Wisdom: Sanctified Common Sense

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault (James 1:5, NIV).

Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you (James4:8, ESV).

A God Who Gives Generously

For a long time I have laboured under the potentially destructive religious teaching that we can be the masters of our own future, our prosperity, health and so forth.

image

Wow, this sounded too good to be true, but I lacked Godly wisdom to discern the truth at that stage of my walk with God. If this was true, my selfish self was definitely not going to miss out.

We only needed to speak positive words and blessings daily, into our and our loved ones’ futures. And that would ensure health, wealth, financial prosperity, career success for yourself and your children, and so the list of blessings went on and on and on.

What a time consuming blah-blah-blah this turned out to be. Common sense then, seemed a rare commodity in my life. Looking at the verses that birthed these teachings makes it look all so plausible and possible.

image

I remember how I cringed when my husband would use the saying that he was killing himself laughing.

Or even worse, when he would tell me how ill or discouraged or tired or just plain fed-up he was.

I am ashamed to admit that when he needed me to lean on, I would secretly try to break all the curses he was declaring over himself.

I think we are all familiar with the “Blessings and Curses”, the “Speak Life, not Death” teachings and the whole enchilada.

image

Oh, and don’t forget the angels eagerly awaiting Pappa’s children to speak His words, ready to fulfill our every wish, protecting Pappa’s honor by ensuring that His words will not return void (Isaiah 55:11)!!!

How can we be so gullible? Our Lord Jesus and the Apostles repeatedly warned us against the savage wolves in sheep’s clothing, shearing the sheep for their own profit and gain.

But we eagerly gobble up every teaching that does the religious rounds with no concern for discernment, let alone a bit of common sense.

image

Yes, we are repeatedly warned and encouraged to test the spirits, but only a few of us do! We are advised over and over not to believe every spirit we hear and that looks can be so deceiving.

And the famous teaching that was created by misusing verses like Proverbs 18:21, “The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit”.

image

I know of a lady who was an alcoholic and received the good advice from her therapist at the clinic where she received treatment that if she wouldn’t stop drinking, she would die.

A highly respected and sought-after teacher and deliverance fundi in the religious community where she lived, told her, on the other hand, that the therapist had put a curse on her life and tried very hard to break that curse by speaking “in tongues” that not even he could understand. That lady was me.

With all due respect, I don’t think our Pappa God understood either!

image

Needless to say, when I came to my senses, and that only through the grace of my Pappa, I knew I needed wisdom. Not just any wisdom, but the godly kind that I could only find by living and abiding in my Lord Jesus.

The letter of James gave me so much hope about a Pappa who loves me unconditionaly, a generous Pappa who would give me all the wisdom I needed, without finding fault!

And through experience, I found fault-finding and favoritism rampant in the congregations I attended. Yet, there are no black sheep in my Pappa’s family!!

image

Well this to me, sounded, and still do, like very good news! For I was very, very ill and needed to consider this trial a great and joyful opportunity to have my faith tested and refined in our Lord’s refiners fire.

I had to allow my endurance to develop and grow, to become perfect and complete in my dependence on my Pappa for every breath I take.

This secret was unlocked through that wonderful invitation from the same letter, “Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you” (James 4:8).

image

I have found that drawing deep into the life of our Lord Jesus, allows me to feast from the Tree of Life … to quench my thirst at the Fountain of Living Water … to hide in the shade and safety of His love … to rest in His Loving Embrace.

Much love xx

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image

20 thoughts on “Wisdom: Sanctified Common Sense

  1. Hello Mia,

    Thanks for sharing your life experience. Each of us called to follow Christ has faced some form of philosophy which runs counter to true, genuine biblical teaching. Jesus made reference to this in the parable of the Sower.

    I pray that many read your post a discover their freedom and purpose in Christ.

    MTJ

    • Dear MTJ
      I am amazed at how our Pappa uses even these destructive teachings to draw us closer to Him. I am joyfully ill with this disabling Fm/CFS for He has used it to bring me to my senses and to change my priorities in life. Now, I am not at all concerned with the things of the world and this present age, for my heart is resting in His Loving Embrace, feasting from the Tree of Life, waiting to one day finally see Him face to face.
      Much love to you
      Mia

    • Dear Emily
      Thank you, my friend, for your encouragement. Yes, dear one, after we have gone through much suffering, our hearts delight in seeking His wonderful, glorious face, don’t we!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  2. Dear Mia,
    What a powerful testimony you share of how God delivered you from false teachers and lies and brought you close to Him so you could experience His great love for you…I just noticed this in Luke 1:11-20 as Zacharias’ lack of faith did not keep God’s word about the birth of John the Baptist from coming true…Grateful for you sharing your story, my friend…love to you 🙂

    • Dear Dolly
      Oh yes, no amount of faith or lack thereof will prevent our Pappa to do what He had planned from eternity and that gives me so much assurance. Even when I can only turn the eyes of my heart to Him, He still holds me safe.
      Much love to you XX
      Mia

    • Dear Jane
      I need to thank you for challenging us every Monday morning to look deep into our hearts and then turn to Pappa afresh for new grace when we see all over again how very much we need Him!
      Hugs and blessings
      Mia

  3. I agree with Ashley. This is a powerful message and testimony. No black sheep in Papa’s family – I needed to read that tonight. Blessings and as always lots of prayers!

    • Dear Jean
      We are so used to this world showing favoritism, that it has crept into the churches as well. But not so with Pappa. He washes us all as white as snow!!!
      Much love
      Mia

  4. Hi dear Mia, your words are so full of compassion and love and I enjoy your layout too. I was directed here through Markus . Kind regards and blessings Sharon

    • Dear Sharon
      I am so glad to meet you. I am glad Markus directed you here. Do you also have a blog! Thank you for visiting!
      Much love
      Mia

  5. Wow, friend — what a powerful testimony you share here. And those two verses you begin with are two of my favorites. The first is the central verse of our parenting, reminds me to be ever-dependent on God. The second the inspiration for the title of my blog. Dear Mia, I am amazed by what you share here, what God has brought you through and how you rely on him with such true faith in the moment by moment trust of one who endures great hardship and yet KNOWS her God. Bless you!

    • Dear Ashley
      Oh, my friend, what can I say! I am so very much nothing without my Pappa God and I love Him so much! And that, only because He has showered me with His love first. He promises us that when we go through deep waters, we will not drown. And the worst of fires, will not burn us!!
      Much love to you
      Mia

  6. Dear Mia, this post hits very close to my home. I’ve had fibromyalgia for over 25 years and severe migraines for much longer. For several years we were in a church that showered guilt upon me for being ill. I was to speak as though I was healed, and I would be. I was to break the curse of sickness, and I would be instantly healed. It’s so easy to take the holy scripture out of context and apply our own selfish, deeply flawed wisdom. By His marvelous grace, He opened our eyes and set me free of the burden of guilt and self-work. Has He chosen to heal me? Not yet. But, He’s used the illness to increase my faith, endurance, and hope in Him… to His glory. I’m forever thankful for His wisdom and love.
    Thank you once again for your beautiful, life-giving words!
    Much love ~ Mary

    http://www.marywomantowoman.blogspot.com

    • Dear Mary
      I am so sad to hear of your terrible experience and the spiritual abuse you had to endure as well. I think it is in Ezekiel 34 or 35 where our Pappa speaks His mind about the perpetrators of spiritual abuse and He is NOT impressed with them at all! But I have have found that He works good even out of that added suffering we had to endure from the hands of those who were supposed to love us and care for us in our time of need. Best of all, is the forgiveness He brings to our hearts towards them! Thank you for sharing with so much honesty.
      Much love to you
      Mia

    • Dear Jennifer
      I am glad to hear that you are becoming much more discerning! It is sooo necessary! Thanks for visiting.
      Much love XX
      Mia

Leave a Reply

