful pictures and they tell a lot about a story words sometimes cannot, don’t they! Thank you for your visit.
      Much love to you
      Mia

  3. Mia, I’m so grateful, with you, to know that God always knows how incredibly heavily burdened we are by the yoke of our sin. True rest is such a gift. Beautiful writing!

    • Dear Missy
      What amazes me even more is that He does not condemn us for our sin, He tells us to give Him our burdens and just rest in Him. Wonderful.
      Much love and blessings to you
      Mia

  4. Definitely. May we find ourselves increasingly surrounded by the “least of these”…realizing they are our brothers and sisters in so many ways…:)

    • Dear Wick
      It truly amazes me how our Lord does not have any favorites. He gives Himself to each one of us as if you are His only child!
      May we have His love in our hearts for all Pappa’s children.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

    • Hi Micey
      Thank you sooo much dear friend. It brings joy to my heart if you can find rest at my place. Hope you are well on the ship!
      Much love XX
      Mia

    • Dear Jennifer
      I think we are all sort of a snob until our humble gentle Lord gets hold of us and transforms us. Yes, to think that He holds us in the palms of His hands, brings so much joy to my heart.
      Much love, sweet friend
      Mia

  5. Praying for you Mia – do not rush with anything but let the Spirit of God flow through to heal you. Breathe.. Thanks for dropping by and finding me at my blog. I will try to resend.. Must have missed something in copying – I was tired…lol:) Should have waited until this morning.
    Blessings to you,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

    • Dear Janis
      The pleasure is all mine. I love visiting your blog.Thank you so much for your concern and advise.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

  6. Ah, yes, dear Mia, the rest in his arms. All other forms of religiosity and performance to earn his favor are shabby counterfeits. So thankful for his grace and rest and the ways that takes shape in your life and testimony.

    • Dear Ashley
      I want to go as far as to say the way our Lord says. He calls all our feeble religious efforts filthy rags!
      Much love to you, dear friend, I am still praying for you!
      Mia XX

    • Dear Debi
      You know His voice is so loving, kind and gentle, it is just not possible to not want to listen and then obey! Thank you for visiting.
      Much love to you
      Mia

  7. Dear Mia,
    Isn’t it simply beautiful and a joy to finally find rest in His arms of love? So glad you have experienced it and you are sharing it with us. Love to you as we rest in His arms of love πŸ™‚

    • Dear Dolly
      Remember when the first Christians said that they cannot help, but share what they have received. My friend, this rest is also not something we cannot not share!
      Love to you
      Mia

  8. Oh sweet Mia… I love this! Such Restfulness offered in this post… such a gentle leading to the way to enter in! I too have lived both ways… Resting and full of Grace is much better! I am with you, my sister, leaning in to His Embrace!

    • Dear Karrilee
      Oh, my friend, to be freed from that proud, religious spirit brings us into such freedom; freedom only he who is the TRUTH can give us.
      Love and blessings to you
      Mia

    • Thank you for visiting. Oh yes, His rest is so much better that any other kind of rest. I am just as grateful for His wonderful promise.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Dear Amy
      Yes, dear one, although we can know much about Scripture, eternal life is to KNOW our LORD. Such simplicity we have made sooooo complex.
      Much love to you XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

