Frost and Sunflowers

God’s Thoughts to Me

He spreads the snow like wool and scatters the frost like ashes. He hurls down His hail like pebbles. Who can withstand His icy blast? He sends His word and melts them; He stirs up His breezes, and the waters flow. (Psalm 147:16-18, NIV)

Thawing in His Love

Oh, the beauty and joy of frolicking in the snow with complete abandon, creating snow angels and building big, chubby, potbellied snowmen with carrot noses, is truly a delightful gift from the storehouse of heaven.

Yet, another good heavenly gift I reluctantly accept and endure, is the beautiful flowers of feathery frost. Somehow I seem unable to see and appreciate their other-worldly, ethereal beauty!

While snow and frost are both formed from atmospheric vapor, snow crystals form on suspended dust particles high in the air, and frost, near the ground on just any flat surface like windowpanes and blades of grass. Their microscopic anatomy brings glory to our Heavenly Father’s attention to individuality and detail, for every single crystal, snow and frost, has a different shape and form; sort of their fingerprints from a Pappa of diversity.

Just like our Pappa truly has no favorites (James 2:1) and honors our individuality by giving each one of His children their own set of fingerprints, He also honors His creation. It’s diversity and beauty speak of a God who never overlooks a leper, a prostitute, a drunkard or glutton, or even a naked man possesed by a legion of demons, His children enveloped by the coldest winter frost of life.

Frost can be a killer by destroying whole crops during a severe winter season. I always contributed this to the extreme cold. Not so! The edges of frost crystals are needle-sharp. It destroys and damages any surface it settles on by cutting, slicing and stabbing like a knife. Truly, any surface, including my heart!

Ice crystals following the veining of a dead leaf

Before I walked with our Pappa God, I used to deal with the frosty winters of life in a very wordly, fleshly kind of way. Whenever the frost crystals of dissappointment, heart ache and sorrow, the pain of unfulfilled dreams and the whole enchilada settled on the surface of my fleshly, ground-dwelling soul, I would groan and moan, sulk and mope, indignantly blaming everything and everybody for my uncomfortable indisposition. So completely human! Truth be told, I even had the audacity to blame our Pappa at times!!

I am ashamed to admit that I even praised Him profusely, thanking Him for my discomfort and suffering. Yet, my heart, full of hypocrisy, seethed inside, frostbitten by anger and resentment, bemoaning the unfairness of life. Secretly, I kept both my eyes on heaven, fully expecting our Pappa to reward my valiant efforts of praising Him amidst my hard circumstances by making all the bad stuff dissapear. Of course, that never happened! Our Pappa in His wisdom, blessed me with even harder trials and tribulations, for He cannot be manipulated! So, the blame-game kept marching on, keeping me imprisoned and chained to that monstrous jailer, self-pity.

I am grateful to our Pappa for bringing me to the end of myself by allowing Fm/ME to stop me right in my tracks.

I vividly recall one morning in the early morning hours. I was suffering from insomnia (a Fm/ME symptomn) and this was the fifth day without sleeping a wink! Totally exhausted and with a body wracked with pain, I was at the end of my tether and endurace. I raised my voice one more time and, with an honest, sincere heart, I praised my Pappa, telling Him that I trust Him, regardless; no strings attached.

Our heavenly Father immediately reached down and gathered me into His Loving Embrace. For a few hours my heart was soaring high in the sky where the snowflakes dwell. The Spirit of our Lord Jesus was the wind beneath my wings.

Our Pappa taught me a valuable lesson. When my heart is imprisoned by the feathery fingers of frost, I must look at sunflowers and learn. A sunflower’s eyes always follow the sun. It basks in its warmth and care, praising our Pappa with it’s incredible beauty.

I have learned to never take the eyes of my heart off Jesus, the Son of all comfort, warmth and love. I have learned to look full in His wonderous face, assured that the warmth of His love will melt all those frozen tears in my heart and transform them into a bubbling stream of joy and delight, to the glory and praise of our Pappa.

Dear Ones, I am fully aware that at times it seems as if the frost-filled winters of life never seem to end. They seem to transform our weary hearts into flowers of cold, feathery frost. But at times like these we need to keep our spiritual eyes fixed on the Son, basking in the warmth of His never-ending love. This also has come to pass, not to stay!

Much love, blessings and peace to you!

Mia

I’m linking up with Amber Haines again with gratitude and joy. Other “abstractions-on-the-frost” can be found at http://therunamuck.com/2012/11/12/an-abstraction-on-the-frost/

6 thoughts on “Frost and Sunflowers

  1. Dearest Mia,
    I love your honesty and how you found “I have learned to never take the eyes of my heart off Jesus, the Son of all comfort, warmth and love. ” Focusing on Him instead of the frost…what a hard discipline to learn…praying God continues to strengthen you as you care for your family in your pain. Love and Hugs to you 🙂

    • Sweet Dolly friend
      If I am honest, I have to admit that not only is it difficult to do that, but for me impossible. Only as I came before our Pappa, admitting my inability, did He enable me to do so. Oh, we are so stubborn at times to admitt our complete dependance, even for our natural abilities! Thanks for your words!
      Much love to you

  2. I loved this meditation on frost and how it affects our hearts – and ‘feathery frost’ – love that description! Thank you

    • Hi sweet Tanya
      Yes, I suppose it all depends at how we look at it. When I see the beauty in even tribulations, it seems feathery to me. If not, I am afraid it would be a completely different matter! Oh,we can be so fickle!
      Much love to you, dear friend
      Mia

  3. Mia, how I appreciate your honesty here. Oh, those subtle and not so subtle ways we try to manipulate God compared to the comfort and gentle love we receive when we are honest in his presence, speaking from an aunthentic place of weakness, love and faith. I was so interested to read about how the frost destroys. I’ve never heard that before. What a powerful image — those knives inflicting pain. Such choices we have moment after moment, day after day as to how we will respond to the hurts in our lives. Bless you for sharing your heart through your own experience of suffering and finding your comfort in God. May you know that love and sustaining in a powerful way today.

    • Thank you, dear Ashley
      I can truly agree with Jeremiah where he lamented about our deceitful hearts! It sometimes makes me so sad when I realize how much darkness our Pappa still needs to expell from my heart. I once read something that really encouraged me. I can’t remember exactly how the words go, but it comes to something like this: We should not condemn ourselves when we start to realize how sinfull we truly are for that in itself shows us that our Pappa is at work in our lives. We should be worried when we think everything is honky dory. I love getting to know you and especially your beautiful smile.
      Much love to you

Leave a Reply

