A God Who Flies

image

God ‘s Thoughts to Me

Like an eagle rouses her chicks and hovers over her young, so He spread His wings to take them up and carry them safely on His pinions. The Lord alone will guide them; they followed no other gods (Deuteronomy 32:11-12).

Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings (Psalm 17:8, NIV).

An Empty Nest

image

The year of 2013 is leading me into a whole new era of my life. Both my sons have spread their wings and are flying away into the big wide world, finding their own place and purpose in life and in the heart of their Pappa God. But this world is big, and cruel and dangerous!

It is not easy … actually, it is downright horrible for a mom who’s heart is not and will never be ready to have an empty nest … a mother who wants to pick them up and carry them constantly on the wings of her love … a mother who has to carry them now even more on the wings of her prayers to the Throne of Grace.

image

They have always lived so close to me that they were like sweet summer apples of my eye. When I looked at them, they could see their reflection shining with love and affection on the smooth rounding of my eye.

Just like I am the apple of my Pappa’s eye as I live and love and have my being in Him … nestled in the shadow of the wings of His love (Acts 17:28).

This made me realize that my love for them is only a faint reflection … a glimmer … a morsel … a beautiful fraction of the love our Heavenly Pappa cherishes in His heart for each and everyone of His children.

A.W. Tozer wrote of our Pappa,”An infinite God can give all of Himself to each of His children. He does not distribute Himself that each may have a part, but to each one He gives all of Himself AS IF THERE WERE NO OTHERS,”.

image

This brings joy to my heart, for I know that my Pappa cherishes them even more than I do. Moses told the Israelites in Deuteronomy of their Heavenly Father’s extraordinary care while He led them out of the Egypt of their captivity.

He uses the metaphor of the eagle, who of all the bird species, lavishes extraordinary care and attachment on her eaglets … who cherishes her young more than most of our other feathery friends.

When her newly fledged progeny has grown and developed enough to soar on their own into the big wide sky of the big wide world, she helps and supports them on the tips of her wings in their first feeble attempts at flying. She directs them and encourages them with her heart soaring all over the world wherever they go!! That’s me!

Frederick Buechner said in his work, Telling the Truth, “You can kiss your family and friends good-bye and put miles between you, but at the same time you carry them with you in your heart, your mind, your stomach, because you do not just live in a world, but a world lives in you.”

It gives me the assurance that although my fledglings are soaring far, high and wide into the Egypt of this world, their omnipresent Pappa goes before them.

image

He gives all of Himself to each of my two treasures, carrying them … leading them through all the horrors of the wilderness of life lying ahead … guiding them safely into their eternal inheritance of His Kingdom of Life. For they are the apples of not only my, but also of their Heavenly Father’s Eye.

Much love xx

Mia

Linking-up with Charlotte.

image

Linking with Emily at Imperfect Prose.
image
23 thoughts on “A God Who Flies

  1. It’s so, so hard. There’s the thought that when mothering days are over when the nest empties. I find myself praying more now than ever. I like the quote–we still carry them in our heart, mind and stomach. The picture of Jesus in the eye is breathtaking. Fibro is not fun.

    • Hi Pamela
      I am honored by your visit. Oh yes, dear one, we pray now more than ever for we know that Pappa God is always with them and loves them more than we do! Do you also suffer from Fibro? It truly is not fun, but, how do they say … BUT GOD!!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  2. Oh MIa, as I too near this season I appreaciated your post. I dread the day, I don’t want to say goodbye yet I know God has specific plans for them. I too have FMS and they bring me such joy. I look forward to seeing the new plans in a different season that will come clear for you

    • Dear Christa
      Yes, it is not easy to let them go! On the bright side, my husband and I are getting to know each other all over again and that is wonderful! I am sad to hear you also suffer from Fibro! But, His grace is always sufficient.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Hi Renee
      Thank you for your kind words. Yes, our Heavenly Pappa is the best parent ever. In fact, the parental love we have for our children is derived from Him alone.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Hi Karen
      Yes, dear one, we just don’t see it yet. I am already looking forward to the grandchildren! Thanks for your visit.
      Much love
      Mia

  3. The verse from Deuteronomy is rich with meaning. Thank-you for sharing it. How much our Father God loves us!! The pictures you have chosen go so well with your words.
    Blessings this weekend, with love
    Carol

  4. I love the use of the eagle to instruct us here, Mia. And that Tozer quote is so great — yes, our God loves each as if we were only one. That unimaginable, infinite love. Thank you for sharing your mama heart here. Praying for you in this time of transition and sending you much love.

  5. Great images — the eye and the eagle. Thank you for sharing your mother’s heart and the Father’s perfect love. How I love that Tozer quote. Yes, he gives it all, as if each is the only one! What a miracle. Praying for you in this transition time, dear Mia.

  6. Hi Mia,
    I’m so glad we connected through Mindy today! A.W. Tozer is one of my very favorites, and I love that quote about God loving each of us as if we were the only ones. What a wonderful truth!

    As for the empty nest, girl – I feel your pain. My son and daughter are at their respective colleges, and my son is graduating in May. Soon he’ll be off on his life’s adventure, and I’m fully trusting the Lord to direct his paths!

Leave a Reply

