An Ornament from Russia, with Love

pop 2

God’s Thoughts to Me

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has annointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom to the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn. ( Isaiah 61:1-2, NIV)

A Broken Matryoshka Heart

Before my beloved pappa was promoted to heaven about 8 years ago to meet His Saviour face-to-face, my wanderlust parents explored the beauty of Mother Russia.
They blessed me with a beautiful Russian lady-doll dressed in the traditional shapeless peasant jumper dress, a Matryoshka, or better known by her common name; a Babushka.

These ornaments date back to 1890 when they were the artistic brain child of a Russian folk crafts painter, Sergev Malyutin, and crafted by Vasily Zvyozdochkin.

skree

As I was contemplating the theme for this week, “the ornament”, this silent lady uttered a silent cry of despair.. Peeking through her big, blue lifeless eyes, the windows of her soul, I discovered an enigma…a metaphor within a metaphor. Her pearly pink rosebud mouth uttered a silent cry, a sigh of abuse…pain….neglect….rejection….and, tremendous suffering.

Her untold life story begged to be released as the hidden metaphor of her confinement within herself longed for freedom. Freedom for all the silent ones hiding within her…each telling their own stories, the age-old story of the craving for love. The craving to become a subject of affection and grace; to be released from the stigma of dead, nameless objectivity.

kind1

A craving to become the recipient of words softly and tenderly spoken in love, instead of a heart being bruised and battered by harsh ruthless shouting. The craving of a body longing to be fondeled and held in a caressing embrace instead of the absence of loving arms. A craving to be wanted, desired instead of feeling endured with cruel indeference. A craving to be reminded of happiness and joy, instead of crying tears without words….silent tears of pain and abandonment.

Until the Master Craftsman opened her up, whispering sweet love filled caressesĀ to the hearts of all the girls hiding inside. With determination He released all the broken ones within her soul from the prison of lies that have chained them in the dark prison cells of unworthiness, unlovable-ness, self-loathing, despondency and utter loneliness.

freeThey were cowering in the darkest corners of her heart when His Light ushered them out into a Kingdom not of this world…a Kindom of Light and Love and tenderly nursed them all back to life, eternal life….a life lived in Him….a life lived daily in His Loving Embrace.

That doll is me.

Much love to you

Mia

I am linking up today at The Run-a-Muck. Thank you Amber for allowing us to unchain our hearts. Come and join us at http://therunamuck.com/.

FCB Member

Posted via DraftCraft app

13 thoughts on “An Ornament from Russia, with Love

  1. Hi Danelle
    Yes, our Pappa heals us with unspeakable beauty, grace and compassion! It amazes me the way He uses everything, even our pain for our good and all to His glory! I am glad you linked up with Amber as well. How do they say…better late than never!
    Thank you XX
    Mia

  2. I feel your heart here Mia. You tell this story with such beauty and grace. God is the Healer. It brings tears my eyes Mia. This is a beautiful, well told story my friend. And Absolute Truth. Love you.

  3. Hi Elizabeth
    Yes, dear one, our Pappa’s love is alive, healing, redeeming, sanctifying. I think you get my drift. I love to get to know you to.
    Thank you for encouraging me!
    Mia

  4. Mia, this is a beautiful story of Redemption and Healing. Yes, He sets the captives free. Your heart and voice overflow here on the page, the touch of the Healer and Comforter marking every word and phrase. I love being in community with you at Ambers. It is an honor and privilege to write in community there with this precious group of women. Bless you.

  5. Hi Kath
    Lovely to have you visiting my blog. I feel honored! Yes, this a journey of healing…not an once off thing. And our Healer controls the whole process from start to finished!
    Thank you for your beautiful post to!
    Mia

  6. The dolls are exquisite, and the way you have woven their story and their concreteness into your story, I like it. May God continue to bless you in this journey and release.

  7. Mia- I love using the Matryoshka dolls to tell your story. So beautiful. I have some my dad brought back from Ukraine, I will no longer look at them the same.
    Blessings.

    • Yes, dear Melanie, they used to be just ornaments, but I can see now, that they are different for a reason. Thank you for visiting. Like always your post is gripping.
      Mia

  8. Wow, Mia. You commented recently on my blog that you had songs yet to sing. But in this painful metaphor here, you are telling your redemption song right now. One little girl after another receiving the Master’s touch of healing.

    • Yes,dear Ashley, spot on! I am overjoyed you heard my song. There are many verses yet to sing, though, as the Conductor chooses!
      Thank you.
      Mia

  9. I love your perspective on this here – and can relate to that unpicking and unravelling. Some times there are so many layers, aren’t there? Your compassion for the broken really comes across in this. Love it!

    • Dear Tanya
      Oh yes, there truly are many. I think I have quite a few still needing to be unravelled. But then, our Lord does that with tender patience.
      Thanks for your visit!

Leave a Reply

