The Zarephath of Sandy Hook

widow-at-zarepath

God’s Thoughts to Me

He doesn’t stop a lot of things that cause Him pain … your world is lost in darkness and chaos, and horrible things happen to those He is especially fond of. (The Holy Spirit to Mackenzie Allan Phillips, “The Shack”)

I swear by the Lord your God that I don’t have a single piece of bread in the house …. Don’t be afraid …. Make a little bread for me first …. There will always be flour and oil left in your containers. (1 Kings 17:12-14)

When you go through deep waters I will be with you,
When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up,
The flames will not consume you,
For I am the Lord your God,
the Holy One of Israel,
Your Savior!
(Isaiah 43:2-3)

When Little Words are best

All of a sudden while in the season of celebrating the birth of the Savior Child, we are staggering under the shock of the murder of so many innocent children at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut.

In one random, needless act of violence, the parents of 20 children and the seven families of the murdered adults have been ushered into their own Zarephath ….. into a smelting shop …. a workshop for refining metals! Zarephath means, “smelting, refining”.

Gos is with you2

Like the widow of Zarephath they feel utterly empty, not knowing how to carry on with their lives …..they have no faith …. no trust …. no love …. no flour …. no oil, but our Lord understands. Our Heavenly Father will again provide, like Elijah was sent to this widow.

They are going through the proverbial fire of oppresion. They are drowning in their tears of sorrow and we have not the slightest idea of the suffering, the smelting, the refining they are going through.

But we can walk with them, carry what burdens they are able to release into our trust. We can assure them that their Pappa God cries with them, collecting all their tears, saving them in a jar of love.

If they allow us, we can remind them that this refining, smelting fire will not consume them and all their tears of sorrow will not drown them.

God with you1

We can encourage them to give just the little trust and even their unbelief, to their Lord Jesus.
He is their Holy One, their Savior and He assures them that the little faith, the little trust they still have, will never run dry. He will see that the containers of their hearts will always be filled with Himself!

May our God enable us to walk quietly alongside these people without many clever words or Scripture verses. Let us pray for a heart full of compassion …. a heart able to share their pain.

Much love XX

Mia

Ps. I want to pay tribute to all the teachers who paid the ultimate sacrifice to save their students.

I am linking up with Barbie at Fresh Brewed Sundays. Thank you Barbie for providing your link as a place where we can share in the sorrow of your nation. You can find us at http://myfreshlybrewedlife.com/

Posted via DraftCraft app

14 thoughts on “The Zarephath of Sandy Hook

  1. Hi Ashley
    Oh, I know how those clever words and Scripture verses can rub salt into an already bleeding wound of suffering. I have found it sooo…. unloving! It strokes the ego of the other person or perhaps cover their insecurities. But I don’t condemn, for I used to do it myself.
    Bless you, dear friend, and I wish you and your family a wonderful God-filled Christmas.
    Mia

  2. Mia, I so appreciate your heart for the hurting. And I agree, our abiding presence that reminds those in pain of Jesus’ love is worth far more than clever words or an abundance of Scripture. When we sit with the hurting, we are acting as Jesus – Emanuel, God with Us.

    • Hi Phylis
      Thank you for your wonderful encouragement. I love spending time researching the Bible and its people. I also passionately love our Lord. Thank you for your visit. I so enjoy seeing you amongst my visitors.
      Hugs to you, dear friend
      Mia

  3. The verses from Isaiah are true. God walks with us through deep waters–and sometimes His presence is revealed through the loving presence of people of faith. I am thankful for believers that walked along side us when our son passed on to be with Jesus.
    We can look for opportunities to simply be present.

    Mia, thanks for your comment on my blog. I am glad to meet you. Visiting your site I noticed the words on your header. My daughter has fibromyalgia–her faith has been tested and deepened. She loves the Lord.

    • Hi Carol
      I am so sorry to hear about your son. Yes, our Lord never promised us an easy life …. just the opposite. But He promised to always be with us and working everything for good. Carol, I would love to meet your daughter for I know that us fibromites need to walk together. This is not an easy path and not many people understand us.
      Much love, dear friend
      Mia

  4. Your writing is beautiful! Yes, may we all walk quietly among them, carrying their burdens and praying them through. God, bring your healing, Your hope, Your peace!

    • Hi dear Barbie
      Yes, dear friend, I have found that amidst such tragedy people can so easily become Job’s friends. May we never do that!
      Hugs XX
      Mia

    • Hi Janis
      Thank you for your response. Yes, this tragedy touched my heart in a deep way. Your post yesterday really made me think …. so little,yet saying so much. Let me know if you need help.
      Much love
      Mia

  5. Hi Charlotte
    I think I am having the privilege for the first time to welcome you to my blog. Yes, must pray that our Pappa God will protect these people from Job’s friends. Bless you and much love.
    Mia

  6. Hi, thank you for your visit. Yes, they were six teachers that saved their students by paying with their lives. I know that cry of your heart to know if she knew our Lord. I think she did, looking at her unselfishness.
    Much love to you
    Mia

  7. Hi Mia,
    My heart and prayers are with those who are suffering from this horrible tragedy. How sad, yet courageous the kindergarten teacher that threw herself in front of her children. I hope and pray she knew the Lord.

    Blessings,

Leave a Reply

