Sticks and Stones

image

God’s Thoughts to Me

If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are fooling yourself, and your religion is worthless (James 1:26, NLT).

Let your speech always be gracious, and seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person (Colossians 4:6, ESV).

Killing me Softly with His Words

Roberta Flack’s song, Killing Me Softly, was released in 1973 and has ever since been one of my favorite songs ever.

The song tells the story of a young boy, a singer who could bare your soul with the depth of his words. It is soooo romantic and beautiful beyond words! Have I ever mentioned that I am an incurable romantic?

image

When I saw the Scripture for today, I gasped for breath and immediately went into the fight or flight mode.

I was frightened as memories flooded my heart and I wanted to run … escape to a castle in my mind … a safehouse of pretence. For … I am a survivor of repeated verbal and subsequent emotional abuse.

image

I recall the the old English idiom, “Sticks and stones can break my bones, but words will never hurt me!”. How totally untrue, a lie from the bottom of the pit of falsehood.

Yes, there are words that can undo you in its beauty like the song of Roberta Flack, but, then, there are those that shred your heart slowly, cruelly until only fragments … tatters of your life remains.

image Yet, it cannot be observed with the naked eye. The invisible bruises of your heart can only be hidden behind a grimace, trying to pass itself off as a smile. But if you look deep enough through the windows of your soul, you might see a little child cowering in a corner … paralyzed with fear … whimpering:

Your cruel words

are a burning fire

viciously consuming

the tender green roots

of a longing

tongues of flames

licking up my will to be

to live to be just me

Your tongue a sword

writing a letter

of naked hatred

creating an identity

of shame

slowly destroying

the longing

the will to be just me

On the other side of the coin, I know that I am not fit to be the judge of the motives or reasons for these horrible actions against me, for I know that in some way or the other not one of us is totally innocent or without blame. We all need a good supply of salt before we talk to anyone!

image We all are the victims of our upbringing and the sins of our fathers. It does us well to pay careful attention and take Paul seriously when he admonishes the religious Jews, “You may think you can condemn such people, but you are just as bad, and you have no excuse” (Romans 2:1 NLT). Our tongues can cause havoc and irreparable damage without the grace of our God.

image

I am a survivor only because my Pappa took the broken tatters of my life, mended them and brought me into the life of our Lord Jesus … into His Loving Embrace.

He healed my broken heart, wooing me with His love … reminding me again … and again … and again of His endless love, until I was able to believe and receive the Light of a new morning from His Kingdom, dawning in my heart.

Much love xx

Mia

I am linking-up with Monday Morning Meditation at http://girlmeetspaper.com/

image
And Grace Laced Mondays. Join us at http://www.gracelaced.com/
image
And Rich Faith Rising
image

 

 

 

For the first time, linking-up with The Beauty in His Grip at http://www.thebeautyinhisgrip.com/

image

18 thoughts on “Sticks and Stones

  1. Mia,
    This line says it all: “I am a survivor only because my Pappa took the broken tatters of my life, mended them and brought me into the life of our Lord Jesus … into His Loving Embrace.”

    Sorry I didn’t make my way here sooner, but I’m so glad I did! Thanks for linking up! – Jane

    • Dear Jane
      Thanks for visiting, friend. Yes,dear one, just like we have received Him through grace, healing is just another gift we receive from His graceful hand!
      Love to you too
      Mia

  2. Dear Mia, I am so sorry for all that you endured. God bless you in your honesty and in your proclaiming God’s truth and goodness in the midst of it. You bring him such joy. Bless you, dear one.

    • Hi dear Ashley
      Thank you, my friend. Yes, abuse in whatever form is not right, but I am glad that we serve a God who specializes in binding up the broken hearted … setting them free! What a Pappa we have!!!
      Much love
      Mia

  3. It is terrible what hurtful word do to us. We should rely on God to help us hold back. and I believe if we work on getting our hearts and tongues right, our words will bless and edify instead of hurting and breaking. Thanks a lot for this post. Have a super blessed day!
    Love

    • Hi Ugochi
      You have a beautiful name! Thank you for visiting, dear one. Yes, only through grace will our words build up one another and not hurt the hearers.
      Blessings to you
      Mia

    • Hi Jennifer
      Thank you for visiting my blog. Yes, dear one, we do that at times. But nevertheless we are still there for one another! And that is important.
      Blessings
      Mia

  4. Oh, Mia. I’m sorry for the scars you must bear.
    Thank you for your candid words in this post. And for the forgiveness that you demonstrate, while holding onto principle. Grace and truth . . . reminds me of Someone else. 🙂

    • Dear Kelli
      Thank you for your words of encouragement! Yes, dear one, our Lord might not agree with abuse, yet He loves the abuser sooo.. much and sees the abused little one hiding behind the actions. I am glad you stopped by, thank you.
      Love to you
      Mia

    • Hi Karen
      Such truth in your words, girl! But our Lord does say we should love others we way we love ourselves. It therefore stands to reason that we should treat ourselves with respect as well. I am so excited at your progress with the band!
      Mia

  5. I am returning your visit from GraceLaced, and I am so glad I did. Your words spoke straight to my heart. I could relate to your experience and your pain. I, too, was a child exposed to the pain and harshness of bitter words. Some of those wounds still remain. But, by God’s grace, there is a freedom from the lies, and a healing from the pain. His Words, spoken to me, are a healing balm. Thanks for sharing on such a sensitive subject. God’s riches blessings to you!

    • Dear Ronda
      I am so sorry to hear that you went through such abuse as a little one! Yet, I have found that although there might always be a few scars, our Pappa works everything for our good, even the scars! And yes, this makes us appreciate His incredible love even more. So nice to have you as a guest at my blog!
      Mia

Leave a Reply

