Tenacious Thankfulness

God’s Thoughts to Me

A man’s spirit sustains him in sickness, but a crushed spirit who can bear? (Proverbs 18:14, NIV)

The Gracefulness of Grateful Suffering

“What a contradiction of terms! Mia, you surely do not have all your ducks in a row!”, my fleshly self exclaimed through a lot of pouting and complaining.

But a still, small voice beckons me with persistent, patient wooing,”Come to me, my darling, for I will wipe away your tears and transform them into sparkling diamonds of delight!”.

I recall a time when I was lost in Fibroland, wandering through the thick foggy swamps of despair and excruciating pain. In complete dependance my heart reached out to our Pappa who gently hushed me to sleep. My feeble heart was murmering a quiet prayer as I drifted of to dreamland.

A little time later I awoke, cuddled in Hubbyface’s arms. But….. Hubbyface was snoring to his heart’s delight in the Land of ZZZZ’s on his side of the bed. Our Lord softly whispered, telling me that He was nestling me in His Loving Embrace, holding me quietly just as my heart desired.

“Pappa, I want to bring you a thankful, humble gift of heartfelt praises for refining me through the fire of suffering. You have taught me to run to you instead of running away! You have taught me to hide under your wings, allowing you to envelope me in the sweetness of your love.”

Thank you sooo… much.

Your daughter

Mia. XXXXX

I am visiting all the dear ladies again at the Five Minute Friday get-together.
We all write for five minutes (sometimes a bit more, sometimes a little less).
We don’t overthink, don’t overedit or correct spelling mistakes and so on. Hopefully we all laugh at our mistakes. Please join us at Lisa-Jo’s for a wonderful fun time.

12 thoughts on “Tenacious Thankfulness

  1. Yes Mia. This is the most fragrant offering of all…to give through the pain. In spite of the pain and maybe even more sweetly because of the pain. Blessings from Lorretta at Dancing on the Dash…FMF Community

    • Hi Loretta
      Yes,dear one, suffering does have the ability to make us run to our Pappa God! Where else can we go and rest in love?
      For that I truly am sooo,,, thankful!
      Hugs and blessings
      Mia

  2. Love this Mia: You have taught me to hide under your wings, allowing you to envelope me in the sweetness of your love.”

    Best,
    Raki

    • Dear Raki
      That is the best place to be; under His wings! But when we are strong, we sooo.. easily run away from Him, trusting our own strength!
      Love and blessings to you too.
      Mia

  3. Hi Emilie
    That running into His loving arms, resting in our sweet Lord Jesus, makes all the suffering worthwhile, don’t you think!! I am praying for you to, dear friend.
    Blessings XXX

  4. It is so good for my heart to hear your praise.
    I too am thankful that He has taught me to run TO him not FROM him. I have seen that change in my behaviour, and I am oh, so, thankful He has molded that into me.

    • Hi Debbie
      Yes, it is not easy, but I receive grace upon grace upon grace, always sufficient for what I have to deal with. Thank you for your kind words.
      Blessings and love
      Mia

Leave a Reply

