Songs the World Sings

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

To what can I compare this generation? It is like children playing a game in the public square. They complain to their friends, “We played wedding songs, and you didn’t dance, so we played funeral songs, and you didn’t mourn” (Matthew 11:16-17, NLT).

Prisons of Boxes

imagePain and exhaustion greet me every morning when I arise to the gift of a new day our Lord has made, a day to rejoice and to be glad in Him.

I am enveloped and embraced by a debillitating chronic disease, Fm/CFS. According to the clever people, this illness has disabled my whole nervous system and not much is working the way it should!

Sometimes, when my bird friends welcome the new day with a beautiful song, their joyful singing cause a sensory overload in my body and pain washes over me like the waves of the sea, breaking on the sand … wave upon wave upon wave of excruciating pain.

image

When the frolicking rays of the sun invite me to come and play this game called life, I have to seek shade and darkness for their brightness pierce my body … stabbing … cutting … wounding, and the result, more pain!

My mind is encamped by another Fibro friend, Mr Fog! This  guy steals my thoughts and words like a thief in the night;  for this one truly is invisible!

image

But this box has another side … the only side visible to the world. It is beautifully wrapped in colorful gift wrap. It is decorated with satin ribbons and perky bows of lace … a frivilous box fiiled with jokes and tears.

imageBut this is a facade … a heartbreaking, lying facade. It tells another story the world chooses to believe and adds tons upon tons of heartache. For it causes a short-circuit, overburdening an already disabled nervous system.

The world mostly finds it easier to label this illness as a monster in the mind; a psychological monster.

But this time the pain cuts much deeper than flesh … it cripples the heart and the soul. This monster has the ability to inflict pain where it hurts the most.

Yet, our Pappa God, in His divine wisdom, knew that I was held captive, floating aimlessly in another prison … the prison called “The Ways of The World”. The prison warden of this jail was a detestable master of telling lies.

image

He overwhelmed me with  neatly wrapped boxes of systems, rules and laws. Political systems … economical systems … social systems … systems of morality … but … the most dangerous of all;  religious systems, laws and regulations.

Systems and laws forcing the  common folk  to hold their tongues and not query the status quo.

image

The maestros of these songs want to play wedding songs for their followers to dance … or funeral songs for them to cry. They love a charade of play-acting and role-playing with them as the directors of activities.

They call the shots, but are seldom happy with our performance for we can never measure up to their demands.

We are damned if we do … and damned if we don’t … So the games go on and on and on in a never ending circle of performance.

image

And I danced and mourned and cried and performed until the blessed day arrived when my Pappa released me from that unbearable burden … that prison of pretense … of trying to please the world and the directors of its ways.

Our Pappa took away my ability to mourn and dance and perform on the lyrics of the songs the world sings. My feet and my heart ached from  all the useless striving on the dance floor of life.

image

He freed my heart and spirit from the prison of this world and gave me citizenship in heaven.

He showed me the absolute futility of trying to do what only He can do and which He does with excellence, saving me and His creation from the chains of sin, death, chaos and destruction.

He wiped away all my tears, healed my broken heart and whispered love-filled words to my soul. His song of love, joy and peace opened a new world to my understanding.

He opened all the worldly boxes imprisoning me, freed me and gathered me into His rest … into His life … into His Loving Embrace.

Much love XX

Mia

Linking-up with

image

image

image

image
14 thoughts on “Songs the World Sings

  1. Mia,

    So nice to have you stop by my post “Why You’re Never Too Old,” from the Imperfect Prose link up. Thankful for you, and for our Abba’s wisdom too. 🙂

    Wow, what a collection of unique photos here. I’m sorry about your fibromylagia. My grandma has that too and aches often. It sounds hard.

    Have a lovely week,

    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

    • Hi Jennifer
      Glad you stopped by. Yes, dear one, Fibro is not easy, but His grace is always enough! The pictures tell the story all by itself, doesn’t it!
      Much love
      Mia

  2. oh, dear Mia, it is hard to fathom the depth of your pain from what could be so beautiful, such as a bird singing, and sunshine…praying God continues to comfort you…yet I am so humbled by how you still continue to love Pappa God and you encourage others through your words…Thank you, my sweet friend 🙂

  3. This is a beautiful post with a wonderful testimony. I almost cried thinking of all the pain you daily face…but your face it as joyfully as you can with Christ. I hopped over to your blog from Renee Ann Smith’s linkup and enjoyed visiting. Have a wonderfully blessed day!!

  4. wow Mia this is piercing writing. I can hear your cries and cried along with you. I love how you call Him Pappa. just love it. You keep fixing your eyes on Him and that is the only way many days we all survive. Keeping you in my prayers.

    • Hi dear Jean
      Yes, dear one, we can only keep ourselves in Him, abiding in His Life, fully assured that whatever life may bring, He is there to carry us through all the storms. All we need to do, is to abide in Him.
      Much love
      Mia

  5. Wow, Mia. This is so powerful. Thank you for your honesty in sharing these crippling limitations and those boxes you’d lived in before Jesus set you truly free. My heart broke for you as I read of your everyday suffering and your continual choice to praise Jesus in the midst. The way you are living in freedom in spite of your suffering is such a powerful testimony, friend. Bless you, Mia.

    • Hi dear Ashley
      Yes, my friend, although this illness is not easy to live with, I can honestly say that our Lord brought only good out of the suffering! I would not want it any other way for I don’t know where I would have been if He didn’t see it fit to bring this into my life.
      Much love
      Mia

  6. The most powerful thing for me in this was the bit about birdsong. That a serenade of such sweetness should be transformed into a sea of pain is so cruel. It illustrates perfectly the wrongness of illness, the brokenness of this world. Come, Lord Jesus.

    • Hi dear Tanya
      Oh how my heart sings with yours, “Come Lord Jesus, come!”. Some days it is just harder than others like my soul grows weary from pain. But as always, I know His grace will be enough!
      Much love
      Mia

Leave a Reply

