The Shadow of The King

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

Those who live in the shelter of the most High, will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. This I declare about the Lord: “He is my refuge, my place of safety. He is my God and I trust Him” (Psalm 91:1-2, NLT).

For these rules are only shadows of the reality to come. and Christ Himself is that reality. (Colossians 2:17, NLT).

They serve in a system of worship that is only a copy, a shadow of the real one in heaven (Hebrews 8:5, NLT).

A Sabbath Rest

image

The apostle Paul had a hard time with the first believers in the epistile to the Hebrews. He needed the patience and endurance of a Job when he wrote the letter to the forever nursing baby believers.

They seemed to be unable and slow to understand the better things in our Lord Jesus and wanted to revert back to their old religious system under the law of Moses. Their minds were still veiled, unable to comprehend that it was all only the shadow of the King!

I have been searching in vain for a long time for the wings of our Pappa. I craved the shelter of His love … the rest of the Shadow of His Presence. I couldn’t understand why I never seemed to be able to find that safe place of refuge, for I was trying my utmost best … yet … not a single step of progress was made. Until … I suffered a severe case of total  burn-out.

image

Did I learn my lesson the first time? No ways! The futile, useless cycle started again when I recovered enough to try again! I was like King Nebuchadnezzar who roamed the fields for 7 years. And just like him, after my time had passed, I looked up to heaven, when my sanity returned (Daniel 4:33).

According to Wikki Answers a shadow is formed when an opaque object blocks the travel of light. Light travels in straight lines and any barrier along its path averts the rays striking the barrier. This forms a region of darkness, shaped like the surface of the object obstructing the light.

The verses from the epistle to the Hebrews became alive to me and I knew that I was still dwelling in the shadow of the Law of religious traditions, ways and efforts. And to me … oh well … it looked like the real deal!

image

What an incredible burden I carried, breaking me down one step at a time. Mix that with my well-meant heroic efforts to impress my Pappa, I was cooking a poisonous brew, just like Snow White’s stepmother. It guarantees to kill with just one bite! And just like that disastrous apple, it all looked so beautiful and delicious … so … just right!

Crying out to Pappa, light dawned from heaven, expelling the darkness clouding my mind and understanding. I have sold my heart to a shadow of our Lord Jesus that was only a shadow, a faint preview of the good things to come.

image

All these traditions, self-effort and THINGS were a barrier blocking the Rays of the Sonshine Pappa lavished upon me. But all I could see was the shadows, resembling the good things we were made to experience when we live our life abiding in the reality from heaven, our Lord Jesus.

Our Pappa promised us that the old system of law observance will cripple us, as it did the Hebrews in Moses’ time. Not Moses nor Joshua were able to lead them into the spiritual place of rest.

But our Pappa prepared another oasis of rest … a place under His wings … a place in the Shadow of His Presence to shelter us against the scorching desert heat of this world (Hebrews 4).

image

Dear Ones, let us cease from all our useless labours … let us not harden our hearts when we hear the gentle voice of Pappa urging us along into that special place of rest … into His Loving Embrace.

Come, let us leave the shadows of futulity behind and enter into the Life of our Lord Jesus … the true Sabbath Rest.

Much love xx

Mia.

Linking-up with.

image

 

20 thoughts on “The Shadow of The King

  1. Oh how this photo touches my heart. So peaceful, so comforting. I sit and think of what useless labors I’ve been trying to give to Him. You’ve given me much to ponder my friend.

    • Hi dear Barbie
      Thank you! It truly is how He carries us. I think we are the ones taking the dive from that peaceful place of rest. But He collects us tenderly for He knows us very well and makes provision for all our faults because of His love.
      Much love
      Mia

    • Dear Melanie
      Yes, my friend, I think it is in Galatians where Paul says the Spirit strives against the flesh!! It is a daily denying of ourselves and following Him. I am so grateful for His new mercies and grace every morning!
      Much love
      Mia

  2. I live in a desert and I know the scorching sun all too well. That lovely, cool shade is so refreshing and restful. The darkness under His wing where I can focus on just hearing His heartbeat and not worry about any distractions sounds just about right.

    Blessings!

    • Hi Nikki
      Dear Friend, it took me a long time to realize that only those things that we do for His glory through His grace bring glory to Him. That includes mundane things like eating and drinking!
      Much love XX
      Mia

    • Hi dear Janis
      Our Pappa tells us so much through nature. Their praise and worship of Him consist of such simplicity of being just who and what they are. An important lesson we can learn!
      Much love XX
      Mia

    • Hi Jennifer
      Yes, dear friend, there is not any other place I would rather be that in Him, under the Shadow of His Love!! Thanks for visiting.
      Much love XX
      Mia

  3. Love this! So true – it takes time to realize that we are no longer under the law but under the covenant of Grace through Christ. We are so conditioned to “be good enough” or “earn” God’s grace and promises. Thanks for this reminder. I also loved the pic of your bible all marked up. 🙂

    • Hi Aisha
      Yes, dear one, it does take us quite a while to move into the freedom of our Pappa, bought by our Lord Jesus at such a high price!
      Much love XX
      Mia

  4. Mia, what a blessing you are! What really struck me this week was when you said that you once were dwelling under the shadow of the law, but it seemed like the real deal — where you were “supposed” to be. Wow — haven’t we all been there at one time or another? It’s so easy to settle for a counterfeit when we aren’t focused on the Lord, sifting through lies and imitations.

    So glad I didn’t miss this! Great post.

Leave a Reply

